We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our New Favorite in Santa Fe”
Review of Hotel Santa Fe

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Santa Fe
Ranked #13 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our second visit to Santa Fe in the past year, and we are so pleased to have found this hotel. We will definitely return!

From check-in to check-out, every staff member we encountered was friendly and eager to help. You truly felt as if they cared about the guests and wanted to make sure their visit was special. One detail we didn't understand until check-in is that this property is made up of two separate hotels/buildings - Hotel Santa Fe/The Hacienda and Spa. We stayed at The Hacienda, and this upscale hotel was truly unique! Some of the highlights for us included: The Hacienda Collection (an extensive collection of Native American artwork displayed throughout the building...be sure to pick up a printed guide in the lobby and take time to view as you would in a museum), complimentary shuttle service (they have several vehicles of varying sizes...we traveled in a fun purple London cab...this service is available from 8AM to 10 PM daily to spots within a 1 mile radius of downtown), complimentary breakfast and afternoon reception (very nice selection in a lovely informal dining area with a large fireplace), Amaya Restaurant (with so many wonderful choices in Santa Fe, we were a bit reluctant to dine "in hotel," but after reading many good reviews, we decided to give it a try...very glad we did), and finally, the butler service provided (this was a first for us, but I must admit, it was a nice little perk...just knowing we had a contact within the hotel if we needed anything...when we realized we didn't have a corkscrew, all we had to do was call and Lubo was there).

Just a word about the rooms - very spacious and tastefully decorated, lovely bathroom with quality toiletries and a number of thoughtful touches (humidifer, nightlight, plenty of shelf space), and high quality linens - both bed and bath.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and highly recommend it to anyone staying in the Santa Fe area!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ksfmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you so very much for writing to tripadvisor.com with your gracious and kind remarks. I have passed on your compliments to all the staff and I am so pleased you enjoyed the artwork which we greatly enjoyed collecting and still continuously update.

xoum wia‘‘ pia pianee - Love, Light and Laughter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,694)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,694 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2012

As a resident of northern New Mexico I have many opportunities to stay in Santa Fe for business and pleasure. On these occassions I have stayed in all of the properties downtown and I find Hotel Santa Fe to be my NUMBER 1 choice. I have also had two occassions in the past six months to arrange group meetings with the hotel staff and they have been remarkable. They offer personalized service at all times. They are always eager to please and to accommodate any needs that one may have. The Spa is fantastic.
I highly recommend Hotel Santa Fe and Hacienda and Spa if you are looking for luxury and comfort.

Room Tip: The Hacienda is fantastic. The luxury of the room, amenities, and bedding are superior. The staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you, thank you for such kind words and I am delighted that you enjoy the Hotel and the Hacienda so much - both for pleasure and on your business trips.

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Made a last minute reservation for one night while in Santa Fe. The property is located within walking distance to the main plaza but they also offer shuttle service. When checking in the front desk clerk was friendly and informative. Stayed in a King room that had a small balcony overlooking the outdoor patio. Room was decorated in typical Southwest style and was clean and average size. Coffee service in the lobby of the second floor when i left was a nice perk. I selected the Hotel Santa Fe because the room included parking, this is a bit misleading. They do include parking however there is a $15 service charge that covers parking, shuttle service, wifi, access to business center, Santa Fe airport shuttle. A portion of the funds are invested back into the community to a variety of charities so it was a non-issue for me, but may come as a surprise when that is not disclosed when booking. Overall a very nice stay, the Staff is knowledgeable and friendly and reason enough to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmotes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for your kind words and I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay!!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Santa Fe is a city to go on a short vacation. It doesn't seem that it attracts a lot of business travelers. The Hotel Santa Fe where I stayed with my husband and a teenage son was perfect for a short vacation. We came to Santa Fe for a spring break (although in New Mexico the spring break had been the previous week). It was rather quiet in the city and nothing seemed to be busy, even the hotel we stayed at.

The hotel offered us a relatively small room on the 2 floor that had 2 queen size beds. The interior was very warm and cozy, with some pleasant ethnic Indian touches. It was clean and updated, and the only thing I wished was that the room would be a little larger considering that it was 3 of us staying there.

The service at the hotel was good. For an extra $15 per person per stay they give you a coupon for a free wine or beer, free shuttle rides, free water at the front desk, free coffee in the morning, parking and a few other free things, which I thought should be already included in the price of the room. This extra fee is automatic. So, it seems like it is a new twist to the travel industry trend of selling something cheap and then adding up extra fees on top. But, I understand - they have to stay profitable too.

We liked breakfast at the hotel's restaurant. It was rather modest, but the food was very good. You can add any item to a Continental buffet for $3. I though it was a good deal.

The hotel had a standard swimming pool and a hot tub. Nothing fancy, but something we enjoyed as a family at night.

The location was good also. It took us probably 10-15 minutes to get to the Plaza by foot. I can't say that it was very quiet because every morning I was woken up by roaring engines outside. But, I guess, you can request a room facing the opposite direction from the intersection when you check in.

Overall, our stay was nice and pleasant. But, I could explore some other options next time.

Room Tip: Request a room facing away from the intersection. This will help you sleep in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for writing to tripadvisor.com with your comments and I am pleased to learn you overall enjoyed your stay but please don’t explore elsewhere next time as their fees are more!!

chenoho mima téwe yo tha - We thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

This was my second time at Hotel Santa Fe, which I chose based on the excellent rate and positive previous experience. I checked in after a long day of travel and was given a complimentary upgrade--wonderful!! My room was spacious and well-equipped. The breakfast buffet is lovely--delicious fresh fruit--and I found the staff friendly and helpful throughout. The hotel has a convival, community feel. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eberkshiresma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write to tripadvisor.com and we are so pleased to learn that you enjoyed your return trip.

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

We had originally made reservations at another hotel which turned out to be very disappointing. From the time we called the Hotel until we left 4 days later, they could not have been more welcoming, helpful and attentive. The food at the Amaya Restaurant was superb, and the breakfast choices and quality were excellent. The native American music in the fireplace room in the evening was lovely and restful. It is only a 5-6 minute walk to the plaza, or the hotel shuttle is available throughout the day & evening. All in all, this was a thoroughly relaxing and cozy stay. We couldn't have asked for more.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FTWFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Delighted to learn that you had a relaxing and cozy stay and thank you so very much for staying with us.

ko piane ca whachii - May Blessings Come Your Way

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

This is a lovely hotel, really well placed to explore Santa Fe.
It's not cheap, but I would recommend booking the best room you can afford. We booked what the booking agent told us was a room for 4, but it really wasn't big enough as we have 2 teenage boys. The staff however went out of their way to provide an extra mattress in addition to the double sofa bed, at no extra charge.
The bathroom wasn't great, but it was adequate.
The hotel provides a free shuttle bus (allow for a tip to the driver) which is an excellent service. One day we had a hotel taxi, and the driver gave a brief history of Santa Fe and went out of his way to drop us in the best location.
There is a compulsory $15 per adult fee charged by all Santa Fe hotels, in addition to your booking.
We would recommend the short walk to the Flying Star for breakfast. Ask at the hotel reception for directions.

Room Tip: Book the best you can afford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanplus3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetsonGM, Owner at Hotel Santa Fe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2012

Thank you for writing to tripadvisor.com and I am delighted to learn that we took care of you and your family. Thank you so much for staying with us!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,463 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,652 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,676 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Santa Fe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Santa Fe

Address: 1501 Paseo de Peralta, Santa Fe, NM 87501-3721
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#6 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#7 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: $190 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Santa Fe 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering spacious accommodations along with cultural activities, this Native American-owned hotel is situated in Santa Fe's Railyard District and features exceptional on-site spa services and gourmet dining options. Hotel Santa Fe offers a unique cultural experience with on-site ceremonial dance performances, historical storytelling and an on-site gift shop featuring hand-made crafts. Guests can also enjoy relaxing around the outdoor fireplace and listening to live Native American music. Guests at the Hotel Santa Fe can also enjoy Native American-inspired cuisine at the on-site Amaya Restaurant or unique cocktails at Amaya Bar. The hotel also features an outdoor swimming pool and lush outdoor gardens. In the area surrounding the Hotel Santa Fe, guests can easily discover a number of art galleries, museums and restaurants. Historic downtown Santa Fe is also located only a short distance away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Santa Fe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santa Fe & Hacienda Santa Fe
Hotel Santa Fe And Hacienda And Spa
Hotel Santa Fe New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing