We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value. Clean, compact, and functional.”
Review of The Orca Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orca Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value. Clean, compact, and functional.”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This is an excellent "value" accommodation. It was the only thing available that weekend at the last minute, and we were pleasantly surprised, after reading some reviews about it being "scary".

Everything worked, it was clean, and reasonably comfortable. Ambiance? Well...no. It had a TV and air conditioning (though it was barely hot enough to need the a/c). It was quiet. The management was friendly.

WiFi was too weak in our room, but if you take your laptop over next to the office, there is a covered area with a table where you can sit and surf.

The mattress, pillows, and bedding were "low-end". We brought our own pillows. If you have a sensitive back, it won't be good for you.

I've paid a lot more other places for much worse.... So to save the $100 a night versus the other places on the island, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    110
    64
    21
    21
See reviews for
60
114
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Great Value! Very Clean, Cozy and Quiet. Our funky yet charming room had 2 bathrooms and 2 queen beds. Great for 3 women (myself and two teenagers). Cable, fridge, microwave, free internet, coffee shop and major grocery store a block away. Close to Friday Harbor. We walked everywhere. Save your money by leaving your car at Anacortez and walk on the Ferry. Then spend your extra dollars at the Orca Inn. You won't be sorry! And we will definitely be back :)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with 2 bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meetdarci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

It was PRICED RIGHT, CLEAN & QUIET, and with the fridge, microwave and dual bathrooms in the 2-queen room, plenty spacious for all of us, and inexpensive to make meals, especially with a GROCERY STORE 50 feet away! Not what you'd want if you have to have amenities like a spa or pool, but we came to see the islands, not hang aroung any hotel!!!!!!
We'd stay there again, anytime, in fact, hope so soon:)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathleenn_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood OR
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2011

Inexpensive, especially in comparison to other island offerings, but really tiny room. Shower was only a trickle, but enough to get clean. barely enough space for our bags and bed was oddly placed in the room so as to be not too close to heater/air conditioner. Really pretty odd, but bed was clean and relatively comfortable. Like i said, functional and drier than many a tent i have slept in.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkipBSherwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

This little hotel is close enough (just a few short blocks) from downtown Friday Harbor to be convenient, and far enough to be nice and quiet. We loved our stay. The room was very clean, which I definitely appreciated. The room was equipped with a small fridge and microwave and a little table making eating a few meals there easy and comfortable. The only suggestion I'd have is perhaps replace the mattress soon. The bed was not bad, just not extremely comfortable. We chose it because it was the most affordable we could find and still had good reviews. Thank you! If we ever return to San Juan Island, we would stay there again without any doubts.

Room Tip: We chose the King room because the room itself seemed to be a little larger than the otehrs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moogie95833
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berea, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

The room we had was clean and basic. Had all that we needed with large bathroom, good sound proofing, TV, microwave and frig. Nothing fancy or scenic and no special amenities, but friendly people, outdoor spot to sit to eat or read, and in walking distance of ferry and many places to eat and explore. Since we came to the island to be out and about, it was fine for the price. And the price was better than other places on the island.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ittisus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here one night to prepare for our 3 day sea kayak adventure with Seaquest. The room was small and adequate. Great walking distance to eateries. The proprietors even allowed us to park our car in the parking lot for the days we were gone.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
1.1 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
20.2 km away
Outlook Inn on Orcas Island
0.3 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
0.8 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.7 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orca Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orca Inn

Property: The Orca Inn
Address: 770 Mullis St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Orca Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spend a night...Not a fortune! It's really simple: Smaller Rooms = Smaller Rates. At The Orca Inn, we are proud to offer the smallest rooms in the state of Washington! Which means we have the lowest hotel room rates on San Juan Island. (Of course, for just a few dollars more, we have larger King and Double Queen rooms). With the money you save, you can spend more on amazing whale watching tours, incredible kayak trips, and other island adventures that you will remember for a lifetime. As Mr. Carson once said, "The business of life is the acquisition of memories." And at the Orca Inn, business is good! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orca Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Orca Hotel Friday Harbor
The Orca Inn Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing