We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, comfortable, reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of El Rey Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Rey Inn
Ranked #22 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Cedar Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quiet, comfortable, reasonable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I chose the El Rey Inn because of other reviews on this website and we were not disappointed. The motel is on a few acres and our room was well off the road and very quiet. Our room was very cosy and homey and decorated in a southwestern motif. There was plenty of storage space for our items. The grounds were very nice, with plenty of large trees and bushes to soften the look of the gravel drive. There is a small greenhouse on the property that had plenty of annuals ready to be planted as soon as the weather warms up. We did not eat breakfast there because it was not to my husband's liking, but I did notice there were tortillas with cheese, beans and salsa, as well as boiled eggs, and bread for toasting. The price was reasonable and it's only a short few minutes to the Santa Fe Plaza. I would recommend this motel to anyone who is not expecting bright, new, fancy rooms, but likes privacy, the songs of birds, and refreshing green space.

Room Tip: If you don't want to hear traffic noises, ask for the rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa4275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    234
    75
    17
    9
See reviews for
156
357
39
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

I have to say the El Rey divided opinion between my husband and myself, I was keener on it than him! I guess in the summer it would be a lovely and relaxing place to stay, but in the winter or spring you might be better off in the centre of Santa Fe, which is beautiful. The El Rey is a bit of a drive to the centre, and parking can be tricky in the evening. The grounds are beautiful, but the pool was closed when we stayed in April and it was a bit too cold to sit outside for long, which was a shame as the room was a little cramped and dark for relaxing in. The bathroom was newly decorated and beautiful with a good shower, although again, tight on space. We enjoyed the lovely hot tub, despite a fierce wind that was blowing! The lounge is nice, but we were not shown around it when we checked in, so didn't really find out about it till the next morning. Service is friendly and helpful especially at breakfast which offered a good selection including fresh tortillas with green chilli - I loved them! There's plenty of info about local attractions available and the El Rey does offer good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room set back from the road if you are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ironhorse_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

First of all to be clear this is a motel NOT a hotel. Dating from the late 30's and with numerous additions this sprawling motor court along historic route 66 is something of an enigma. If you are a fan of bright rooms with lots of polished metal and flat screen TV's this place is not for you. We originally booked a queen room (which was tiny) but changed to a king with a fireplace(which was adequate). The rooms are old, eclectic but clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The free breakfast is limited but tasty. I spend 12-15 nites a month on the road for business so I see a good cross section of hotels worldwide. That being said I give the following grades to the El Rey: Bed:B/HVAC:C/Shower-Bathroom:D/Noise:A. The shower had one of those water saving heads that feels like it's peeling your skin off while you shower.(hey I'm as green as the next guy but vacation is vacation!).

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back to avoid road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flyformoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta Ga
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We stayed at the El Rey for a couple of nights on our way to Arizona. We have stayed there before, but it was many years ago. Loved being able to walk around the gardens and foot paths that run through the property. Each, nicely scaled section or grouping of rooms reminds you that you are in Santa Fe. While the room we had at first looked like a regular motel room with two queen sized beds, there was an additional alcove with separate sink, closet and dressing area in addition to the bathroom with its own sink etc. I loved the vintage black and white tile, the generous amount of towels, soaps, creams etc., the window that actually opened in the bath room. Right outside our door was a covered portico that ran the length of our one story building with seating in front of each room to extend the feel of the size of the room and to take advantage of a place to read while someone else may be watching TV.

The breakfast was presented with warmth and charm by the long time morning staff; warm tortillas, green chili, hard boiled eggs in addition to juice, yogurt, cereals, English muffins, breads, and fresh fruit, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. On Easter Sunday, the hard boiled eggs were dyed! It is these personal touches that add a lot to a stay here.

The nicely furnished lounge just outside the reception area was actually a place where you might want to be---to read the newspaper, use the computer etc.

You can easily pay more to stay in Santa Fe, but with the ease of the parking, the livability of the room and the friendliness of the staff, I don't think you could have a better experience.

Room Tip: call and speak to the staff directly, the woman I spoke to was very helpful in choosing a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CorrineAtlantaGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estes Park
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

El Rey Inn -- How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. I have stayed here so many times over the years that I cannot number them, however, I love this property. I feel at home here. I look forward to the chocolate covered peppermints in the room, I want to buy the soaps (yes I've taken a few in my suitcase) I like to figure out how to be creative with my hard-boiled egg in the morning. And this year - the hot tub, with the fireplace going and the snow falling - it was so terrific. I am just sorry I couldn't stay more than one night this year.
Thank you. I'm a regular - this is a charming,gracious, historic motor inn. Plus, there is a great restaurant just up the street.

Room Tip: It is a bit quieter if you are away from Cerillos Road - but the property is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank o2bnfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, CO
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

This is actually our second time staying at the El Rey Inn but my first review on the Inn. The El Rey is a GEM of a place to stay. It is roughly 8 miles from downtown - close enough and convenient to get anywhere you would like to go in Santa Fe. The price of the stay, which includes breakfast, is very, very reasonable; the rooms are clean, individually decorated/unique and cozy; the grounds are well maintained and a pleasure to walk around and take a break from the hustle and bustle of the city. Each of the El Rey staff showed "ownership" towards making your stay enjoyable . . . . you didn't get the feeling of "oh I just work here so I have to be nice." Thank you for making our stay in Santa Fe so enjoyable and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrmoore44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

Charming, clean, comfortable units with a southwestern flavor which would be difficult to beat in the price range. Our unit was reasonably close to a main thoroughfare (Cerrillos Road) but surprisingly quit. Staff friendly and knowledgeable. Close to bus stop and only a five minute drive to the Plaza. Within walking distance of the wonderful Jambo restaurant and very close to The Pantry. Continental breakfast not exceptional but with The Pantry nearby, who cares?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites
#16 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,511 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Rey Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rey Inn

Property: El Rey Inn
Address: 1862 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Rey Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your El Rey Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rey Hotel Santa Fe
Santa Fe El Rey Inn
El Rey Santa Fe
El Rey Inn Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing