We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,072)
Filter reviews
1,072 results
Traveller rating
630
297
93
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
630
297
93
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspeakeasy restaurantfront porchhistoric hotelthird floorblue ridge suitepool and hot tublobby barthe main dining roomspeak easysouthern charmmy husband and iskyline drivethe cottagesshenandoah valleyrocking chairsking bedone night stay
Filter
Updating list...
466 - 471 of 1,072 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Had a great experience at this historic inn! Not only was everything clean, staff very friendly and helpful, food delicious (full course meal at 31), it provided great views, outdoor dining, comfortable rooms, and was a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone visiting in the Luray area! It felt like we were in another era!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you as our guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2014

What an amazing hotel in Luray, VA ! You are welcomed warmly from the moment you open the door. The dining room in picturesque, and the staff are wonderful. I felt like I was stepping back in time, and in a very good way!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at The Mimslyn Inn. It is our goal to welcome each of our guests as we would a guest in our own home and your comments are the seal of approval on our efforts. Thank you for being our guest - we look forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Planned to visit Shenandoah National Park and was looking for a place to stay. I saw a deal on Groupon and purchased the vouchers. We stated two night and got the Whiskey dinner.

Room: we got a Queen historic room. For a historic hotel the size was fine and the room was nice and clean. We ha a corner room so we got two windows and while people said the walks were thin, we didn't hear our neighbors (perhaps they were just polite).

Staff: the staff was all great. Very attentive and friendly.

Food: the whiskey dinner was better than adverse but not the best meal I had. The beef was over cooked (I asked for medium and it was well done) but they happily substituted two items on the menu for me because if dietary restrictions. The bread pudding was to die for!!!! Get it and get it with ice cream.

Location: to visit Shenandoah park the location was perfect. Not far from the entrance and you get a beautiful view.

I would recommend this inn for anyone visiting the region. As long as you get a good price. The advertised hotel rate is ridiculous for what you get.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tjacks019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Thank you for giving The Mimslyn Inn a try and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We appreciate the detailed feedback that you have given us and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the Shenandoah Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Took advantage of current groupon for this place and very happy we did. The entire inn is charming including the front porch , lobby, speakeasy,etc. We were in a historic corner rm which was quiet, small but adequate. Bed was comfortable, br was tiny but modern and had good shower pressure. We would stay here again! Close to Shenandoah park & we found it was a good location to stay while in the region.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank travelqueen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for giving The Mimslyn Inn a try! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your compliments on our charming accommodations. We are pleased to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed our convenient location. Should your travels permit a return visit, we would encourage you to try one of our spacious suites for an even more luxurious experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Outstanding get-a-way for a long weekend or week in the mountains. We were pleasantly surprised by this wonderful well groomed great old style hotel. Rooms are quaint and cozy. If able to utilize the third floor with fireplace and patio to enjoy the wine we got on the wine trails....Hiking in Mountains just a few minutes away. If you are looking for the romantic tryst with loved one this is the place!
Joe K. and Christine G.

Room Tip: Third floor make sure there are no groups when your vacationing.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karnac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. It is a pleasure to hear that we exceeded your expectations with "well groomed great old style hotel." We are pleased that you enjoyed so much of what our hotel and area have to offer and we hope that your travels will permit a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews