We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Luray Caverns Motel West
Nearby Hotels
US$79
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laurance(Luray)(Great Value!)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Mimslyn Inn(Luray)(Great Value!)
US$155
US$150
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
US$165
US$146
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$55
US$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (36)
Filter reviews
36 results
Traveller rating
8
5
7
5
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
5
7
5
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 36 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2011

This is a wonderful place to kick back. The motel is quite old but well maintained and "patched" in a very quaint way. The rooms and grounds were very clean, the staff very helpful and courteous. The view was wonderful and the picnic tables and available charcoal grill an added nice touch. We enjoyed the pool every day and the proximity to all the cavern attractions and downtown Luray made it a wonderful experience all together. Would love to come back and take advantage of one of the stand alone cabins next time.

Room Tip: Many room options to choose from including stand alone cabins
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank zidekfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 27, 2011

After going on this site I was very skeptical about staying here. The room was already booked and no research was done on it before hand so I just winged it. I am glad I just went anyway. The rooms were very clean. The bathroom, very clean. The beds clean and comfortable. I def will go back here. The view was breath taking and it was very quiet. We couldn't hear the neighbors, and my son got to see things that we would have never seen had we listened to the negative reviews I had read beforehand. Please go and make your own opinion before listening to others. You will not regret the stay and we are even planning to go in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Happytravler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 17, 2010

We had just seen the Caverns and wanted to stay nearby to drive the Shenandoah Drive the next day. All of the nearby hotels were booked, but the Motel West had their apartment still available so we jumped on it. Ugh...The carpet was so filthy our socks turned black. The couch in the living room had big rips and black stains on it; we watched tv (the five clear channels we could get) standing up. We weren't going to use the kitchen or dining room, but both were outdated and still had past guests' garbage in them. The entire "suite" had not been updated in 40 years. The bathtub and toilet had massive rust stains; we ended up being too grossed out to shower. There wasn't even a clock/radio anywhere in the apartment. But the kicker was that the screen door didn't lock; neither did the deadbolt on the main door. We had to rely on the flimsy doorknob lock. And we faced the wooded area, not the main road. We kept lights on so it would appear we were awake. And we paid $165 (including tax) for this! It would have been better to drive all night than to stay at this place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demetra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2010

When we first walked in, we were very disappointed. We'd opted for this hotel ($72) over the days inn ($54) due to location. The carpets were very stained, the toilet seat was also extremely old, the paint in some places had worn away and the bathroom sink had large cracks in it. After we'd been there a few minutes and the shock wore off, we did realize that despite the stains the room was very clean. Even though the carpets were worn, there was no dirt or anything on them.

We weren't given a coupon for a free breakfast as other travelers in 2007 and 2008, but were given a coupon for 10% off.

The staff was very friendly. The pool was clean and nice. It stayed open until 10:30pm so we enjoyed a late night swim. Also, the beds were extremely soft. We prefer firm beds, so we didn't like them, but they were in good condition.

We were disappointed in Luray itself, the caverns were very cool, but I would suggest staying outside of the town especially if you're doing things outside of Luray as well. There are much better towns in the area. There were some nice restaurants, but many have bad reviews.

We went to Uncle Bucks Restaurant, the food was great and the staff were very talkative, if you enjoy opening up and talking to the locals, this is a great place, if you'd rather eat in peace, I don't suggest it. But we had a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomOfTwo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 8, 2009

At first glance, the place seems a cute old place. It's pretty much what you would expect in such a small town like Luray. The place is out of date in technology- they didn't even have a computer at the main desk. The woman working was very friendly and helpful. Then we saw our room- it was one of the three in the back lower level. At first, it didn't seem too bad. Odd shower layout, outdated furniture, old tv. Then I noticed the bugs on the floor. They were dead and there were only a few, so I decided to overlook them. We left to explore the town and we came back at night only to find more dead bugs on the floor. We couldn't figure it out, where were they coming from? there were no holes or cracks we could see. We were woken up the next morning at 6 by our upstairs neighbors who were walking around their room- we could hear everything they said and did. No muffling those sounds at all. Needless to say a bad night's sleep. In the morning, we found MORE dead bugs and the icing on the cake- as we walked out the door I saw a massive bug with a long tail slither into a tiny hole by the door. Disgusting. We went to check out and told the friendly woman the situation in the room- only to be told, 'o I know, its a problem we have but come back real soon!' Unless, you have a desire to be around bugs, skip this one. And we paid $100 bucks a night! Ugh.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 123travelista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews