We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location Supremo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Location Supremo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Located a 5 min walk from the plaza. The biggest pluses other than that is the free parking, free breakfast, free wifi. Parking is a big deal cos ur going to need a lot of cash using the paid parking meters and they are packed. Big dissapointent is the front desk staff who other than checking you in efficiently can't give you any good local information. They dont have a concierge. The rooms are clean but small. Room service gets there at 8:30....watch out :)

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jax_krish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    468
    89
    24
    11
See reviews for
326
695
69
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Excellent value for the money. Clean, comfortable, good location, great service, ample parking, and breakfast is included. The room we had was very comfortable and exactly what we were looking for. Loved the fireplace and the smell of the Pinion wood (so glad we had one in our room). Great location within comfortable walking distance of the plaza (but also on a street that lets you bypass the foot traffic when driving). We thought about going for a more upscale hotel but, in hindsight, were very glad we went to the Inn of the Governors.

What could have been better? Wifi had bad reception, TV was very limited. No movies. Smaller bathroom. More for couples than families.

Room Tip: Get a fireplace. If you definitely need computer access during your stay, you might want to stay som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

I was searching for the following: on the plaza as I wasn't renting a car, a room big enough to feel like home, a fireplace for the cold nights, perks, ambiance, and all for a deal. In my opinion - I chose perfectly.

I checked into a mini-suite for four nights. The size of the room was comparable to other rooms in the area that were going for a couple hundred more, and because it was an interior room (there are two areas to the hotel, one enclosed, and a side that's off open air hallways. I wanted the security of an 'inside' room.) The full on 'santa fean' style was adorable, and with a fireplace which was prepped every day for me, a little balcony for fresh air, and a wet bar with a fully stocked mini bar - I was totally impressed. I'm a difficult sleeper, and the details like a great mattress - good foam pillows (or down) and the fluffy robes insured a full night's rest, every night. Flat screens are hard to come by in some Santa Fe hotels, but here - par for the course.

Housekeeping was spot on, the free breakfast buffet in the morning is one hell of a deal (steaming green chile, huevos rancheros and fresh tortillas every morning? thank you!), there was free internet everywhere, free parking and even a heated pool (which is incredibly rare in Santa Fe). I didn't miss not having a car, and I walked everywhere I wanted to go, and the staff took care of the rest when I needed a cab here or there. There's even tea, sherry, and some sort of cookie that locals knew about and asked me to steal for them, served every day for the guests at 4 pm.

I'm so happy I chose this property - it's definitely destined to be a home away from home.

Room Tip: Make sure you call and speak to them direct - tell them your needs and wants and they'll pick th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleInTheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

A really great location. Stayed there 5 nights, and it fits many traveller's requirements. Great location, good room (especially with the fireplace) Most helpful frontdesk staff and a hearty breakfast. Loved being able to walk to the plaza and all the great restaurants which abound in SF.

Room Tip: Stay in the main building you dont have to hear the cars arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel has a real boutique feel to it, with nice touches such as the sherry in the afternoon and a lovely reading area beside the reception. The rooms, while somewhat smaller than normal by US standards, were very well maintained and stayed warm throughout a very cold night, even after I turned off the heating. The location is excellent and is a 2-3 minute walk from the Plaza. A real highlight was the breakfast which was first rate and featured both South Western and more mainstream dishes. If you want a hotel in Santa Fe which is cosy, centrally located and has good parking, this is the one for you.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seat28B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

Spent two nights in a king room with real log fireplace. Loved it. Appreciated all the characterful touches throughout the hotel. Pool heated to 90 degrees looked inviting but we didn't have time. Good enough breakfast. Sherry and tea and biscuits at 4pm nice touch. Couldn't be more convenient for the Town centre and Plaza - couple of minutes walk. Only downside was poor WiFi connection in bedroom.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casasastre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

While we spent more than we sometimes do on motels to stay here, I thought the splurge was worthwhile. We had a lovely room with southwestern furniture and decor. I loved the toiletries and just thought the room was very special.

That said, we had a room right off the main parking lot, so I think I would have preferred a room further back on the property with a better view. We also did not have an in-room fireplace.

The lobby area is very nice for relaxing, and we enjoyed the sherry and cookies in the afternoon. The breakfast was a great way to start the day -- loads of well cooked tasty entrees and sides in a lovely room.

We found the inn very convenient to all the Santa Fe plaza sites and restaurants and felt comfortable walking back and forth in the late evening.

I would definitely recommend this inn!

Room Tip: reserve a room early to get a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandrian1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,127 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,598 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Property: Inn of the Governors
Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel
Inn Of The Governors Santa Fe, New Mexico

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing