We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small hotel with bed & breakfast like charm!”
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“small hotel with bed & breakfast like charm!”
Reviewed 3 November 2011

such a nice place! this hotel is more like a bed and breakfast. the host was very nice. some rooms have bathrooms in them, while other rooms have bathroom access down the hall or on a different floor. the decor is very nice. snacks are in the lobby throughout the day. breakfast is fantastic - with fresh scones, coffee, cut fruit, etc.! you can use their bicycles to get around the island. the location is right in the heart of downtown, right near the water. we did not have an issue with noise at night, and were able to sleep with the windows open.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anjiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    98
    25
    16
    6
See reviews for
59
212
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Our stay at the Bird Rock Hotel was an absolute treat! The front desk staff were delightful and knowledgeable - always available to answer a question about the yummy bath products, where to have a romantic dinner in town, how to start the cozy gas fireplace, and in addition to the continental breakfast they provided cookies and strawberry lemonade each afternoon. The hotel itself is smack dab in the heart of Friday Harbor, an easy 2-3 blocks from the ferry terminal. Looking forward to returning during the summer season and exploring more of the island!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Everything was wonderful. The staff was very friendly. The breakfast fantastic! Rooms were clean& fresh.I will recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnamiller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langhorne, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We just had a wonderful 2 night stay in the Salt Springs Suite. It was an adorable room, including kitchenette, private balcony, and huge bathtub. The breakfast included delicious fresh fruit, and yummy scones among other things. Mia at the desk was wonderful! The only negative was that the sofa bed was very squeaky and uncomfortable but then again, I don't expect too much out of a sofa bed. We fit 3 people comfortably in the room.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My husband and I stayed in a two-bedroom suite with our daughter and her husband. It was lovely! The hotel is like a country inn. The lobby is welcoming and the front desk person was friendly and helpful. The suite was perfect. Large common area with wet-bar, fireplace and flat-screen. Each bedroom also had a flat screen! The beds were comfy, the linens luxurious. There were robes and plenty of towels. The bathroom had a great jetted spa tub. Everything was very clean.The morning breakfast was also very nice. Warm scones, fresh local fruit, hard-boiled eggs, toast and jam, etc. It was actually perfect! There were ear-plugs, but we didn't need them!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrnMntGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portland, or
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We had a great stay at bird rock! If you visit Friday harbor, I would totally recommend it! Maya and Torey were amazing! They even went out of their way to provide decaf coffee and soy milk for breakfast- even though two things aren't usually provided! Beds were
super comfortable and rooms were small, but cozy and very clean! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amhky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2011

I was very impressed by the location of this hotel. It is right in downtown and an easy walk to everything in downtown Friday Harbor. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and immediately offered a warm scone when we walked in. We had a suite in the lower level of the hotel which was very large. It had a separate entrance which was convenient. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfast was included with the room and it was excellent with fresh berries, scones, eggs, toast, cereal, and yogurt. The staff was excellent and they were very accommodating. We were very pleased with our stay and I would stay here again. I have only two negative things that I would point out. First, our hotel room had a very large jetted tub/shower which was very nice. The only problem is that it was mounted very high and they provided a plastic stool to step out on. I didn’t feel very stable stepping out on this and I could see it as a fall hazard. The second thing is that there is no overnight parking on site. The street parking in the area is two hour parking. They provide free overnight parking at their sister site at the Earthbox Hotel which is a short walk away. To me these are both very small complaints and like I said before we had a great stay at the Bird Rock Hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AP-WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
1.0 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
441 reviews
0.1 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
342 reviews
0.6 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
488 reviews
0.3 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
492 reviews
0.7 km away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Hotel
Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing