We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than expected!”

Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site
Ranked #5 of 151 things to do in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Theodore Roosevelt was inaugurated as President of the United States in 1901 in Buffalo, NY, after the assassination of President William McKinley. Exhibits focus on the assassination and inauguration, details of Roosevelt's life and consequential issues of the day no less important to citizens more than a century later. Visitors can also tour nearby historic neighborhoods.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Level Contributor
48 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

An entire exhibit about Roosevelt and his inauguration refurbished in 2009.

Helpful?
Thank RKordziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    66
    12
    10
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome historic outing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

A very nice museum with a guided tour and self guided tour and interactive things to do as well. Drove around the block a few times looking for parking to find out there is parking behind the museum.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mhoppe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great find in a new city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Ease of getting to the location, and parking was really easy as well. Friendliness of the guide at the site. We made an impromptu visit, because we didn't know about this site. We had a limited amout of time to visit, and the guide went out of his way to give us a private tour so we could see the site completely.
It gives you goosebumps to be in the house where TR stood and took office after the horrible assassination of President McKinley. They also have a nice gift shop loaded with books and quality merchandise; some made by local artisans.
The only thing we disliked about the visit was that we didn't have enough time to really take in the atmosphere of the place, and all of the extras each room provided historically. But we feel like we were well taken care of and appreciated for visiting the site.
Cost is $10 per person.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SSWTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Interesting and Worthwhile - Even for Kids!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

The Wilcox House made for a fascinating visit. We went with a small group of Cub Scouts and if a tour can hold the interest of a bunch of eight-year old boys, it must be pretty good. The house is not large and the tour is fairly short, but well done. The presentation of TR's thoughts on some of the issues of his time was my favorite part, while my kids loved the interactive displays, including having their photo taken and put in a mock up of a newpaper front page. We all liked the toys of the day for the kids at the end of the tour, as well as the interactive computers which taught us all kinds of things about TR, the Pan-American Exposition and life in 1901. We really enjoyed it and were glad we went - we even stayed an hour longer than the other scouts!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank DayTripper1630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
86 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“History That Provides Insight into America Today”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

The Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site has constructed a living history exhibit that provides information about a particular moment in time, September 14, 1901, but more importantly shows how the same issues that faced the new President continue to face our nation today.

Roosevelt was coming to office in a time in which unregulated business practices raised issues of the role of government, the inequality between the rich and poor, the fairest ways of taxation, the use of natural resources, immigration, and race. Most of these issues demand a balancing of competing interests both then and now. The interactive exhibits on the second floor of the Wilcox House explore how Presidents McKinley and Roosevelt acted on these issues and invite visitors to examine how they would decide such issues. Some of these interactive, touch screen exhibits are in a recreation of Roosevelt's White House office. Other exhibits tells of the history of the Mansion.

The enthusiastic and well-informed docents guide visitors through an exhibit on the Pan-American Exposition at which President McKinley was fatally shot and then through the three reconstructed to 1901 first floor rooms of the Wilcox Mansion, including the library in which Roosevelt was inaugurated. Some of the objects in the rooms are original, but most of the decoration is a recreation from contemporary photographs using period items. Photos are allowed throughout the Site.

A visit to the National Historic Site will be well worthwhile for those interested in historical and political issues. Those who are more interested in the actual historical objects and the museum as a house museum, may be somewhat disappointed. The Site has been able to provide support facilities including rest rooms, an elevator, and a gift shop in an adjacent building. It has plans to recreate the surrounding estate by demolishing an adjacent modern bank.

Parking is available at the rear of the site, with access from Franklin Street which is one way south to north.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank tombantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to Theodore Roosevelt Inaugural National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing