We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“time to upgrade!”
Review of Comfort Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Reviewed 26 February 2012

i stayed in this hotel january of 2012 and it was very rundown. it had a terrible smell of a nursing home, the couch was worn out, the trunnk infront of the couch squeeked! the coffee pot (in the room) was never cleaned! and the carpets were run down! other than that i had a very good expierence. if you can wiggle out some good deal its worth staying! but one more thing! the breakfast attendant was terrible! i watched her YELL at a little girl because she opend the muffin container wrong and it fell. (and yes it was the vreakfast attendant not the girls mother becuase she yelled at me for putting "too much" waffle batter in.. and my waffle came out lackin'!"

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

356 - 362 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed one night at the comfort suites as a 'staycation' getaway. We booked a jacuzzi suite and we couldnt get enough! We enjoyed our selves so much. My husband and 2 yr old son and I played in the game room ( pinball of course), in the pool, walked to Marv Mugs and best of all filled up the huge jacuzzi that was practically mid room and relaxed. As we got back from dinner, we could smell freshly bakes cookies.... and there they were! In the lobby- fresh basked Otis Spunkmeier cookies for the taking! We grabbed a handful and we were in heaven! The breakfast in the morning was outstanding. It had a large selection and everything was fresh and replenished often. We couldnt have asked for a better hotel stay.

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suite has a huge jacuzzi that overlooks the living room area... it sounds wierd but it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugpug521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel and it is in desperate need of some work... The rooms are very outdated and the furniture is worn. The mattresses and box springs have major stains on it.
The fact that nothing has been done to it in at least 12 years tells me that either they intend to close it or they just dont care...
This hotel has a convenient location right off of rt 81 but I suggest you skip it for now unless you want to throw your money away...

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dj7756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

There are not many hotel choices in Scranton - there are the two downtown (Radisson and Hilton - good if you must stay downtown but not very good value), then a few located on the outskirts of town. We've tried most of them and found the Comfort Suites to be the best value for the area (there are cheaper, but the quality drops considerably).

The rooms are large, fairly well appointed and clean. It's a nice place for the money - don't expect luxury - it's basic accommodations done well. There is some road noise coming from the nearby highway, but we both slept well here.

The nearby restaurant (Muggs) is decent, but there are plenty of other choices within a short drive. Pizza is the notable cuisine of this area, for good reason.

Breakfast is the standard offering (like a Hampton) - waffles, pastries, eggs, bacon/sausage, bagels, etc. Very filling, but average quality.

We come to Scranton fairly often, and after trying most of the other hotels we feel that we've finally found our place, so would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PandC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Stayed here one night on our way back from Martinsville Speedway. What a nice hotel. Very clean, beds are very comfortable, I had points for a free night and was given a 2 room suite with a full kitchen. Our grandson was with us and he was excited about having his own room with a love seat and TV. Nice swimming pool, exercise room and hot tub. Breakfast area very clean and well stocked. Staff was great.

Room Tip: Was in a quiet area and we were on the 1st floor at the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBBJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thank you. We try hard to reunite people with their belongings that are left behind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We have stayed at the Comfort Suites several times in the past two months and numerous times over the years. We find it is frequently a good stopping point in our travels. On one of our recent stays, we inadvertently left a bag with some important documents in the room. When we discovered our mistake we called the hotel. They located it in "lost and found" and we were able to retrieve the bag, all contents intact, about a week later. We also had a check-in episode where the evening check-in attendant was masterful at handling a disgruntled customer just ahead of us. It was obvious the mistake was on the part of the customer, but she was able to appease that customer and keep the check in line moving along. Overall, we really enjoy staying here. The location is great, easy access to I-81, we enjoy the ease of being able to walk to a good restaurant next door, breakfast has improved over the past few years, and it is usually clean and rooms are spacious. We find we have to make reservations to ensure a room - it is frequently booked solid. The exercise room is adequate, and while we have not used the pool it is almost always being enjoyed by others, and appears clean and well maintained. We highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Make reservations to ensure a room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runnergal0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We won a basket at a raffle for a friend with cancer, and we won a night here and a movie at Cinemark. Even though we only live 5 miles away, sometimes it is nice to get out of the house.

We had a jacuzzi suite, we had no complaints at all. Everything was clean and everything worked well. The check in girl was very nice. If I was from out of town and needed to find a hotel, I would check this place out!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smm5628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan E, Manager at Comfort Suites, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your compliments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Scranton hotels
0.1 km away
Hampton Inn Scranton at Montage Mountain
4.1 km away
Hilton Scranton & Conference Center
3.5 km away
Four Points by Sheraton Scranton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Radisson Lackawanna Station Hotel Scranton
12.3 km away
Days Inn Scranton PA
Days Inn Scranton PA
#8 of 10 in Scranton
651 reviews
9.6 km away
Fairfield Inn Scranton
Fairfield Inn Scranton
#5 of 10 in Scranton
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites

Address: 44 Montage Mountain Rd, Scranton, PA 18507-1753
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Scranton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Scranton
Price Range: $107 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Scranton
Comfort Suites Scranton
Scranton Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing