We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
20
13
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
13
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews primitive sites beautiful campground bath house golf carts are available camp store shenandoah river quiet hours enforce quiet hiking trails are fifth wheel this past weekend would definitely stay here again rv tent hookups playground fishing
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 37 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2016 via mobile

Great place to get away and relax! Full hook ups and mountain views in every direction. Nice walking trails on the property and along the river. Close to town for other activities. Sites seem a bit close together but okay. Also would prefer a gravel or concrete pad instead of grass along side my rig. Not a deal breaker by any means though. Will definitely be back!

Date of stay: July 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

We were at Outlanders this Memorial day weekend. Beautiful campground and great views of the surrounding mountains. We loved tubing in the river. Bath house was clean. Two nice ponds for fishing. We were in the rv section so we had a playground and volleyball court right across from us. Staff was very friendly. We will be back!

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jennifermB8851BP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

We visited this past weekend, and had a great time. The campground is beautifully maintained, and located right along the Shenandoah River. They have four different types of tent sites in addition to the RV site grouping. We stayed on a platform site, which was really lovely. The platforms are 16x16, in case you're wondering whether or not your tent will fit. The riverfront site area is really beautiful, but getting your gear down and back is strenuous, to say the least. The bathhouse was clean, and the water was hot. The camp store has a little bit of everything. This is probably the closest campground to the caverns, which is why we chose it. We always love to support non-chain campgrounds when we can, and this place did not disappoint.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank TMC556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 12, 2015

This campground is literally right on the Shenandoah River!!! If you were to stay in the primitive sites, it is RIGHT on the water. The whole grounds are huge, and great for families. They have fishing ponds, a playground, hiking, and a jogging track. The reason I Gove it four stars is because they don't enforce the quiet time. Outlanders has a "quiet time", but the people at the site next to us kept us up for many hours after the quiet time. Other than that, this campground is really nice!

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 25, 2015

Luray, Va, Outlanders River Campground. Inexpensive, no frills campground near Shenandoah National Park. Most RV sites are W,E,S sites. Not much shade in the RV area, primitive tent sites by the river are in woods. Friendly owners, but the office/store was not open much when we were there in mid-Oct. Bath house is small and could be crowded if campground is full. No privacy in the showers, no privacy to dry and dress. But the showers are nice and hot. Campground is neat and tidy, if you don't need pool, wifi or very good cell service this is a nice place to stay near Shenandoah. Town of Luray has neat places to see, wineries near by also.

Date of stay: October 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTP00383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews