We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
13
5
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
5
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two nights one night campground campers orcas firewood picnic camping island
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2017 via mobile

It's beautiful, our family bought tickets and were good for 7 days, just wished we had more time, A lot to see.we took so many pictures. This was old San Juan.there is a 99cent store there in town, we did a lot of walking,be prepared for a lot of incline walking. A lot of shopping stores.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2017 via mobile

Camping is allowed, although we didn't camp but definitely would. We just stopped in to check it out. It is the most peaceful place we found on the island. It has a small beach you can walk down to and a beautiful grassy hill you can sit on and stare out at the ocean. Definitely great for a picnic or some chill time.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank BlueSage88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 19, 2016

Small, comfortable campground. Spacious camp sites so you are not camping on top of someone. Tents and very small RV/Campers acceptable. No power or water at the campsites. There is potable water near the restrooms for drinking and washing dishes. Restrooms have flush toilets and sinks - no showers, but there are public showers throughout the island (Friday Harbor Marina, Roche Harbor, Snug Harbor). Deer regularly visit the area. Be ready to keep your food in your vehicle (coolers included) - there are foxes and raccoons in the park as well. You can sit on the bluff for beautiful sunsets and can typically see whales as they pass by.

Room Tip: Spot #2 has wonderful views of the ocean and is a very spacious site
Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank Steffanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 9, 2016

Watched Orcas going south and then stayed for the sunset, what a beautiful sight. Not a lot of amenities at this location but it makes up for it with the views. Good place for photographers looking mostly westward.

Room Tip: There is only camping here.
Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank denniswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2016

July is a great time to see the resident pod of Orcas that call the San Juan Islands home. We saw whales both days from the day use portion of this park. This area also is an amazing place to view the sunset across Haro Strait. This park has a boat launch in Smallpox Bay. We launched our kayak from there both days. On the north side of the park is another small cove which is more peaceful and away from the commercial kayak companies. The park staff was very helpful. A daily launch permit is required for kayaking and available from the office. We stayed in site #11 which was near the bathrooms and shady. Site #10 has no neighbors on one side which provides more privacy. Sites further up the hill provide better views of the water. The bathrooms were well maintained. There are no showers at this campground which was mentioned when we made reservations.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Marc13510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews