We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place when staying for AF BMT Graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland
Ranked #131 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Rogers, Arkansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best place when staying for AF BMT Graduation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Visited San Antonio this past weekend for my son's graduation from Basic Training at Lackland AFB. This hotel is super convenient to the base and from what we could see, it looks like the closest off base hotel. When we checked in and said we were there for AF graduation, we were given hints and tips for getting to and from the base and a base map. The room was OK with the only negative being there was only a shower stall in the king room. They have tubs in the all but one king room. The breakfast was decent and available early for the early morning ceremonies. The rate was pretty good with our AAA discount. If you want convenience over frills, this is the place.

Room Tip: if you want a tub, do not get the one king bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuny_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    189
    91
    51
    53
See reviews for
395
41
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2012

We were in San Antonio last week for my son's BMT graduation at Lackland AFB, and stayed four nights at the La Quinta Inn, Lackland. The hotel is in a great location about a half-mile from the base, making it close for graduation activities. The staff at La Quinta were superb, going out of their way to make graduation families comfortable. The rooms were ok, and we were impressed with the high-definition channels on the TV. The breakfast was adequate and served really early on graduation day.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSJSJCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The stay at LaQuinta Inn Lackland San Antonio TX was awful.
After arriving very late at night we were given a room with a TV that didn't work, no microwave oven, no small fridge, no fan in the bathroom. I was horrified when I inspected the ironing board which I wouldn't have placed my shoes on let alone clothes. After complaining to the receptionist who replaced the ironing board altogether and assured my husband and me that a maintance worker would repair the TV in the morning. The TV was never fixed, but we were offered $30 deduction from the bill. The next day a long brown human hair was left on the bathroom sink! What! My husband and I are African American, he is nearly bald and I wear dark brown nearly black braid extentions! Upon turning on the heater a foul burning smell fumed and we were told is was due to other guests burning waffles in the lobby! Then next day I asked to change rooms and was assured by the receptionist that the room would be ok... When I checked later on that afternoon the bed didn't look has if the sheets had been changed and the bathroon hadn't been cleaned and what looked like feces had been left on the toilet seat.
At that point livid, I asked for the manager or someone in charge and insisted they come an see for themselves... I asked the maintainance supervisor who accompanied to the room how would he feel if his mother, daughter, aunt or any loved one were treated like this? After inpsecting this room the maintainance supervisor apologized and gave me another room. FREE OF CHARGE! The othe new room had a nice iron, ironing board, fan in the bathroom, cable TV, no burning smell in the heater. AND a microwave oven and mini fridge. AND the room was clean!
I asked this maintainance supervisor at LaQuinta Inn, Lackland San Antonio TX why didn't we recieve this service at first? He said we had to ask for it. What! I thought that good service was what we paid for in the first place!

The location of this Inn is conveniently close to Lackland Air Force Base and had my husband and I known the city of San Antonio better my husband and I would have just gone to another place to stay. But when you are visiting a place for the first time and don't really know your way around you find yourself at the mercy of people that don't seem to care.
Just because LaQuinta Inn has a convenient location doesn't mean they can get away with being careless and sloppy.
The health department should be notified. I don't know why they get away with calling it an Inn.
We came from California to celebrate the graduation of our daughter. The stay at LaQuinta Inn Lackland San Antonio TX added unnecessary discomfort and stress to an otherwise joyous occasion.
Please tell a friend.

Room Tip: Demand to inspect the room before you go in and make sure to ask about ammenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rm4gwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Antonio hotels

Beach Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed 5 nights in 237, close to the lobby and breakfast. Here's the good: Great beds, matresses, pillows, sheets! Clean room. Quiet. Great Television unit. Breakfast was filling... but uninspired. Coffee and juice available 24/7. Just outside the Military Road gates to Lackland...a five minute drive to the BMT Reception Center. Very close to Highways 90 and 410, major arteries to local attractions. Very reasonable price when booked along with a Southwest Airlines Flight. Friendly, accommodating desk staff.

Here's the not-so-good: Thin, SCRATCHY towels...OUCH !..... a balky toilet, the room air unit had a mind of it's own...very difficult setting temps and volume. The shower head was mounted about neck-high on this 5'8" guy....why do they do this????...and the shower/tub was VERY slippery with no traction surface at all, easy to take a fall.

Room Tip: 237 was close to the Lobby and breakfast....a plus for us. There are other units that require a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Surfdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This property is showing its age and needs renovation. The hotel has 3 or 4 buildings so it can be quite a walk to the lobby for breakfast. Lobby is not at all able to accommodate the number of guests and the breakfast is very crowded and laid out very poor. The rooms have an oddly very small bathroom. The toilet and shower are in a tiny crmped area and the doors hit each other. You cannot get your own feet out of the way to close the door to the toilet and shower space. The walls are paper-thin and you clearly hear people conversing the the adjoining room. This property is very below par for La Quinta and very badly needs remodeling. The rates charged are more in line with a modern and current property.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DWoerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

Rooms are clean, short distance to BMT.

TV had very poor reception, cut in and out, impossible to watch!

If attending BMT graduation for one day this is the place. If a longer stay go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40Dodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Great location for those attending bmt graduation and lackland. The breakfast was good if you for up early. The location isn't good Unless you want to be close to lackland.
The staff was so friendly, the location is close to freeway access.
The rooms were average, we had issues with our toilet and tub not flushing and draining slow. We stayed 5 nights. Again, I would recommend this place to someone attending events at lackland afb.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wanderlustb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Lackland AFB (San Antonio)
Far West Side
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lackland Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Far West Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Lackland AFB/SeaWorld
Rodeway Inn at Lackland AFB
#251 of 354 in San Antonio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
East Side
Red Roof PLUS+ San Antonio Downtown - Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland

Property: La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland
Address: 6511 Military Dr West, San Antonio, TX 78227-3615
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 176
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, LaQuinta, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Antonio Lackland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Lackland Hotel San Antonio
La Quinta Lackland
La Quinta San Antonio
San Antonio La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing