We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost five”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Almost five”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was a first stay for three of us so we had nothing to compare it to - so we loved the property with a few exceptions. The positives: Check-in was efficient for two of us and slow for other two, but we believe the young lady was still in training. You would think that when one person makes all the reservations the rooms reserved would all be in the same place on the same floor - it always seems highly inefficient that this chore is not done when you arrive, but since most hotels have this inefficiency we cannot give them a bad rating for this oversight. The rooms were very nice, clean and love the walk-in showers in the King Balcony Rooms (not sure which rooms offer this amenity but think others do.) Beds are very, very comfortable. The Red Sage serves a wonderful meal, with good but not perfect service. The hostess was a little snobbish when she seated us (we were dressed tourist, not fine dining) but changed her attitude when she realized our dinner tab was going to reach $300.00 dollars, then our tourist clothes seemed to be OK and she became more pleasant. However, the wonderful meal and presentation overrides her snobbishness and the waiter’s lack of training. The negatives: A little mold in the shower - this is a sign of poor housekeeping so may be an issue down the road. Also one of the rooms did not have all the bathroom amenities - again an oversight by the housekeeper. Another housekeeping issue: The fourth party had stayed on the property before and went for a massage. They were not ready for her and made her wait with no explaination. When she questioned what was going on they informed her that they had no house coats washed and ready for her, towels also were still not laundered so they were running around looking for towels, she asked for a lite touch and the women kept massaging too heavy and then would say she kept forgetting when our friend would point out that she was uncomfortable. The breakfast at the Mica Restaurant was very, very good - but service was slow to nonexistent. We did not tip and noted on tab the service was terrible and the waiter actually came over to snap at us that he waited on us even through it was not his table!!!! Then stomped off - so not sure what that meant!!!!! The did run out of buffet food and were very, very, very slow to replace. So their terrible service made what could have been a wonderful breakfast, not so nice. The Parrot buffet was good but not excellent. Food could have been temperature hotter, but there was a wonderful variety and satisfied all. Service again was terrible. We finally had to clear off our own plates and put them on a clean table. Glasses were not kept full of water or tea. At the Mica it looked like they may have not had enough waiters, but that was not the issue at the buffet. The Casino had great slots that were fun to play and a great variety - except in the non-smoking rooms. Here you got machines that we have not seen for a year or so. It was like if we did not smoke - our entertainment is not considered. It always amazes us that the Native American Casino's discriminate non-smokers. One last negative - for some reason they put the headboards on side by side rooms on the same wall - thus a romantic couple kept one of us awake all night!!!!!! Would not expect this error to be an issue in a high end hotel (or in a chain that wants to be considered high end - I don't because they have too many mediocre to poor properties). However, we are looking forward to our next visit - we just hope that the negatives, like the housekeeping errors and poor dining staff training does not get any worse!!!! These are signs that money is not being put back into the property and that staff training for customer comfort is not a priority!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda8067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    947
    622
    299
    126
    78
See reviews for
511
942
76
267
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ellicott City, Maryland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

The hotel is beautifully decorated with exceptional Native American art. Our room was spacious, clean, and beautifully appointed with a huge bathroom and large deck with two sliding glass doors. Without exception the staff was courteous and the concierge knowledgeable. There is plenty to keep busy between the golf, swimming, spa, and casino.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My husband & I stay here 4-5 times a year. We live in Santa Fe; and it's a great place just to get away, relax and have some fun. We always take our dog, who really enjoys the couch. We have always had great service and really enjoy our stay. The place is always very nice with great art and wonderful beds with class "A" linens. Have never been too impressed with the food in the buffet, but the restaurant in the casino and the Red Sage upstairs are always good. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as we have.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Connie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

This is a nice place to stay if you're intending to get some relaxation time. The atmosphere of the hotel is spacious and artsy, and the front desk staff are helpful. The spa is luxurious and has many services for a slightly higher ($65 for a pedicure,) but believable price. However, once you pay for a service, you have unlimited access to the jacuzzi, sauna, steam room, etc. until closing time of that night. The casino is large, but drinks are not brought to you while you gamble. The gift shop has lots of cute items. The Starbucks on site is a little ridiculous, charging over 6 bucks for one of those little bottled frappes that are sold in gas stations for about half that price. Be especially aware, that the walls between rooms are very, very thin. We could hear everyone's television and people running up and down the hallways.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melody G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I stay here 3-4 times a year, and have since the year it opened. The last several times we have stayed - when we try to check in, they tell us they are sold out on the room we had reserved (always a king size regular room). However, whenever we tell them that the room with 2 queens that they had put us in will not work - they miraculously have a king room available. Front desk service is steadily going down hill, with staff becoming more rude each visit.

In addition, my husband and I love to frequent the spa. Last time we went however, the showers were dirty, there were wet towels everywhere, and it did not have the same ambiance it normally has.

The buffet has wonderful food - but is now on reduced hours. When we first started going, it was open for lunch on Saturday and Sunday. Now it is only open for dinner on Saturday, and lunch and dinner on Sunday.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank luv2trec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque ,nm
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is the second time visit. The hotel is beautiful with great Native American art throughout. The rooms are elegant and roomy. There is a golf course with the property and a Homewood Suites immediately adjacent to the resort hotel. If you obtain a casino players card you will qualify for special rates at the hotel Check the online booking companies to check the always changing rates. I must note that the prices in the hotel are rather steep. Unlike many casinos the restaurants and bar are pricey. As an example a mediocre wine at Happy Hour was $6 and at the upscale restaurant, Red sage, a glass of wine that retails for $7.99 per bottle was priced at $12 per glass and sells for $5-7 elsewhere. So bring your wine for the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wjohnson119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bailey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel and grounds are beautiful and the room very nice. BUT we like to play the slots in the casino and we were not impressed. The cigarette smoke in the casino is unbearable. We were both sick for a week after our 3 day stay. It is truly so thick that it's hard to see. You also cannot have a cocktail while playing - you have to go to one of the bars and purchase your cocktail or glass of wine. We'll just do our gambling in Colorado where smoking isn't permitted in the casinos and your drinks are free.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileyDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#17 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder
Address: 20 Buffalo Thunder Trail, Santa Fe, NM 87506
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#20 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#23 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort And Spa At Buffalo Thunder
Hilton Santa Fe Golf Resort & Spa At Buffalo Thunder Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Santa Fe Hotel
Santa Fe Hilton
Hilton Santa Fe Buffalo Thunder New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing