We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mimslyn Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$75
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laurance(Luray)(Great Value!)
US$195
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast(Luray)(Great Value!)
US$145
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn of the Shenandoah(Luray)(Great Value!)
US$145
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
615
287
90
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
615
287
90
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspeakeasy restaurantfront porchhistoric hotelthird floorblue ridge suitepool and hot tublobby barspeak easysouthern charmcorner roommy husband and iskyline drivethe cottagessmall townshenandoah valleyrocking chairsking bed
Filter
Updating list...
805 - 810 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

We spent two nights in Luray with our college aged children, and the Mimslyn was perfect. Our vegetarian daughter's needs were graciously accommodated in the Speakeasy, where we enjoyed live music and local beer.

The outdoor hottub in the brisk freezing evening will be a fond memory, and there were plenty of places to sit and talk. Our kids spent one evening on the Skyline Terrace catching up on each others' lives. It felt like a home away from home.

I recommend the Mimslyn highly and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RC-Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 23, 2011

What an elegant & fun place to stay in the quaint town of Luray; the people who work there are part of the formula that makes this place special. From the well appointed lobby with fireplace, grand piano, spiral stairway, and adjoining formal dining room, as well as the casual Speakeasy bar & restaurant downstairs, this is a real gem.

The rocking chairs on the portico entrance, and the 3rd floor solarium with fireplaces in both the indoor and outdoor areas are both great places to hang-out and take in the scenery.

We stay at this hotel, and their sister hotel (Barvarian Inn- Shepherdstown, WV) several times a year.

Room Tip: It;s easy......you can rview all the rooms on-line and choose which one suits your taste.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 13, 2011

We couldn't have asked for a more pleasant stay. We spent a night at the Mimslyn Inn a number of years ago and recently visited again. The staff couldn't have been more polite and courteous. Our room was beautiful and cozy. The dining hall was wonderfully lit and the food was delicious. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleGuests, Public Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2011

Thank you for your complimentary review of your recent stay at the Mimslyn Inn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed the decor and comfort of your guest room and your meals in our dining room. We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with others and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon! P.S. Be sure to watch our "Package and Specials" page on our website and our Facebook page for information about the wonderful special events that we have throughout the year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I can not find a thing to complain about. Everything was perfect! The food was very good. We had lunch, dinner and breakfast the next day. My group and I were here to celebrate two of our group birthdays. My room was beautiful and quiet! So roomy, I could have had a party in it. The hospitality was above reproach. I plan to recommend The Mimslyn to everyone I know!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Harriet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 5, 2011

I was so impressed with the Mimslyn Inn exterior and lobby. In November,my husband and I were sightseeing and spent some time in Luray, VA. The hotel was decorated for Thanksgiving giving it some extra color. The hotel staff was friendly and the hotel was very clean.
Our room, however, was very small. If someone sat at the desk, the other one could not walk around the room to get to the TV. The main dining room, Circa 31, was not opened for dinner the night we were there. We dined in their pub, called Speakeasy, which was adequate for dinner. Nothing spectacular or memorable in terms of the food. We did have breakfast in Circa 31 which was pretty good. They had specials for diners staying at the hotel which were a good value. This hotel was a good change from staying at a chain hotel since it offered a local feel and it is close to the Luray Caverns which is a tourist destination.

Room Tip: Check on room size. They may have larger rooms for additional fee.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chariftravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews