We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Spa”
Review of ten thousand waves

ten thousand waves
Ranked #1 of 48 Spas & Wellness in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Ten Thousand Waves is inspired by the great Japanese mountain hot spring resorts. Ten minutes from downtown Santa Fe, but only minutes from the National Forest, there is nothing quite like this on the North American continent. Among piñons and junipers are beautiful outdoor hot tubs and spa suites, world-class bodywork & skin care, and the amazing izanami restaurant. For a lucky few, it is the closest lodging to the Santa Fe Ski area.
Reviewed February 18, 2018

I've been visiting 10,000 waves for more than 25 years. It's changed a bit over that time but it is still a great choice if you're looking for a soak or a massage.

Thank Alec D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, General Manager at ten thousand waves, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

Thank you Alec

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"hot tub"
in 150 reviews
"private tub"
in 109 reviews
"salt glow"
in 57 reviews
"meditation room"
in 49 reviews
"foot soak"
in 43 reviews
"japanese spa"
in 42 reviews
"herbal wrap"
in 35 reviews
"foot bath"
in 39 reviews
"japanese style"
in 30 reviews
"spa treatments"
in 47 reviews
"women's tub"
in 26 reviews
"locker room"
in 37 reviews
"bathing suits"
in 18 reviews
"cucumber water"
in 17 reviews
"communal pool"
in 16 reviews
"shiatsu massage"
in 15 reviews
"koi pond"
in 25 reviews
Filter

94 - 98 of 1,504 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2018

The communal pool has been upgraded since the last time I was here,overall it's a great upgrade. This area is setup perfectly to be able to soak, cold plunge and then get Into the sauna. A perfect trio for soothing sore muscles!

1  Thank RJ T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, General Manager at ten thousand waves, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2018

I'm glad you enjoyed our improvements! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2018

I'm looking for a place to have a yoga retreat and think this would be ideal but for the fact that children could be running around. Kids are great but just not a good mix with a spa weekend.

3  Thank dynamo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, General Manager at ten thousand waves, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Thanks for your feedback Dynamo - Not sure if it's based on your experience or a review that mentioned Children? While we want to be as inclusive as possible and allow children in the Grand Bath, there are many private baths available if you want to avoid children.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 11, 2018

Love the grounds, love the outdoor atmosphere, love the professional staff. Everyone should experience 10,000 Waves at least once in their lifetime.

Husband and I came to celebrate our anniversary. Reception area was packed when we arrived early Sunday morning, however, receptionists were fast, thorough and very friendly. We had no doubt where to go, how to enjoy - staff was thorough and approachable.

We both selected the Far Far East spa package. First we together enjoyed the Oruro hot tub:a extremely large private hot tub with private sauna, shower and changing area. This hot tub suite doesn’t have much of a view, not repeat-worthy, but clean and enjoyable. We could not believe how fast the time flew while we were in this suite.

The Shiatsu massage is a great choice if you prefer to be dressed while being massaged. My therapist worked wonders on me, while my husband fell asleep during his treatment. My husband loved his Yasuragi head and neck massage, and we both loved the Ashianma foot massage.

There is limited space in the ladies shower / changing area. I recommend not spending much time here, quick change and shower. I do not recommend bringing kiddos. Not good for kids or fellow patrons. While we were here, about five kids under ten years were in the communal hot tub and dressing area. Kids played in hot tub as if in a rowdy hotel pool and were inappropriate in dressing room. Just kids, not their fault.

1  Thank GottaRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, General Manager at ten thousand waves, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2018

Thank you GottaRun for your great review! We hope you return soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2018

We spent an afternoon and evening at Ten Thousand Waves and it was worth every penny. Got facials, soaked our feet in the foot bath, sat in the meditation room, sat in the sauna, drank lovely tea, got 50 minute massages, and then topped it off with a private tub soak. Had a wonderful sandwich to keep us going. Talk about being treated like royalty. I recommend this for anyone who wants the best of the best.

Thank Lad L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony A, General Manager at ten thousand waves, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2018

Thank you Lad!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to ten thousand waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing