We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family favorite”
Review of Gallant Adventures

Gallant Adventures
Ranked #2 of 37 Tours in Sitka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Intimately observe and learn about whales, sea otters, brown bears, Stellar sea lions, puffins and bald eagles while on a personable marine wildlife boat tour with a 100 ton Master captain, Alaskan field geologist and mountain climber as your guide. There is truly no better way to experience the Real Sitka!
Reviewed September 14, 2018

Even with "less than ideal" weather during our August tour, this was the favorite shore excursion of our entire group. Paul was able to find seven different types of wildlife--not counting seagulls. ;) We were fortunate to have a grey whale swim right towards us. It was amazing! Paul was responsive and easy to communicate with both setting up reservations and the day of our tour. As my Dad said, "Take a small boat, see more!" Thanks, Paul, for taking such great care of our group! Regardless of weather, this a great tour for anyone stopping in Sitka.

Date of experience: August 2018
9  Thank Erika P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"captain paul"
in 40 reviews
"lazaria island"
in 40 reviews
"sea otters"
in 137 reviews
"wildlife tour"
in 31 reviews
"paul's tour"
in 10 reviews
"smaller boat"
in 15 reviews
"his enthusiasm"
in 12 reviews
"sitka sound"
in 32 reviews
"amazing wildlife"
in 16 reviews
"tufted puffins"
in 13 reviews
"exotic birds"
in 4 reviews
"whale watching"
in 21 reviews
"grey whales"
in 13 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 26 reviews
"great with kids"
in 4 reviews
"great personality"
in 6 reviews
"wonderful guide"
in 7 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 359 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2018

The perfect tour. Paul made our adventure the best we have ever been on. He also makes a mean very tasty smoked salmon spread for a mid trip snack.

Date of experience: August 2018
7  Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Paul made our time on the ocean in Sitka absolutely perfect! He took the time to message us two days prior (knowing we would finally have cell service in Juneau). He has set himself apart from all other operators by his love and passion for what he does and his commitment to his guests. Paul took us to places no other operators visited. We saw rare species and massive up close encounters with upwards 40 humpbacks. Could not have asked for anything more on this trip!

Date of experience: September 2018
14  Thank Melhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Marine adventure tour
that takes you close to all the sea life visible that day. When the whales eluded us, genial captain Paul gauged the sea conditions vs. the temperament of us 6 passengers and took us an hour offshore to an eroded volcanic island with great bird life. We saw flocks of puffins with orange beaks and feet and floated our way inside a cormorant cave, unusual in a bobbing boat. The island’s weathered rocks and wind-bowed dwarfed trees fading into the mists were so beautiful! Our guide also brought us close enough to kelp patches around surf-covered rocks to watch through binoculars as mother sea otters floated their babies nestled into their furry bellies. We enjoyed our knowledgeable host’s flexible approach to this tour - great fun!

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank begnrmind2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

Absolutely the best way to get up close to the whales around Sitka. Paul Davis is an awesome captain and we were spotting whales before we left the harbor. I never dreamed we would be able to be so close to the whales! The boat is small & the whales are Huge! Do Not waste your money with a bigger tour group. This boat will take you so many places the bigger boats don’t go. For me the best part was a trip out to Saint Lazaria National Wildlife Refuge. This is an island about 10 miles out from Sitka and is probably one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. It looks like something you see in the South Pacific. Gorgeous landscape that you can only view from a boat. No one is allowed onto the island. Paul is an expert boatsman and maneuvered the boat up close for a look at all the spectacular colors of the sea star and other marine life that cling to the cliffs. I will admit I did get a little sea sick (Heck I get sea sick on a swing :( ). And honestly this experience was so awesome I’d do it again!

Date of experience: August 2018
13  Thank Sweetie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Gallant Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing