We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
US$163
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$141/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Comfort Suites Alamo/Riverwalk(San Antonio)
US$139
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$217
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk(San Antonio)
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$228
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$199
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mokara Hotel and Spa(San Antonio)
US$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$249
JW Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$278/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Crockett Hotel(San Antonio)
US$139
US$104
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,808)
Filter reviews
3,808 results
Traveller rating
2,046
1,118
429
146
69
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,046
1,118
429
146
69
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvention centerruth's chrisbar rojothe river walkpinkie williamsclub roomconference hotelattending a conferencestarbucks coffeeself parkingbusiness tripvery nice hotelrivercenter malleasy accessper dayriverwalksan
Filter
Updating list...
3,423 - 3,428 of 3,808 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have stayed at the Grand Hyatt a few times now when business or leisure takes us into San Antonio. The times we have stayed, we snared a Club Room which gives access to the Concierge Lounge (Club Room) on the 23rd floor.
Parking is expensive--$23 per day with Valet Parking going for $33 (of course, not inclusive of all the tipping that must be done!). The hotel lobby is cavernous and impersonal but the front desk reception personnel are consistently friendly. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The bed mattresses are extremely soft. The Internet access is wireless but costs unless you are a Platinum Hyatt Member. The Club Room serves Continental Breakfast every morning until 10 am, then puts out nuts and cookies until 4 pm. From 4-7 pm there are hors d'oevres and an honor bar, and then from 7-10 pm cakes, cookies, and sweets are available. One could feasibly save money by only eating in the Club Room every day. On another note, the Club Room has 2 computers, along with printing availability, all free to use.
Location: the hotel is not on the river but within easy access and eminently "walkable." If you are going to San Antonio for the Riverwalk experience, then park the car and walk everywhere. Close to the Alamo, of course the Riverwalk, the Henry B Gonzalez Convention Center, the Alamodome, and Rivercenter indoor Mall.

Room Tip: Tip: Club Rooms are pricey but worth the extra expense. Try to book online, especially if you can via AAA or AARP for better prices. Another tip: if you book the cheapest room, after booking, you will get an email asking if you are interested in a standby upgrade. Pricing can be cheaper overall to get to a Club Room if going this way. Also, book the lowest price, then when checking in, smile BIG and ask for a courtesy upgrade. A smile goes a long way!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a conference/trade show. The location is very good and the conference/trade show accommodations are excellent. Excellent access to the River Walk and River Center shopping as well as scores of great restaurants. The staff was very accommodating, especially the Concierge Service. (Thank you Melissa for all of your help!) However, the rooms were just average. The AC functioned less than effective as the return vent is right below the outlet. Basically, the air stays over on one side of the room making for a stuffy environment. They is no air vent in the rest room nor exhaust fan for the shower. More like a 2 star hotel.

While this is a very nice business center hotel, the charges for the internet service are high and the service I paid for was spotty and extremely slow. I had much better service at "free wifi" hotels. I found this very unacceptable the primary reason for the average rating.

Room Tip: If on business, find another place, especially if you need dependable internet service.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 24, 2012

It's a Hyatt with all the good and bad that goes with that. Rooms are a bit more costly than some other chains and, unless you're elite with them you'll pay for internet (about $13.00 per day) and parking.

The location is great, right near the riverwalk and attached to the Henry Gonzalez Convention Center.

The rooms are a bit larger than many similar chains and all the necessities, including an active bar, are here.

My view, facing north, was a bit dismal but I didn't come here for the view.

The Hyatt is a good choice for business meetings. It is kid friendly but not as geared to families as some other options in the area.

BTW, when you get a price quote remember that you need to add 6.0% Texas Hotel Tax, 1.75% Bexar County Hotel Tax and a 9.0% San Antonio Hotel Tax. That's 16.75% additional in taxes. With rooms in the $250+ range, that can add up, it added about another $35 per night to my invoice.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a room facing north unless you want to look at a helicopter landing pad on top of a garage.and highway 37.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Prince_of_Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2012

Best room we have ever stayed in and I travel on business a lot!! All hypoallergenic linens and furniture and a nice big (but quiet) air purifier in the room made this my best business trip in history. Not to mention the room was big and clean and modern and the hotel is in a great location and they have a lobby coffee shop and a great restaurant on the ground floor. Friendly staff, great service and the Riverwalk--what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2012

Thank you Claudia! We love our Pure Rooms and we're happy to hear you enjoyed them as well. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I was at the Grand Hyatt all week and everything was fine with the room and the hotel. My room was clean and quiet, and I plan to go back. It's right on the Riverwalk, so there are dozens of restaurants within a few minutes' walk. It's also connected to the convention center, which didn't matter for me, but if you have a convention, it is very easy.

The pool and workout area are beautiful. The pool is on the roof, about 5 stories up. Plenty of room for laps or lounging. I didn't get to work out but there were at least a dozen machines - treadmills, ellipticals, etc., plus another room with free weights, and yet another room with mats for yoga/pilates. All those rooms have a great view over the city.

I always get annoyed when hotels charge for Internet and parking, and I avoid these charges out of principle even when my company is paying. Parking is $25/night in their garage but there are two better options. (1) There is street parking along the plaza on Market and Commerce, and the meters are off between 6pm and 8am. There are limited free spots, but during my 5-night stay, I found a free spot every time. There was only one time I had to circle more than once. (2) If you don't want to wake up as early, you can park in a municipal garage across Market Street for $9.

As for the Internet, paying $10+ per night is outrageous. (I understand that this might keep YouTube and Hulu users from hogging all the bandwidth.) I asked them to comp my internet use, since I was staying five nights but they declined. Instead of spending $50 for five nights, I got a wi-fi modem and two months of service from Verizon.

All told, I'll be happy to come back to the Grand Hyatt on future trips to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric-A95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews