We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location. Great character.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location. Great character.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Spent two nights in a king room with real log fireplace. Loved it. Appreciated all the characterful touches throughout the hotel. Pool heated to 90 degrees looked inviting but we didn't have time. Good enough breakfast. Sherry and tea and biscuits at 4pm nice touch. Couldn't be more convenient for the Town centre and Plaza - couple of minutes walk. Only downside was poor WiFi connection in bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casasastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    928
    469
    90
    24
    11
See reviews for
328
696
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

While we spent more than we sometimes do on motels to stay here, I thought the splurge was worthwhile. We had a lovely room with southwestern furniture and decor. I loved the toiletries and just thought the room was very special.

That said, we had a room right off the main parking lot, so I think I would have preferred a room further back on the property with a better view. We also did not have an in-room fireplace.

The lobby area is very nice for relaxing, and we enjoyed the sherry and cookies in the afternoon. The breakfast was a great way to start the day -- loads of well cooked tasty entrees and sides in a lovely room.

We found the inn very convenient to all the Santa Fe plaza sites and restaurants and felt comfortable walking back and forth in the late evening.

I would definitely recommend this inn!

Room Tip: reserve a room early to get a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandrian1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles, california
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Great reservation service, terrific buffet breakfast, love the free parking, very close to town.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room in the main building versus the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dcallenwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
257 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hospitality and service was awesome. The rooms had a truly Southwest decor and the central location was unbeatable. The copper patina wind driven mobiles around the property are really pretty. Everything in beautiful central Santa Fe was within easy walking distance. the Railrunner Santa Fe service from ABQ is nearby, so a rentacar is not necessary for a short stay. The room includes a bountiful and tasty breakfast buffet as well as an afternoon tea and sherry social. Housekeeping was immaculate and Ken and Armando at the front desk recommended an excellent and relatively low priced nearby local New Mexican fare restaurant , Casa Chimayo; which had music, flamenco and decent food. I spoke for a moment with the GM, Sam, whose friendliness and customer service attitude appears to pervade the entire staff. My wife and I enjoyed our too brief 3 night midwinter stay completely.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slaterock1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

We did not have one of the rooms with a fireplace, but this was a great hotel in a great location to shops, restaurants, and the historic plaza. We enjoyed the morning hearty breakfast and the delightful afternoon tea. Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tacopete5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

This has a perfect location within walking distance of most attractions in Santa Fe. They had a special that if you book directly from the hotel website they give you $25 dining and bar credit a day. This was on top of the cooked breakfast each morning.
Getting a room with a fireplace was a great plus. They set up the logs each day for you and made starting a fire a snap. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pchrisop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morton, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

My sister and I stayed for a few days at Inn of the Governors in Santa Fe in early December and we LOVED it!!! When we arrived Ken from the front desk, came out to our car and helped us unload and took everything up to our room for us. Ken was charming and helpful and SO NICE! Then when we checked in, we were given immediately an upgrade to a room with a wood-burning fireplace, which we loved! The 4pm tea and cookie hour was heavenly and the hotel was charming and cozy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building and reserve a room with wood-burning fireplace, especially in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing