We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Drive from Santa Fe to spend time at this "view" into the local Indian culture”

Poeh Cultural Center
Ranked #58 of 270 things to do in Santa Fe
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: In 1988, the Pueblo of Pojoaque established the Poeh Cultural Center as the first permanent tribally owned and operated mechanism for cultural preservation and revitalization within the Pueblo communities of the northern Rio Grande Valley. The facility itself resembles a traditional Pueblo village with its adjacent art studio buildings and outdoor gathering areas. The Center emphasizes arts and cultures of all Pueblo People with focus on the Tewa-speaking Pueblos of Pojoaque, San Ildefonso, San Juan, Santa Clara, Tesuque and Nambe. The Poeh is a place for us to share our Tewa culture with guests from other cultures through our exhibits and events, and guided interpretive tours of our exhibits, facilities and lands.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

We were extremely fortunate to have been able to time our trip to the center's annual summer market day. Beyond anything we expected. The live music and dancing was world class; the demonstrations of sculpture making and pottery was so informative; the market itself had so many top notch vendors.

The docent in the museum are caring and well educated. They answered repeated questions and took great interest in explaining the various exhibitions.

Please, support the Poeh Cultural Center by leaving Santa Fe, driving only 15 minutes out of town, and spending time here. It will be time you will remember.

Thank stephrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Manager at Poeh Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2017

Thank you for your review stephrab! We think your review will be helpful for other travelers in and around the Santa Fe area. We are so pleased that you were able to enjoy our first summer market. We hope that you will be able to join us for other events throughout the year. Hope to see you again soon. Safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for Poeh Cultural Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2017 via mobile

You would probably drive right by if you didn't know about this museum and art gallery. My husband visited it a few months ago and was eager to return to introduce me to this special place. I am so glad he did. The tradition, culture and arts displayed in this museum are extremely well done. There is a lovely little shop with a limited but interesting selection. I bought a piece of jewelry made by local artisan. Please don't miss it.

Thank Rita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Manager at Poeh Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2017

Thank you for your review, Rita. We are so glad that your husband shared our cultural center with you. We hope that you can visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

This elegant structure inspired by Pueblo architecture style contains exhibits and art focussed on the history and experience of the Pojoaque people. Guided tours are available. This is one of the best realized local culture exhibits. Be sure to stop here on your way to wherever on highway 285 near the Los Alamos exit.

Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Manager at Poeh Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your review, Elliot. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the cultural center. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

We were looking for the Nambe store and happened upon this small but extremely interesting museum. No charge to enter, but be sure to leave a donation. They had the largest old Indian pottery that we had seen during our trip. Definitely worth a stop!

Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Manager at Poeh Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your review, David. We are glad that you happened upon us during your trip. The large pottery you saw was probably the first phase of our People's Pottery Exhibit. We have nine pieces on indefinite loan from the Smithsonian's Museum of the American Indian and plan to bring ninety-one more pieces by October 2018. We hope you will visit us when these new pieces come in. ​

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

This is a small museum with a big message. They are clear that what is included for exhibit is what the Pojauque Pueblo wants to exhibit, not a collection put together by an out of touch archivist. This was my second visit and I have confidence they are not opposed to tackling tough issues such as the abuse at the hands of some of the early missionaries. They have some ancient artifacts, but they also tell of the culture through the four seasons. There is a strong message about the water protectors. There is a no admission, but leave a donation for the future of this museum.

Thank CyndyandByron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tina W, Manager at Poeh Cultural Center, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2017

Thank you for your review, Cyndy and Byron. We are glad that you enjoyed our exhibits. Thank you for your continued support and we hope to see you again​ soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Poeh Cultural Center also viewed

 

Been to Poeh Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing