We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location River Walk, Shopping and Food!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #20 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location River Walk, Shopping and Food!”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Grand Hyatt has the perfect location to the River Walk, shopping and all kinds of restaurants along the River Walk. Also, if you walk up to the Alamo structure, there are lots of shops near the Menger Hotel, and the price are a lot cheaper than the River Walk. You can take the Trolley ride for only $4.00 day pass (Red, Blue, Yellow route) or $1.10 per ride. It takes you all over downtown San Antonio and it will take you to the Market Square where you can buy all kinds of things. At night near the Alamo, you can go on the Horse carriage ride, some of the carriages are so pretty, it looks like a carriage for Cinderella. River Walk is good, take a Water Taxi for $5.00 and it will take you along the river and you would able to see a lot. The Brazilian restaurant next to Marriott hotel is a must, if you enjoy meats and very fresh salad bar. If you enjoy Mexican food, you have to go to LaGloria which is about 10 minutes (taxi) from Grand Hyatt, excellent Mexican food. San Antonio's weather is nice and dry, great for people with arthritis. Grand Hyatt is highly recommended. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is very clean. The bed is nice and soft and clean.

Room Tip: Higher floors has less noise and a great view. Try not to face the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby1Tor-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Thank for taking the opportunity to write such a wonderful and helpful review. We appreciate all your tips for travelers and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,691
    978
    374
    125
    55
See reviews for
437
464
84
1,950
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We have stayed at the Grand Hyatt a few times now when business or leisure takes us into San Antonio. The times we have stayed, we snared a Club Room which gives access to the Concierge Lounge (Club Room) on the 23rd floor.
Parking is expensive--$23 per day with Valet Parking going for $33 (of course, not inclusive of all the tipping that must be done!). The hotel lobby is cavernous and impersonal but the front desk reception personnel are consistently friendly. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The bed mattresses are extremely soft. The Internet access is wireless but costs unless you are a Platinum Hyatt Member. The Club Room serves Continental Breakfast every morning until 10 am, then puts out nuts and cookies until 4 pm. From 4-7 pm there are hors d'oevres and an honor bar, and then from 7-10 pm cakes, cookies, and sweets are available. One could feasibly save money by only eating in the Club Room every day. On another note, the Club Room has 2 computers, along with printing availability, all free to use.
Location: the hotel is not on the river but within easy access and eminently "walkable." If you are going to San Antonio for the Riverwalk experience, then park the car and walk everywhere. Close to the Alamo, of course the Riverwalk, the Henry B Gonzalez Convention Center, the Alamodome, and Rivercenter indoor Mall.

Room Tip: Tip: Club Rooms are pricey but worth the extra expense. Try to book online, especially if you can vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Decatur, Alabama
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt for a conference/trade show. The location is very good and the conference/trade show accommodations are excellent. Excellent access to the River Walk and River Center shopping as well as scores of great restaurants. The staff was very accommodating, especially the Concierge Service. (Thank you Melissa for all of your help!) However, the rooms were just average. The AC functioned less than effective as the return vent is right below the outlet. Basically, the air stays over on one side of the room making for a stuffy environment. They is no air vent in the rest room nor exhaust fan for the shower. More like a 2 star hotel.

While this is a very nice business center hotel, the charges for the internet service are high and the service I paid for was spotty and extremely slow. I had much better service at "free wifi" hotels. I found this very unacceptable the primary reason for the average rating.

Room Tip: If on business, find another place, especially if you need dependable internet service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
197 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

It's a Hyatt with all the good and bad that goes with that. Rooms are a bit more costly than some other chains and, unless you're elite with them you'll pay for internet (about $13.00 per day) and parking.

The location is great, right near the riverwalk and attached to the Henry Gonzalez Convention Center.

The rooms are a bit larger than many similar chains and all the necessities, including an active bar, are here.

My view, facing north, was a bit dismal but I didn't come here for the view.

The Hyatt is a good choice for business meetings. It is kid friendly but not as geared to families as some other options in the area.

BTW, when you get a price quote remember that you need to add 6.0% Texas Hotel Tax, 1.75% Bexar County Hotel Tax and a 9.0% San Antonio Hotel Tax. That's 16.75% additional in taxes. With rooms in the $250+ range, that can add up, it added about another $35 per night to my invoice.

Room Tip: Ask not to be in a room facing north unless you want to look at a helicopter landing pad on top of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prince_of_Peas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you for taking the opportunity to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Best room we have ever stayed in and I travel on business a lot!! All hypoallergenic linens and furniture and a nice big (but quiet) air purifier in the room made this my best business trip in history. Not to mention the room was big and clean and modern and the hotel is in a great location and they have a lobby coffee shop and a great restaurant on the ground floor. Friendly staff, great service and the Riverwalk--what more can you ask for?

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Thank you Claudia! We love our Pure Rooms and we're happy to hear you enjoyed them as well. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I was at the Grand Hyatt all week and everything was fine with the room and the hotel. My room was clean and quiet, and I plan to go back. It's right on the Riverwalk, so there are dozens of restaurants within a few minutes' walk. It's also connected to the convention center, which didn't matter for me, but if you have a convention, it is very easy.

The pool and workout area are beautiful. The pool is on the roof, about 5 stories up. Plenty of room for laps or lounging. I didn't get to work out but there were at least a dozen machines - treadmills, ellipticals, etc., plus another room with free weights, and yet another room with mats for yoga/pilates. All those rooms have a great view over the city.

I always get annoyed when hotels charge for Internet and parking, and I avoid these charges out of principle even when my company is paying. Parking is $25/night in their garage but there are two better options. (1) There is street parking along the plaza on Market and Commerce, and the meters are off between 6pm and 8am. There are limited free spots, but during my 5-night stay, I found a free spot every time. There was only one time I had to circle more than once. (2) If you don't want to wake up as early, you can park in a municipal garage across Market Street for $9.

As for the Internet, paying $10+ per night is outrageous. (I understand that this might keep YouTube and Hulu users from hogging all the bandwidth.) I asked them to comp my internet use, since I was staying five nights but they declined. Instead of spending $50 for five nights, I got a wi-fi modem and two months of service from Verizon.

All told, I'll be happy to come back to the Grand Hyatt on future trips to San Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric-A95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Very nice, modern hotel. It's in a great location - you walk right out the back doors of the hotel and you are on the Riverwalk. And very close to the Alamo, great restaurants and a boat cruise station. Breakfast buffet at the restaurant was excellent - and very nice to be able to sit on the outside patio next to the Riverwalk. Overall, very good.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the Riverwalk side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dubaiexpat71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 355 in San Antonio
3,643 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 355 in San Antonio
2,793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,128 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
2,951 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Property: Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing