We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$290
US$228
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Friday Harbor House(Friday Harbor)
US$424
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$268
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
US$110
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Wayfarer's Rest(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bird Rock Hotel(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$225
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Discovery Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
46
6
1
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
6
1
3
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 59 reviews
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The innkeeper, Helen, does a wonderful job of making you comfortable in her inn. The room is very comfortable, large, and clean. Breakfast can be served in your room sitting with a view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca. The breakfast was wonderful. On a rainy day we enjoyed the fireplace. Made for a cozy evening. A great retreat!!

Room Tip: The whale watching room is a beautiful room with an unobstructed view of the Straits.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Don M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Even though you were here during a much needed rain, glad you enjoyed your own wood burning
fireplace and comfortable sofa and easy chair while watching for Orca Whales in the sea below.
It was such a pleasure having you at the inn, and hope you may return some day. I appreciate your comments. Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our stay at the Highland Inn was the most wonderful week of our 8-year marriage! We managed to get away while the kids were at summer camps, and we gradually transformed from harried, over-functioning parents to relaxed, happy human beings. Helen managed to delight us with her wonderful cooking, while at the same time respecting our privacy and need for "alone time." The slower pace of life on San Juan Island, along with the breathtaking views, make Helen's inn a quiet paradise. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee_and_Lisa_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

How nice of you to write Trip Advisor about your stay here. More parents should have a special time away alone while their kids are at camp. It was such a pleasure having you here as my
guests. I always enjoy it when guests take advantage of the many things to do and see on the
island. It was fun to hear about your previous days activities and your evenings out at breakfast each morning. Thanks so much for your stay here. Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here in June of 2005 during our 1st wedding anniversary. The food was excellent, the rooms lovely, the view amazing and Helen was the perfect host. We saw whales from the room and went sea kayaking. I know it has been a while but we are thinking of coming back for our 10th!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vjoleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

How nice to hear from you after all the years since your stay at the inn. Nothing has really changed except perhaps some additional breakfast treats like Eggs Benedict NW style with
smoked salmon. Of course, I always discuss choices of time, where you would like it served
and any allergies or things you don't care for at check in time. The Orca whales are still coming
by and you will find the same romantic atmosphere with complete privacy, lovely sea view,
sunsets, passing ships, etc. in our peaceful quiet neighborhood away from busy Friday Harbor.
I look forward to your return visit. Thank you for your comments. Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were very well taken care of at Helen's Highland Inn! She was there when we needed her to be but remained discreet and unseen during most of our stay. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in our jammies right in the room. The view was incredible and if the weather had been better, we would have spent more time on the deck and in the quaint front yard. Compared to other inns, this one is a bit pricier but I think it was completely worth it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for writing your comments about your stay here at the Highland Inn of San Juan Island.
It is so rewarding when guests find me from so far away! Glad you enjoyed your stay. We had
unusually cool weather while you were here and sorry the Orca Whales didn't come while you were here, but they are back now! J-pod with the other two pods over due for the summer season.
Helen King, Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are just back from a trip to Washington and San Juan Island. To say we were pleased with our stay with Helen is an understatement. I don't really know where to begin with a review. Before we even left on our trip, we received not just emails, but a letter from Helen with lots of information and easy to follow directions about how to get to her B & B. She made great recommendations about where to eat in Friday Harbor after we got to the island on the ferry. We arrived fairly late, but Helen was very accommodating and before long, we were all settled in. The room is exactly like it is described. We were overwhelmed by the view, refreshed by Helen's cookies and relaxed by the steam shower. The room was clean and comfortable. We felt right at home with all the furnishings. The images on the internet of the room are exactly as we found it. Breakfast was great both days of our stay. She even personalized it the first morning, since we are from Texas, by serving huevos rancheros! We valued the conversations with her over breakfast and found her to be very hospitable but not obtrusive. The live views from the webcam on her website are exactly what we saw from the wonderful deck. We even watched a pair of bald eagles while eating breakfast on our second morning. In every way, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Either room in wonderful.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bestinnkeeper, Owner at Highland Inn of San Juan Island, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

How I enjoyed having you here at the inn and am so sorry the Orcas Whales didn't show up for you. Three groups were here the day after you left. You must come back again and stay longer, and perhaps later in the season. Mid May through the end of October is the best season for viewing them here. Spring is here with Clematis and Rhodies in bloom and fishing boats out
hauling in salmon. Our sweet little red fox has been around and sat on the front door mat for hours looking in the front door window last night and followed guests down the stone walk.
Thank you for your stay and your kind comments. It was my pleasure to serve you. Helen King

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews