We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but parking is a drag”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Springfield Marriott
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Mass, USA
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but parking is a drag”
Reviewed 22 January 2012

I stayed 2 nights in January for work commitments. I called ahead due to a very late check in time to make sure my room was reserved.

Upon arrival the staff thanked me for calling as their occupancy was 100%. The other person at check in informed me there was a youth group on my floor and if I had any problems to immediately call and it would be dealt with. It was all quiet, but the staff's attention to a potential problem was appreciated.

The room itself was comfortable. I spent little enough time sleeping in it and even less awake there, but it was nice.

The only down side is the parking situation. You have to pay to park in a garage. Mine was pre-paid so I don't know the rate, but the ramps are extremely tight and you need to swipe your room key to get in and out. That's all well and good, but if your room key is not activated for parking (like mine on the first day) and the booth is not manned, then you have to wait for help.

So overall, the convenience factor of being downtown is outweighed by the parking factor. The rooms are nice, but for less hassle there are several other places across the river in West Springfield where there is free ground level parking. The staff was very good however and deserve an attaboy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhineusFlog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    146
    73
    42
    12
See reviews for
93
58
19
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was our third pleasant stay at this hotel. Our visit lasted three nights. The maid did a great job even left us a little thank you note on our last night. Good size bathroom with great water pressure. Great AC. I have come to love the Marriott towels, sheets, and duvet cover in bright white. Not only is it always soft and cofortable it just always looks freshly bleached which I love. Obvioiusly this is not a trip ment for relaxation and pampering, however it is refreshing that this Springfield location is holding up with the standards I have come to expect from a Marriott.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhodeIslandBlinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

I stayed here during the sudden October snow-storm and this hotel (like every other hotel) was operating on a reduced staff due to power outages. The staff were super helpful, the room was perfect - fresh, clean, updated, just perfect. The building overall is dated, but they've done a great job keeping the feel of the hotel up to date. One pet-peeve of mine is when you can hear the doors from other rooms way down the hall slamming shut, and this hotel is guilty of that. Noise insulation on the room doors is not good. The front desk and porter staff were extremely helpful taking time to give detailed recommendations about restaurants along with good directions. At $199/night, plus parking, plus internet, I didn't think the value was there, but if I have to come back to Springfield, MA I would stay here again (especially if the rates were more in-line with where I thought they should be).

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corporatejetpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence Island
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel ticks all of the boxes but is just nothing special. Had to have a room with two beds and this made it very cramped. Internet and water in the room was very expensive. The maid did not do a good job and didn't fill up the coffee refils etc. Everything is there but it's just not good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brunei110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I was pleasantly surprised by the Springfield Marriott on my business stay. The hotel is in a convenient, central location- the surroundings are not that great, but you can get everywhere pretty quickly. All of the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were pretty nice for business travel (comfy beds with a little wear on the linens, that kind of thing), and I did not hear any noise during my stay. I would certainly stay here on a return trip.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brazuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Met at driveway by friendly bellmen. Treated well at front desk. They put us in a handicap accessible king room. Didn't need the accessibility, but I believe the only difference was the number of grab bars in the shower/tub.
Wonderful bed. Clean, well-decorated room. Good TV. Nice view outside the 11th-floor window.
$14.00 parking, $12.95 internet access, $4.00 bottled water. (I can get all of them for free at the Holiday Inn.)
Midnight-forty. Next door neighbors got very loud partying. Called desk and within five minutes the party was over. Back to sleep.
5:30 a.m. Red light on phone starts blinking (in the darkness you'd have thought there was a police car parked in the room with lights on) and the phone in the bathroom starts "ding-dinging"....Tried everything to get it to stop but it wouldn't. Called the front desk for help and was put on hold. When they came back I explained what the problem was and he said it meant we had a message. He said he'd check to see what the message was, and put me on hold again. He came back on the line and informed me that because we had called the desk about the noise there would be no charge for the parking. I said, "You woke me up to tell me that there would be no charge for parking?". His response was, "I'm sorry. It shouldn't have happened." Click.
You tell me. Would you spend $191 for this room?

Room Tip: Choose a room with nobody next to it and without a telephone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Spellbound56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

The staff was friendly, helpful, and patient. The rooms were the normal rooms you would find in an older Marriott-- bathrooms a little small, but everything more than adequate.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AttorneyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Springfield
0.1 km away
Sheraton Springfield at Monarch Place
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Springfield/Downtown
1.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Springfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Springfield
2.5 km away
Naomi's Inn
Naomi's Inn
#4 of 8 in Springfield
205 reviews
2.2 km away
Regency Inn and Suites West Springfield
Regency Inn and Suites West Spri...
#3 of 17 in West Springfield
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Marriott

Property: Springfield Marriott
Address: 2 Boland Way, Springfield, MA 01115
Region: United States > Massachusetts > Springfield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Springfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Springfield Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Springfield Marriott hotel, near I-91 and I-90, is ideal for family vacations, business trips, and leisure travel. This Springfield, MA hotel is located near the Basketball Hall of Fame, Six Flags New England, the Dr. Seuss Memorial, the MassMutual Center, and other attractions. As the premier downtown Springfield, MA hotel, the Springfield Marriott offers 11,000 sq ft of newly renovated meeting space that is perfect for business, weddings, and social events of any size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Springfield Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Springfield Hotel Springfield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing