We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great weekend stay”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Nice, picturesque inn. Stayed over a Saturday night because we were doing wine tours and the caverns in the area. Comfortable room (we had the basic one, another couple had the King size bed, and the third took a suite). Dining room was excellent but make sure you reserve in advance because they short staff if there aren't enough reservations. So while there were empty tables we couldn't be seated till 8:30 and it was hard to sit around for 2 1/2 hours waiting to eat. Didn't have the energy to leave the hotel and find something else. Plus we wanted to drink.

Room Tip: our room overlooked the front entrance so we could hear people on the huge front porch talking over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RoxyAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for choosing The Mimslyn Inn for your overnight accommodations while visiting our lovely area. Our Inn is ideally situated for those enjoying wine tours, Luray Caverns, hiking in the Shenandoah National Park and more. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were comfortable at our picturesque inn.
We are also pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience at Circa '31. Please accept our apologies that you had to wait to be seated. We do limit the number of tables assigned to each server in order to ensure that each guest gets top-notch service and attention. Thank you for pointing out that we do greatly appreciate advance reservations.
Again, thank you for trusting us for your stay. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,021)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 1,021 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Had a great experience at this historic inn! Not only was everything clean, staff very friendly and helpful, food delicious (full course meal at 31), it provided great views, outdoor dining, comfortable rooms, and was a very reasonable price. I would definitely recommend this inn to anyone visiting in the Luray area! It felt like we were in another era!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments on your recent stay. It was our pleasure to welcome you as our guest and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

What an amazing hotel in Luray, VA ! You are welcomed warmly from the moment you open the door. The dining room in picturesque, and the staff are wonderful. I felt like I was stepping back in time, and in a very good way!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carrie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of your recent stay at The Mimslyn Inn. It is our goal to welcome each of our guests as we would a guest in our own home and your comments are the seal of approval on our efforts. Thank you for being our guest - we look forward to making your next visit even more pleasant than the last.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Planned to visit Shenandoah National Park and was looking for a place to stay. I saw a deal on Groupon and purchased the vouchers. We stated two night and got the Whiskey dinner.

Room: we got a Queen historic room. For a historic hotel the size was fine and the room was nice and clean. We ha a corner room so we got two windows and while people said the walks were thin, we didn't hear our neighbors (perhaps they were just polite).

Staff: the staff was all great. Very attentive and friendly.

Food: the whiskey dinner was better than adverse but not the best meal I had. The beef was over cooked (I asked for medium and it was well done) but they happily substituted two items on the menu for me because if dietary restrictions. The bread pudding was to die for!!!! Get it and get it with ice cream.

Location: to visit Shenandoah park the location was perfect. Not far from the entrance and you get a beautiful view.

I would recommend this inn for anyone visiting the region. As long as you get a good price. The advertised hotel rate is ridiculous for what you get.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Tjacks019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for giving The Mimslyn Inn a try and thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.
We appreciate the detailed feedback that you have given us and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to the Shenandoah Valley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Took advantage of current groupon for this place and very happy we did. The entire inn is charming including the front porch , lobby, speakeasy,etc. We were in a historic corner rm which was quiet, small but adequate. Bed was comfortable, br was tiny but modern and had good shower pressure. We would stay here again! Close to Shenandoah park & we found it was a good location to stay while in the region.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank travelqueen14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for giving The Mimslyn Inn a try! It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we appreciate your compliments on our charming accommodations. We are pleased to hear that you were comfortable and enjoyed our convenient location. Should your travels permit a return visit, we would encourage you to try one of our spacious suites for an even more luxurious experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Outstanding get-a-way for a long weekend or week in the mountains. We were pleasantly surprised by this wonderful well groomed great old style hotel. Rooms are quaint and cozy. If able to utilize the third floor with fireplace and patio to enjoy the wine we got on the wine trails....Hiking in Mountains just a few minutes away. If you are looking for the romantic tryst with loved one this is the place!
Joe K. and Christine G.

Room Tip: Third floor make sure there are no groups when your vacationing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karnac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for being our guests and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. It is a pleasure to hear that we exceeded your expectations with "well groomed great old style hotel." We are pleased that you enjoyed so much of what our hotel and area have to offer and we hope that your travels will permit a longer stay next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We happened into Luray because of the caverns and asked some locals where we could stay. They said the best place is Mimslyn Inn, and that was the truth! Our room was very spacious but cozy, the jacuzzi tub was perfect for a nice vacation. We felt like royalty.

Easy to find, great location. We also had a drink in their speakeasy themed restaurant. Would definitely recommend and hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for trusting the Mimslyn Inn for your overnight accommodations while visiting Luray. Your comment that you "felt like royalty" is music to our ears. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our convenient location, fine dining, comfortable room and great amenities. We hope we have won your loyalty!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.2 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
59 reviews
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
2.2 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
141 reviews
10.9 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price Range: C$130 - C$425 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing