We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Mimslyn Inn”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Waldorf
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Mimslyn Inn”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

When visiting family in Luray, we try to stay at the Inn. I agree with the comments above that the food in the dining room is not very good at all, steak is not as advertised, and way over price for less-than-average quality. Also, the dining room is quite full on Sundays as it is a popular place for the after-church older crowd; so, if you came down to eat just after rolling out of bed, you may feel quite uncomfortably under-dressed, like being not being 'dressed for dinner' at grandma and grandpas. If you eat in the Dining Room, dress the part unless you're fine with getting 'looks'. The inn is also very old but Luray is a very old, historic town. We initially were taken aback with the musty air of the hotel but the grandeur and elegance of the history of the inn made up for it and was extremely refreshing from the cookie-cutter hotels you find online. You could almost envision the olden days of gloved ladies in long gowns strolling up and down the staircase and horse-and-wagon pulling up to the front. One of the best things about the old style rooms is that they have adjoining rooms with a sitting room in between. Don't be surprised if you do hear things go bump in the night, too. Ghosts? Spirits? Well, the next morning, our children asked why we had walked into their room during the night. They thought we were just checking on them but we had not left our room at all. The next evening, we left the adjoining room doors open but heard and saw our door knob turning back and forth. My husband got up to see if someone got the wrong room but no one was anywhere in the hallway. Did this frighten us away? Not at all. It added to the family adventure, stories, and made for a great laugh on the way home. We're going back again. Don't let the age or occassional mustiness put you off this historic inn. Understand that adds to its character and charm. The location is excellent as you're just a couple blocks away from the caverns, small petting zoo, and maze. However, would recommend you eat elsewhere. There is a lot better food in town with better quality for less price.

Room Tip: Ask for adjoining room if you have children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank givensdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

955 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    265
    79
    32
    16
See reviews for
179
570
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We spent two nights in Luray with our college aged children, and the Mimslyn was perfect. Our vegetarian daughter's needs were graciously accommodated in the Speakeasy, where we enjoyed live music and local beer.

The outdoor hottub in the brisk freezing evening will be a fond memory, and there were plenty of places to sit and talk. Our kids spent one evening on the Skyline Terrace catching up on each others' lives. It felt like a home away from home.

I recommend the Mimslyn highly and will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RC-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

What an elegant & fun place to stay in the quaint town of Luray; the people who work there are part of the formula that makes this place special. From the well appointed lobby with fireplace, grand piano, spiral stairway, and adjoining formal dining room, as well as the casual Speakeasy bar & restaurant downstairs, this is a real gem.

The rocking chairs on the portico entrance, and the 3rd floor solarium with fireplaces in both the indoor and outdoor areas are both great places to hang-out and take in the scenery.

We stay at this hotel, and their sister hotel (Barvarian Inn- Shepherdstown, WV) several times a year.

Room Tip: It;s easy......you can rview all the rooms on-line and choose which one suits your taste.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2011

We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay. We spent a night at the Mimslyn Inn a number of years ago and recently visited again. The staff couldn't have been more polite and courteous. Our room was beautiful and cozy. The dining hall was wonderfully lit and the food was delicious. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Public Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, 18 December 2011
Thank you for your complimentary review of your recent stay at the Mimslyn Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the decor and comfort of your guest room and your meals in our dining room. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with others and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! P.S. Be sure to watch our "Package and Specials" page on our website and our Facebook page for information about the wonderful special events that we have throughout the year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I can not find a thing to complain about. Everything was perfect! The food was very good. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast the next day. My group and I were here to celebrate two of our group birthdays. My room was beautiful and quiet! So roomy, I could have had a party in it. The hospitality was above reproach. I plan to recommend The Mimslyn to everyone I know!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Cod, Ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

I was so impressed with the Mimslyn Inn exterior and lobby. In November,my husband and I were sightseeing and spent some time in Luray, VA. The hotel was decorated for Thanksgiving giving it some extra color. The hotel staff was friendly and the hotel was very clean.
Our room, however, was very small. If someone sat at the desk, the other one could not walk around the room to get to the TV. The main dining room, Circa 31, was not opened for dinner the night we were there. We dined in their pub, called Speakeasy, which was adequate for dinner. Nothing spectacular or memorable in terms of the food. We did have breakfast in Circa 31 which was pretty good. They had specials for diners staying at the hotel which were a good value. This hotel was a good change from staying at a chain hotel since it offered a local feel and it is close to the Luray Caverns which is a tourist destination.

Room Tip: Check on room size. They may have larger rooms for additional fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chariftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Myself, my wife, my son, uncle and cousins dined at a restaurant in Luray - the Speakeasy in the Mimslyn Inn last night. The food... I use that term loosely... was prepared without any love... ANY love. One dish - Talapia with jasmine rice, ordered by Diane and Bob was horrible. I ordered a grilled Ribeye with mashed potatoes and asparagus. Funny thing - it was a strip steak without any seasoning, potatoes from a box and asparagus impregnated in the aforementioned potatoes. Vile. The entire meal was horrid. When we talk about preparing food with love, this was the perfect example of a loveless meal. Sad, really. The service was good, and the place was nice, but the food was prepared with any care or regard for the diners enjoyment.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KLSGIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.2 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#2 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Intown Luray
2.2 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing