We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View, Comfortable Stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Highland Inn of San Juan Island
Ranked #12 of 17 Friday Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The innkeeper, Helen, does a wonderful job of making you comfortable in her inn. The room is very comfortable, large, and clean. Breakfast can be served in your room sitting with a view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. The breakfast was wonderful. On a rainy day we enjoyed the fireplace. Made for a cozy evening. A great retreat!!

Room Tip: The whale watching room is a beautiful room with an unobstructed view of the Straits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Even though you were here during a much needed rain, glad you enjoyed your own wood burning
fireplace and comfortable sofa and easy chair while watching for Orca Whales in the sea below.
It was such a pleasure having you at the inn, and hope you may return some day. I appreciate your comments. Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our stay at the Highland Inn was the most wonderful week of our 8-year marriage! We managed to get away while the kids were at summer camps, and we gradually transformed from harried, over-functioning parents to relaxed, happy human beings. Helen managed to delight us with her wonderful cooking, while at the same time respecting our privacy and need for "alone time." The slower pace of life on San Juan Island, along with the breathtaking views, make Helen's inn a quiet paradise. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee_and_Lisa_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

How nice of you to write Trip Advisor about your stay here. More parents should have a special time away alone while their kids are at camp. It was such a pleasure having you here as my
guests. I always enjoy it when guests take advantage of the many things to do and see on the
island. It was fun to hear about your previous days activities and your evenings out at breakfast each morning. Thanks so much for your stay here. Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed here in June of 2005 during our 1st wedding anniversary. The food was excellent, the rooms lovely, the view amazing and Helen was the perfect host. We saw whales from the room and went sea kayaking. I know it has been a while but we are thinking of coming back for our 10th!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vjoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

How nice to hear from you after all the years since your stay at the inn. Nothing has really changed except perhaps some additional breakfast treats like Eggs Benedict NW style with
smoked salmon. Of course, I always discuss choices of time, where you would like it served
and any allergies or things you don't care for at check in time. The Orca whales are still coming
by and you will find the same romantic atmosphere with complete privacy, lovely sea view,
sunsets, passing ships, etc. in our peaceful quiet neighborhood away from busy Friday Harbor.
I look forward to your return visit. Thank you for your comments. Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We were very well taken care of at Helen's Highland Inn! She was there when we needed her to be but remained discreet and unseen during most of our stay. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in our jammies right in the room. The view was incredible and if the weather had been better, we would have spent more time on the deck and in the quaint front yard. Compared to other inns, this one is a bit pricier but I think it was completely worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2013

Thank you for writing your comments about your stay here at the Highland Inn of San Juan Island.
It is so rewarding when guests find me from so far away! Glad you enjoyed your stay. We had
unusually cool weather while you were here and sorry the Orca Whales didn't come while you were here, but they are back now! J-pod with the other two pods over due for the summer season.
Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2013

We are just back from a trip to Washington and San Juan Island. To say we were pleased with our stay with Helen is an understatement. I don't really know where to begin with a review. Before we even left on our trip, we received not just emails, but a letter from Helen with lots of information and easy to follow directions about how to get to her B & B. She made great recommendations about where to eat in Friday Harbor after we got to the island on the ferry. We arrived fairly late, but Helen was very accommodating and before long, we were all settled in. The room is exactly like it is described. We were overwhelmed by the view, refreshed by Helen's cookies and relaxed by the steam shower. The room was clean and comfortable. We felt right at home with all the furnishings. The images on the internet of the room are exactly as we found it. Breakfast was great both days of our stay. She even personalized it the first morning, since we are from Texas, by serving huevos rancheros! We valued the conversations with her over breakfast and found her to be very hospitable but not obtrusive. The live views from the webcam on her website are exactly what we saw from the wonderful deck. We even watched a pair of bald eagles while eating breakfast on our second morning. In every way, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Either room in wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2013

How I enjoyed having you here at the inn and am so sorry the Orcas Whales didn't show up for you. Three groups were here the day after you left. You must come back again and stay longer, and perhaps later in the season. Mid May through the end of October is the best season for viewing them here. Spring is here with Clematis and Rhodies in bloom and fishing boats out
hauling in salmon. Our sweet little red fox has been around and sat on the front door mat for hours looking in the front door window last night and followed guests down the stone walk.
Thank you for your stay and your kind comments. It was my pleasure to serve you. Helen King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The incredible views are matched by the beautiful attention paid to the smallest detail in both the room and the house. One of the most comfortable rooms we have ever stayed in with both a fabulous steam shower and jetted tub. The attention by Helen was perfect: attentive without being intrusive, helpful in terms of finding restaurants and places to visit but letting us make our own choices, available but allowing us our privacy. It was a wonderful retreat for us and can recommend it without any reservation.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Haro Strait Suite on Helen's recommendation we loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dhc1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2013

I appreciate your comments about your stay here. It was my pleasure having you as guests and happy that you chose the inn for your getaway vacation. In searching for that special place, the comments on Trip Advisor helped you make this B&B your choice. Glad you weren't disappointed!
Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I'm way behind in writing a review for this wonderful B&B. My husband and I spent three weeks on a road trip from central California to the NW May 2012. I did a ton of research to find the dozens of places in which we stayed along the way. Although this B&B had mixed reviews, I chose it knowing that everyone is different, everyone has different expectations, everyone has had different travel experiences, etc. What is important to some is not to others. We found Helen King to be the consummate hostess who has the B&B business "down to a tee", with every detail attended to. We've spent many a night in B&B's with more luxury and a lot less service. We felt right at home, we were even offered the use of Helen's washer/dryer as we were the only mid-week guests at the Inn. (We had a lot of laundry, so we went into town to use the Laundromat.) Breakfasts were scrumptious, very filling, often we didn't need lunch. Helen made wonderful suggestions for where to go, what to do and see, including the fabulous Museum of Glass in Tacoma for our trip southward back home. I chose this Inn over the noisy, more cramped accommodations in the town of Friday Harbour. The rooms are large and nicely appointed. AND, the view! Spectacular!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank connieconsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

What a nice surprise to get your comments on Trip Advisor today. I remember your visit so well
and glad you enjoyed the Glass Museum on your way south. You were delightful guests and the comments are particularly welcome after the previous recent post. I am still upset about that. It is so hard to erase this kind of criticism. I can't help but think something else was going on with those guests and recall a lot of pacing up and down the deck and the fact they cancelled both plans to go whale watching, and to go on to Orcas Island for the night after leaving here which had nothing to do with their stay here. I can only hope I will have a string of favorable comments like yours to move that one down the list! It has been rather quiet time here and I am looking forward to couples coming for the weekend and next week to celebrate Valentine's Day. There is simply not a more romantic, peaceful, cozy spot to celebrate it by a nice fire. Still some Orca Whales passing by but looking forward to daily visits in May. Thank you so much for writing about your stay. Hopefully, you can return some day. Helen King,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
8.1 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#1 of 11 in Friday Harbor
497 reviews
16.1 km away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
178 reviews
8.6 km away
Friday Harbor Grand
Friday Harbor Grand
#3 of 17 in Friday Harbor
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
532 reviews
9 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 11 in Friday Harbor
536 reviews
9 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Inn of San Juan Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Inn of San Juan Island

Address: 439 Hannah Rd, P.O. Box 135, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8884
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Friday Harbor
Price Range: C$254 - C$349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West side view from 88 ft veranda to Victoria, BC and the Olympics overlooking the Haro Straits. Orca whales, sunsets and stargazing. Full breakfast in your room or the inn dining room, 8 to 10. Daily afternoon tea and Mrs. King's cookies. Wood burning fireplaces, king beds, satellite TV, wireless connection, private marble bath with jet tub and steam bath shower. Inn of the month T&L, awarded 4 Kisses by Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Highland Inn Of San Juan Island Friday Harbor, WA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing