We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful Weekend Getaway ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MayneView Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

What a nice place! Lovingly renovated with great attention to presenting the gracefulness of an old Victorian home with modern amenities. Clean, soothing interiors with the high ceilings and original hardwood floors. No fussiness, but plenty of traditional touches and the city and mountain views from the porches!! Really special.
Breakfast was huge and delicious and all homemade - even the whipped cream on the waffles. They provided some of the best baclava I've ever had for snacks. Just Weiss we had more than a weekend to enjoy everything.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank D_317_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 114 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

This was our second time staying at the Mayneview B&B. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised to see that some changes had been made it and it was under new ownership. Bryce and Greg did a fantastic job of tidying the place up and completing some much needed updates. The food was great, the bed was comfortable, and the view from the hot tub was incredible. We are already planning another trip this year to do some hiking. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank laurice e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayneview, Owner at MayneView Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2017

Laurice,

Thank you so much for coming back to the Mayneview! We are happy to hear you liked the updates we have made since taking ownership last year.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future on your next hiking trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017

For our family patriarch's 75 birthday, we needed a property that could accommodate
multiply families, from all over the country. We secured the entire property for our 4 night celebration. We had 2 adults and 3 children in the cottage. There are pull outs in the cottage and could have easily accommodated 2 more people. There were 12 adults in the Inn and one child.This was perfect! The loft in the Inn housed the smallest family and the cottage was perfect for the larger family. The entire Inn gave us the flexibility to share rooms as we wanted and the space to gather as an entire group. Everyone had there own private bathroom and there is a half bath downstairs for the common areas. It is a beautiful property with a hot tub at the Inn and one at the cottage. We all enjoyed the tubs immensely. We used the fire pit several times and enjoyed the beautiful views overlooking the town and the mountains. It has a gorgeous wrap around porch with plenty of seating and many of us enjoyed hours looking at the mountains. The owners, Bryce and Greg, were so helpful and gave us the best ideas for restaurants and a bakery for our delicious cakes. They arranged an awesome on site catered meal. It fed us for 2 days and would have lasted another day but we had to go home. It is a beautiful, old building that has been thoughtfully remodel to be modern and yet still charming. I could write a small book on the MayneView, as it was spectacular!! Due to the triple amenities, it was cheaper for us than doing hotel rooms individually, too, and with beauty that cannot be compared. This is more than a 5 star experience!!!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lgosselin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayneview, Manager at MayneView Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

We were honored to be part of your father's 75th birthday celebration and family reunion. Thank you so much for staying with us. We look forward to next year's get together!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Just spent a December weekend at the Mayneview cottage, a separate building from the Mayneview B&B, with my girlfriend and another couple. This cottage is under new management and recently underwent renovations. Luray Caverns is just a few minutes away and the Shenandoah Park is about 15 minutes away from the cottage. While the Skyline Drive is the main attraction, they were great views from any road in the Shenandoah Valley area. The rolling hills and spotted trees never got boring to look at. The area is great for hiking and touring some of the towns that never seem to have left the Civil War era. Add a star if you’re a history buff as the area is filled with cultural and historical tours.

The cottage is about the size of a small house with plenty of privacy and room to move about. There are two bedrooms downstairs with a bathroom and the bathroom, kitchen and living room upstairs. . It was a cold weekend but the heating system which is separate for each room worked right on queue. The views were great from any window, especially from the hot tub.. There's a propane fireplace upstairs and a hot tub just downstairs. There are plenty of games to play and DVDs to watch. Perfect setting for a family as well. The kitchen is fully stocked with utensils, plates, pots and pans and there are plenty of blankets, towels and fresh linens provided by Bryce, the owner. The place was very clean. If it wasn't, my girlfriend would've let me know.

Bryce did a terrific job of personalizing the experience for us, bending over backwards to make our stay as comfortable as possible and giving us a thorough sketch of the area atrractions. Superb find!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mitchatplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2017

If you are looking for a comfortable, pleasant B&B that not only has a hearty and tasty breakfast but superb service then Mayneview is your place! We stayed here while visiting Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive both which are very close by. The bedrooms have been redone very nicely and our view was spectacular from the Overlook room. Bryce (one of the Innkeepers) even gave me his recipe for a FABULOUSLY delicious bread pudding that he made while we were there! I'm pretty selective and can be a bit picky, so if your like me and want a comfortable, pleasant, clean, great food place to stay, than I highly recommend Mayneview B&B!

Sincerely,
Lisa and Larry :-D

Room Tip: Great View from the Overlook Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeplyr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2016

We enjoyed three nights! The hosts provided great tips from where to eat dinner to hiking trails in Shenandoah. The hot tub was awesome and a great way to relax after a long day of hiking. Our room was immaculate and nicely updated. It was really nice to have a mini-refrigerator to share with fellow guests as well as a microwave for guest use. The breakfast each day was great as well.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoopers1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely experience at the Mayneview while exploring the skyline drive area. The owners were onsite and extremely helpful and friendly. The home is clean, beautiful, and the hot tub and view are breathtaking. Breakfasts were delicious and hearty. Will be back!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.4 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,012 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
56 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
22.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.0 km away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MayneView Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MayneView Bed & Breakfast

Address: 439 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835-1818
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: $303 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — MayneView Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Views In Luray!Over the winter we have undergone a number of upgrades and renovations! We have added mini split HVAC units to all of the bedrooms and cottage, renovated several of the bathrooms, upgraded beds, replaced the linens and towels, refinished the floors, repainted, added lighting and more! We will continue to make upgrades in the near future. Come out and see what we've done. If you are looking for a relaxed, comfortable get away, that close to everything the Luray area has to offer, we are your best choice. Our family friendly B & B, originally built in 1865 is nestled between the Shenandoah National Park and the George Washington National Forest and features stunning views of the mountains and town. We provide six guest bedrooms in the B&B, all with private baths/showers. A delicious, complete breakfast is served each morning for B&B guests. We also provide a 2 bedroom cottage, breakfast not included, which features a small kitchen, space for 6 guests and a private 8 X 30 ft deck for enjoying the breathtaking mountain views. The scenery can also be appreciated from our spacious front porch, from our 4 person hot tub, and many of our guest rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and TripOnline SA so you can book your MayneView Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing