We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 days of summer”

Basketball Hall of Fame
Ranked #5 of 41 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the town where basketball was invented, this 48,000-square-foot museum has three levels of exhibits on the history and heroes of the game and gives visitors a chance to participate in skill contests.
Reviewed September 3, 2018 via mobile

Went to Basketball Hall of Fame 3 years ago and heaven for teen fans of the NBA. Not much new since last visit but did catch live interview with Drew Gooden and got a signed autograph afterwards. Interview included in admission and wonderful addition. Hope this program continues.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank amyandori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (587)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"basketball fans"
in 46 reviews
"basketball court"
in 82 reviews
"third floor"
in 27 reviews
"center court"
in 20 reviews
"full size"
in 17 reviews
"interactive exhibits"
in 31 reviews
"slam dunk"
in 13 reviews
"top floor"
in 23 reviews
"my son"
in 32 reviews
"gift shop"
in 34 reviews
"cold stone creamery"
in 6 reviews
"plan b"
in 6 reviews
"three floors"
in 9 reviews
"high school"
in 11 reviews
"aaa discount"
in 8 reviews
"all ages"
in 21 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 10 reviews
Filter

19 - 23 of 587 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2018

We brought my son and his friend (both 10 years old) on a Saturday afternoon. They enjoyed every minute of it and even though I'm not a huge basketball fan, I (and they) immediately found lots of interesting stuff to look at (and that was even BEFORE we bought our tickets). We spent almost 2 hours at the Hall of Fame. After you buy your tickets, you have the option to watch a 15-minute film in the lobby (if you arrive while it's already playing, you just have to wait for the next time it plays) or you have the option of going directly into the Hall of Fame. Once you give them your ticket, they put you on an elevator to the 3rd level which has a lot of pictures and history of the game. The second level has some interactive "musts", especially for kids, including the wing-span wall, a "jump" wall and an interactive game. On the lowest level they have several basketball hoops for all to enjoy (with plenty of basketballs), including an original peach basket/basketball hoop. My son and his friend especially enjoyed the area where they could practice their slam dunks on different basketball hoop heights. The day we were there an employee was helping to make it even more fun by throwing the ball in the air for them near the hoop and encouraging all of the kids. Overall, it was a lot of fun and my son is already asking when we can go back!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank bostravel122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

The design inside and out is captivating. Wealth of information, from the origins of basketball to present day.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank NadiaB2072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 25, 2018 via mobile

Very nice and full of history and the greats that played. Very enjoyable. It is in a busy part of the city but quite easy to get to and out of the city. They do honour CAA and AAA so you can save money there.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2018 via mobile

We had our first visit with our 10 year old grandson and 8 year old granddaughter. Although their interests were different, they both had a good time. There are several interactive activities that they both enjoyed, and they could roam around independently. Staff were helpful and friendly. They both agreed that they want to go back again.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank 650cathyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Basketball Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing