We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cultural gem”

Poeh Cultural Center
Ranked #58 of 280 things to do in Santa Fe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: In 1988, the Pueblo of Pojoaque established the Poeh Cultural Center as the first permanent tribally owned and operated mechanism for cultural preservation and revitalization within the Pueblo communities of the northern Rio Grande Valley. The facility itself resembles a traditional Pueblo village with its adjacent art studio buildings and outdoor gathering areas. The Center emphasizes arts and cultures of all Pueblo People with focus on the Tewa-speaking Pueblos of Pojoaque, San Ildefonso, San Juan, Santa Clara, Tesuque and Nambe. The Poeh is a place for us to share our Tewa culture with guests from other cultures through our exhibits and events, and guided interpretive tours of our exhibits, facilities and lands.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Free admission to the museum. Donations appreciated. The exhibits tell the story of the Tewa-speaking pueblos (including this Pojoaque Puebla) in a very personal, first-person way. Nice examples of historic pottery - some recently reclaimed from the Smithsonian - and very informative descriptions. Worth about an hour visit.

Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Manager at Poeh Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for the review, Michael. That was a very nice description of our exhibits. We hope that you will be able to visit us in October 2018 when we get another 99 pieces of pottery from the Smithsonian on indefinite loan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"changing exhibits"
in 3 reviews
"takes about an hour"
in 2 reviews
"pueblo life"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 4 reviews
"contemporary art"
in 3 reviews
"new mexico"
in 3 reviews
"roxanne"
in 7 reviews
"tower"
in 4 reviews
"dioramas"
in 10 reviews
"donation"
in 6 reviews
"smithsonian"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 11 reviews
"pottery"
in 6 reviews
"sculptures"
in 11 reviews
"visitors"
in 4 reviews
"los"
in 2 reviews
"inspiring"
in 3 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2016

We discovered the Poeh Cultural Center by accident when we went to visit Roxanne Swentzell's adjacent Tower Gallery--and were so glad we did. The permanent exhibit in the Poeh Museum offers a history of the Tewa people from their perspective--informative and moving, brought to life with sculptures by Roxanne Swentzell and murals by Marcellus Medina. The museum also features changing exhibits of contemporary Tewa artists--the artist we saw was young, witty, and exciting.

1  Thank JMPolo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Manager at Poeh Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for the review, JMPolo16. We are so glad that you enjoyed your visit. We hope that you are able to come back and visit us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

As a visiting Curator from Canada I was told to visit this place after a private tour of the Wainwright...very much worth the trip to see traditional culture inspiring new young artists. Love the classic diorama style inside and the classic village look outside.

2  Thank KateJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Manager at Poeh Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your review, KateJourney. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the cultural center. Hopefully, ​you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

Wow! What a great blending of old and new - the interpretive centre gives the story of the local culture and history while the art gallery shows the modern collective creativity. While we were there a young artist`s work was on display - showed a transition from graffiti to tribal inspired mixed media - with a pow Wow!!

Thank KateJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The Poeh Center offers a look into art and artists mainly from New Mexico’s six Tewa-speaking pueblos. They curate, display and preserve traditional and contemporary art and cultural work in both a permanent collection and photo archive of the Pojoaque pueblo life and history. The center has a wonderful six-room journey taking the visitor from the beginning through current day pueblo living, giving an experiential feel of the connectedness of the Pueblo people to their land. Many of the Poeh Center’s artists are showcased live in a common area at the nearby Buffalo Thunder resort. Visiting the center is free.

1  Thank Toni D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Poeh Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing