We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$263
US$202
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$351
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Attwater(Newport)
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Marriott(Newport)
US$399
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$360
US$263
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$399
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cleveland House(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$209
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$257
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$835
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
US$750
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (631)
Filter reviews
631 results
Traveller rating
331
176
71
33
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
331
176
71
33
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstownhouse suiteexposed brickcontinental breakfastold millbagelsrooftop deckmy husband and ifeather bedfree parkingno elevatorprivate balconyafternoon tealiving roomcookiesfront desk stafffresh fruitturn down service
Filter
Updating list...
383 - 388 of 631 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Beautiful place, perfect location, very nice staff. Historic building and breakfast in the roof deck is amazing.
The room is big with separates living room and two tv. The bathroom is beautiful very tasteful.
Perfect for visit all the places in Newport without the noise of the pie.
The balconies are very nice too in a very quiet place and at the same time close to everyplace

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This was an unexpectedly beautiful hotel on the inside, and very modern. the location was perfect and central, walk every where you need to go (except the beach that you needed to drive to) the staff was lovely and accomodating. The room, the bed, the bathroom and shower were perfect. The morning breakfast layout was expansive. There was a lovely fireplace in the bedroom. It was love at first sight for me. The only negative for the inside is that the pull out sofa was very poor for comfort.
we had a second floor room with rooftop deck. Very nice. However, and this was a big problem, they have gulls nesting on the rooftop, I know they are nesting because they had a flightless chick with them. And they are somewhere right above the second floor rooms and the screaming and I do mean horrible. screaming started every morning at 5am and went on for hours. I had to get up and go out to throw things at them to try to make it stop. It was horrible. Maybe the first floor does not experience this problem. I will admit I am a light sleeper, but OMG unless you are really dead to the world you are going to be up very early in the morning. This is the one and only negative for me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorrie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I checked in mid week in June for a few days. We had read the reviews and were expecting much more than this hotel offered. I really do not have a negative but the sparse furnishings were in need of replacement and the general "feel" of the hotel was not in keeping with the Newport scene. Our sofa was truly threadbare and there was a note from management under the cushions saying not to use it as a sleep sofa they were replacing it. I'm in the furniture business and I know how long some deliveries can take, but for the prices charged (high for what it was), they should anticipate replacements and introduce them before the shabbiness is obvious. I'd guess the owners are not checking rooms on a regular basis.

The roof top was not open as the weather was not cooperative during our visit. The breakfast was good unless you wanted some protein. All cereals and fruit. A few boiled eggs would have been a nice addition. Again, no real complaint-just expected more, and we travel about 3 months a year for business and pleasure, so we've been to many independently owned hotels and B & B's and this was average. With some better furniture and a re-theme to what Newport is all about, this would become a remarkable hotel as the brick walls and location are all there.

The service was excellent and the front desk was very attentive during check in and out.

Overall, I'd probably try another hotel next time even though the location was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grampster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 9, 2012

2nd trip to the Mill St In n in Newport RI. Stayed in the townhouse and it was just beautiful with a private deck, fireplace and good sized bathrooms. It's simple, quiet, clean and the staff is very helpful. We could walk to everything and am already looking to go back next year. This is a great alternative to the larger, more recognizable chain hotels in Newport. Free breakfast on the rooftop was nice too! AND they don't charge for parking which is a bonus.

Room Tip: Al the rooms have been updated,but I prefer the townhouse with the deck.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This location worked very well for us in that we prefer not to drive much. We were within easy walking distance of the downtown nightlife and harbor. And the Cliff Walk was easily reached with a bus nearby.

Rooms are sparsely decorated with modern furniture, but they've left some of the original details of the Mill up, which is a nice touch. Our room was on the first floor and had a minimum of natural light, unfortunately. Bathroom had a nice waterfall shower and was stocked with quality products, but felt a bit small for the room and price.

Staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Parking was included. Breakfast was a simple arrangement of cold items, but they really made the most of it. Don't miss the granola or the fresh-squeezed orange juice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xeno111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews