We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Property, Probably Time for an Update”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport
Ranked #74 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I stayed at this hotel for two nights during a recent business trip and overall the hotel was just ok. The room was a good size and the bed was comfortable. The a/c is probably very dated and does not keep up with the San Antonio August heat as the room was not as cool as I would have liked it. The hotel is kept up, but is just showing its age. I do like the architecture of the hotel as it feels like a private resort right in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the airport area. Overall I would stay here again, but the property does need some updating.

Room Tip: They have rooms with courtyard access, but not worth the money. No chairs to sit on and enjoy the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tampachris25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callan H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and your review. We will look into the air conditioning issue. I am confident we can repair this mistake. Please try us again soon. We strive to exceed our guest's expectations.
Yours in hospitality,
Callan H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,185)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 1,187 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2017

Especially if they don't even offer them to you. But real problem was check out. Had a horrible loud squealing noise happening every 75 minutes all night. Like smoke detector battery? But MUCH louder. I chose to deal with it because daughter was asleep and very short night. Didn't want to move. When I told clerk next day didn't acknowledge or offer an apology. All I expected. Noise all night as we were near elevator. Shuttle was late and too small to take everyone waiting. Horrible experience for one that only lasted about 7 hours total at the property (short overnight to make connecting flight next morning).

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Cliff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callan H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Guest,
I truly apologize. Please know this is not our standard. We want to make this right for you and for you to return to our property. Our phone number is 210-366-2424. I hope to be able to find out more specifics to eliminate any issues.
Yours in hospitality,
Callan H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

We stopped over for a quick stay - very near where we needed to be next day. Incidentally, this property is well situated near malls, shopping, restaurants and the airport.

Yes, the property is older. We thought it had "ambiance" - fits San Antonio.

We are Hilton Honors Diamond members - brand loyal, high expectations. Our check-in was as it should be; immediately greeted with smile by Ace. He upgraded our room to a junior suite; great room, quiet, clean, comfortable bed.

Our biggest satisfaction was with the bar and restaurant; great bar grub food, really good breakfast buffet and good service. Brian the bartender knows his stuff.

Staff at this property does very well in customer service and hospitality- highly recommend - would return.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank DD A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callan H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for being a Diamond Honor's guest. Please come to stay with us again. We love our San Antonio Mission style architecture.
Yours in hospitality,
Callan H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

Hits the wallet hard. My reservations ended up actually costing me 5x what i expected & i was cgarfed wuth an extra mysterious day. Im stilm very uoset iver this issue & i am unable to resolve it. Beutiful place though.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank sharonu316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callan H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Please call us to resolve this issue at 210-366-2424.
Yours in hospitality,
Callan H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2017

Checking in was very unprofessional. Did not honor my husband's military of 22 yrs. and he is disabled. Bed was like sleeping on the ground. Bathroom is the size of a closet. The toilet didn't completed flush each time. You would think if a hotel is rated pretty high it would be better than this. Worst hotel experience I have had in a very long time. Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank J7359IKdonnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callan H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback. I truly apologize. I know we have made this right for you but I am also sorry for the delay. Please come to stay with us again.
Yours in hospitality,
Callan H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile

Stayed at doubletree by airport for one night.

Old hotel , tired looking room and furnishings, small and cramped bathroom , rusting window sills , etc etc. you get the idea . This hotel reminded me more of a motel 6 experience , nowhere near the usual doubletree standard that I have been accustomed to.

It does have a reasonably nice bar which was pleasant and a good place to kill some time in the evenings ....

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank sdgt625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callan H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and your feedback. We strive to provide a great stay to our guests. I appreciate you letting me know about the challenges during your stay. Please accept my apology and know we will correct the window sill issue.
Yours in hospitality,
Callan H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

I stayed here due to being a Hilton Honors member and it was close to where I was attending a class/seminar. It's summer in Texas which explains the very crowded yet smaller waiting area and it was warm as if no A/C or maybe due to the doors being up/close so much. The elevators were really warm and not comfortable, certainly no circulation/air here. Trying to choose a room from the availability on-line isn't worth it because you can't see the entire floor plan to know where the rooms face. We had a corner room,but window/balcony faced the freeway the entry to room faced the "atrium" The room was comfortable and appears to have some updates, but the little things added up to less than expected. There was no vent in the bathroom, so very steamy after shower, no mirror other than the bathroom and the faucet wasn't as easy to use as it should have been. A lamp shade was dented, several of the outlets/charging station didn't work or were too lose that it would hold the plugin.There were 2 of us in the room but we only had 1 cookie. The check out staff was friendly, had a nice breakfast (buffet $14 or off the menu) with attentive and friendly waitstaff. Parking appears to be enough, but entering this property from the frontage road at evening is blocked off, the gate is black and no lighting, it's unknown you can't enter, can't see and scary. This should be well lite and signage stating the close this entry at a certain time. This Doubletree just wasn't up to the Doubletree standard so I would choose another Hilton (or Doubletree) in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callan H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to submit a review. I truly apologize for our short comings. Please know we take your feedback very seriously and we will make the corrections to service and the guestroom. Please allow us to host a future stay. I am confident you will enjoy your time with us.
Yours in hospitality,
Callan H
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
Hilton Garden Inn San Antonio Airport South
Uptown Loop
Hilton San Antonio Airport
Hilton San Antonio Airport
#73 of 358 in San Antonio
741 reviews
Avenida Guadalupe
DoubleTree by Hilton San Antonio Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Antonio Airport
Northwest Side
San Antonio Marriott Northwest
San Antonio Marriott Northwest
#144 of 358 in San Antonio
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport

Address: 37 NE Loop 410, at McCullough, San Antonio, TX 78216-5822
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: $130 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 291
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport. Located just minutes from San Antonio International Airport (SAT) on Interstate 410, across from the upscale North Star Shopping Mall. Our centrally located hotel offers close proximity to the downtown Riverwalk area and many major attractions such as SeaWorld and Fiesta Texas. Discover many things to do in San Antonio with our 24-hour shuttle service to the airport and nearby businesses. Enjoy spacious accommodations equipped with a range of thoughtful amenities including High Def LCD televisions to signature bedding. The guestrooms were designed with your comfort in mind. The DoubleTree by Hilton features fantastic facility amenities including a picturesque courtyard with a pool and hot tub, Cascabel Restaurant & Bar and Business Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity.ca, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel San Antonio Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree San Antonio
San Antonio Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing