We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky Find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We were very fortunate to find the Woodruff House B&B when we were looking for accommodation without a reservation after leaving Washington DC to explore the Sky Line Drive and Blue Ridge Parkway.

The room and bed were top notch, the breakfast amazing. If you enjoy staying at B&Bs, We highly recommend the Woodruff House B7B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MississaugaOntheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2011

Our daughter went to luay this past spring and came back telling us about Luray and the bed and breakfast that they stayed in. She had such a good time, that when we decieded to take a road trip, we followed her advice. We stayed at the woodruff house b&b and I now see why she raved about it. Donna was so hospitalble and careing about us and the other guest. We showed up about the same time as the other guest and before we got to our rooms, I felt like we were one big family. All the town information was waiting on us upon arrival and we even went to dinner with the other guest, Tom and Cindy (as it felt like we had known them forever). We went to the Victorian Inn, which was recommended by Donna and it was soo good. We got to me the chef who was and pleasant has the food he served. They had a small Jazz band playing outside which was nice.
We will be back in the fall as I hear it is beautiful that time of year.
I will recommend this to everyone.

Room Tip: We were in the Johnson Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank followthyheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

My husband and I did not know where we were going when we got into the car. We just started driving and ended up in the little town of Luray. We found the Woodruff House bed and breakfast and what a find it was. The young lady, Donna, was so nice and welcomed us in her house with open arms. The house was charming and the room we had, Rooftop was amazing. she let us see the rest of the rooms before other guest arrived and they were as lovely and the ours. She had town information ready and let us know about the activities in town including the free concert down town. That was real nice and all the people in luray seem to be friendly. We asked several people where we should eat and most of them quickly told us about the Victorian Inn Restaruant. We went there for dinner and it was amazing. Hard to beleive you can find that kind of food in such a small town. Fine dinning, but casual atmospher. Our trip was AMAZING. Nice get a way from the busy life that we live. We well def be back again.

Room Tip: Bring a hair dryer as they don't have them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fun4all31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2011

The Woodruff House is beautiful place, my kids and wife had a wonderful time there. I would like to give credit to Donna, if it wasn’t for her the trip wouldn’t be as great as it was. Thanks Donna will see you soon! Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin123444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

My daughter and I were stuck in the Shenandoahs at midnight with no place to stay on Easter weekend. I found the Woodruff on line. Donna had two rooms left. She offered to discount the cheaper one to fit our budget but there was only one bed in that room. When we got there, we realized she had changed the rooms and given us the more expensive suite for the same price. It was hands down the most beautiful room I have ever slept in. It was a suite in the attic of an old Victorian home, with exposed rustic wood, slanted ceilings, and turreted rooms. The master queen bed was amazing and the second day bed was perfect for the two of us! The next morning, the breakfast was way over the top - fruit, pancakes, bacon, eggs to order, and crispy hash browns! Also very friendly company. Thank you so much!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rucks47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2011

I had an amazing time staying at the Woodruff House. It's a beautiful historic home and it is run by a wonderful couple, Jon and Donna Mitchell. The new management has taken great care to make their guests' stay a romantic visit. My room was spacious, clean, and homey. And the value for my stay was great compared to other B&Bs I looked at. Also, it's located in the beautiful town of Luray in the Shenandoah Mountains. I'm so glad I stayed there and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank happyguest96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

We stayed with a very young baby. The rooms and bath room were very clean and very cosy and typical. Donna, the lady who welcomed and served us, prepared us a wonderful breakfast. If you plan to visit the Luray Caverns, combine it with a stay in this friendly house!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joseve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.4 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
1,005 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
52 reviews
3.9 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
136 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Intown Luray
22.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 330 Mechanic St, Luray, VA 22835-1808
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Price Range: $197 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodruff House is a beautiful French Victorian Inn located in the heart of the Shenandoah Valley. We offer a quiet getaway with romantic Jacuzzi rooms, warm hospitality, bountiful homemade breakfasts, and several special packages to make your visit memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing