We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad room service & rude manager”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #244 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Bad room service & rude manager”
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My family and I stayed at the hotel on April 2012. Nobody cleaned our room for 3 days and the manager Barbara was very rude once we complained about the bad service we were having. I was ok with the first day that we did not have cleaning service because we left the room late, so the second day we left at 10am. When we came back we found just half of the room clean, half of the bathroom clean, just 2 towels and they did not put new toilet paper neither new cofee. The 3rd day we left the room at 11am and we decided to call the front desk and we told them that they can go ahead and start cleaning. But that did not happen. We came back and the room was not clean at all. We went to the front desk and complained. Barbara was verY rude and yelling to my dad while he was trying to explain her in spanish. Luckly i speak english and i translated to her. She exuses herself saying that they just have one cleaning lady for the whole hotel and that the day before she got sick so she left. I have been leaving in this county for 5 years and this is the first time i see such a bad service and people pretending to be nice but at the first complain they start being rude.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alecha2482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor. I certainly apologize that your stay was anything less than satisfying. We understand how improtant it is that we strive to give daily service to our short trem or long term guest so that we may have consistency of clean rooms at all times. Unfortunate for our staff leader Barbara who is no longer with us had put this sittation at hand rather than explaining the steps or room service. Being there was a littlle miscommunication if there is a Do not Disturb sign that housekeeping will not service the room due to privacy matters. Also if there is personal belongings anywhere in the room including the on the bed that staff is addressed not to touch anything under any circumstanceOnce again I applogize on the situation you had, but in the event you are in the San Antonio location again please contact us and we will make sure that your next expierence will be great one . As to the knowledge as well we have take matters into our own hands and our front desk manager is no longer with us. As we take guest input very most importantly. If we can be of any further assistance on your future travels, please feel free to contact us at anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    67
    56
    65
    54
See reviews for
144
65
16
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goodland, Kansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

When we walked in the door, the Guest Services Manager Barbara Parker immediately asked us what we wanted to see in San Antonio, then suggested a tour package. They were so Interested in making our stay comfortable and fun. We enjoyed our stay.

Our GPS had trouble finding the hotel, making us go way out of our way. Call the hotel for better directions.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roxie1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Chose this hotel on the reviews of trip advisor and was not disappointed. Room was clean good customer service free wifi and breakfast was tipical. I would stay here again if I were back in San Antonio.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stewie510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandysul, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Had problems with our sat nav it kept wanting to sending us back down the I-35 thanks to the recptioist who helped us get there.
Rooms were good but could and clean and could not fault them for anything

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GBash_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
Guest Relations Manager -Tony P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
412 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Stayed a Saturday night. Lady at the front desk with so friendly and helpful, she really started off the visit the right way. Lobby is nice and has a small convenience store area as well as a small bar and jukebox in the breakfast area. Breakfast was good with waffles, cereal, eggs, sausage, bisquits & gravy, toast, cinnamon rolls, bagels, coffee and juice. At this awesome price, I was shocked when I walked into the king bed suite...lots of room and immaculate. Had 2 spaces separated by 2 french style doors. Living room had fridge, microwave, sink for a wet bar, 2 chairs, footstool, sofa, desk and chair. The bedroom had large vanity and mirror, 2 wardrobes and a hanging closet, nightstand and tv with limited cable. Fresh paint, clean carpet, great heater and bathroom was in it's own little room and was very clean with an environmentally conscience toilet (2 different flushes). Only problems were minor: (1) tv was the only thing not updated, but worked fine and (2) shower water never got hot, but was warm enough to shower quickly. Overall, VERY pleased and look forward to staying again and again! Location is right off the highway and surrounded by empty land on one side and behind with 4 hotels lined down the street on the other side...very safe. Bus also stops right in front. Excellent choice!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
Guest Relations Manager -Tony P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

I went for a one day trip to San Antonio. Got there at midnight and the recepcionist was very helpful and courteous. Service was excellent!!! The room was very good. Very clean and did not smell like mildew or old like other hotels I've stayed. The bed was a little hard but would definetly recommend this hotel and will definetly come back and stat here on my next trip to San Antonio.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amangi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony209, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to review our hotel regarding your recent stay at our hotel.Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future. We know you have a choice and we are glad you chose us. Again, thank you for reviewing our property and if we can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact us. We cannot wait to see you again!
Guest Relations Manager -Tony P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pachuca, Hidalgo, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We had a really good experience. We stayed for 4 nights and our room was always clean and neat. The lady at the front desk was an angel. Really nice and helpful, she told us everything we needed to know and when we had questions she answered them all. She was delightful we really really enjoyed our stay. And I really think it was thanks to her. The cleaning ladies were really nice too. I have no complains! None at all! I would recomend everyone to stay there. Actually I would insist everyone to stay there if you want to have a good experience while you are in San Antonio!

Room Tip: We stayed in two different rooms, one downstairs and another upstairs, they were both great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RocioLarrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SanAntonioHoJo, Guest Relations Manager at Quality Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for being our Guest at the Howard Johnson Inn and Suites San Antonio. We appreciate the positive feedback you provided regarding your stay. We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to San Antonio. Thanks again! The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
BEST WESTERN Plus Downtown North
#114 of 356 in San Antonio
56 reviews
Americas Best Value Inn-AT&T Cen...
#227 of 356 in San Antonio
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast San Antonio
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#213 of 356 in San Antonio
116 reviews
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Downtow...
#168 of 356 in San Antonio
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Property: Quality Inn & Suites
Address: 3817 N Panam Expy, San Antonio, TX 78219-2202 (Formerly Quality Inn & Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located off Interstate 35, Quality Inn & Suites San Antonio Ft. Sam Houston, San Antonio International Airport and near downtown Riverwalk. San Antonio provides easy access to countless points of interest and popular Texas attractions. We also provide plenty of on-site entertainment such outdoor pool and hot tub, picnic area with barbecue grill,laptop,PS3 and DVD rentals.After enjoying your new comforter and pillow in your spacious room featuring 32 inch flat LED TV's, Newly Desinged Rooms, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE HOT breakfast,FREE Business Center. Business guests will appreciate our meeting space with fax and copy services. On site Snack Bar store and ATM. We are 100% smoke free and non pet friendly facility. Designated smoking area away from the building is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson San Antonio
San Antonio Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing