We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, incredible food”
Review of Castle Hill Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hill Inn
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

I took my father, along with the rest of my family, here for Father's Day. The location is incredible, set right along the water and it just so happened that there was a big sailboat race going on that day. The hotel has an expansive lawn covered with white chairs that offer the perfect setting to watch the races. The food was incredible and the service was top notch. I completely recommend this hotel/restaurant for dining and would love to go back and stay there!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2012

The Inn at Castle Hill is quite possibly one of my most favorite places to get away on the east coast. There grounds are amazing, varied, quiet and peaceful. With options to book a room at the Inn, on the Harbor or a private house on the beach there is something for everyone. Tea was exquisite and the perfect way to start our retreat. The views are incredible and the staff is so friendly and accommodating it almost felt like home. Walking trails, adirondack chairs and beach access... This place is perfect. Just the right amount of adventure and class. We will definitely return this summer.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShelleenK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This is by far the most relaxing and enjoyable place we have ever stayed. I can't say enough about the Inn, the service, the food (excellent, by the way). Even the grounds in March looked amazing. We can't wait to go back. Tea-time is wonderful, the 8-course dinner is fabulous, our room was beautiful, the views are breathtaking. And the breakfast the next day was excellent - try the lobster hash, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: A must for couples in need of a night or two away, very romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Check in to a Beach Cottage or Beach House at Castle Hill and enjoy the sound of the surf right outside your door! Walk the beach, climb the rocks or take the path to the lighthouse - whatever you chose you won't be disappointed. Each morning you we be treated to a gourmet breakfast-made to your liking and each afternoon you will be pampered at the Afternoon Tea with a selection of fresh-baked treats. It is a perfect spot for relaxing and dining excellence.

Room Tip: stay at either the Beach Cottages or Beach Houses and listen to the surf all day and night - so rela...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank s l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

I havent been to the hotel for anything other than drinks but the place is fabulous! It has great views and is very romantic inside. The lawn overlooks Newport Harbor and the bridge and you can see all of the boats sail by. Its a great place to just relax. Also take a walk to the lighthouse. Its so quaint at this old inn.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Location
Thank michygal05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is wonderful, romantic, gem located just outside the busier parts of Newport. It sits along a quiet and absolutely lovely stretch of water, technically on a peninsula, I believe.

We stayed in the main house. The views were lovely, the room was a very good size with a fantastic tub. The structure has been around for a long time, so although taken care of very well, our room was not exactly sound proof. Not terribly noisy, but worth pointing out for other travelers if they need the dead quiet time. But for me, and this lovely place, a little floor squeak now and then just reminds me of all the years of rich history which resides here.

We had dinners out in town but breakfast was superb. Great attention to detail. And the views with your meals are such a fantastic touch. One morning we sat outside, in the sunshine, on the provided adirondack chairs and watch sailboats frolic by. Was priceless.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gisele M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Castle Hill Inn and it was a great experience. The hotel staff was very welcoming and the breakfast offered was delicious. We stayed in the Harbor House which was a short walk from the Mansion and the rooms were very clean and offered beautiful views of the water.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carson829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
5.7 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
4.5 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
4.3 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,097 reviews
4.6 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
704 reviews
4.2 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hill Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hill Inn

Address: 590 Ocean Ave, Newport, RI 02840-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Newport
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Romantic Hotel in Newport
#4 Family Hotel in Newport
#8 Business Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $485 - $1,212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hill Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dynamic and breathtaking, Castle Hill Inn promises an exclusive, luxury experience for each guest who visits. The property's 40 acres offer everything from panoramic water views, and rustic hiking trails to private beaches and hidden rocky coves. In summer, guests come to unwind and enjoy the Newport social scene that gathers on the Lawn, which slopes from an elegantly restored 19th-century mansion out to Narragansett Bay. During cooler months, Castle Hill becomes more of a private retreat, perfect for escapes from city life but still close to the amenities of downtown Newport. Year round, the property also boasts world-class dining that showcases the best of Rhode Island's seasonal bounty, Castle Hill's extraordinary setting only becomes more beautiful with each turn of season, and we do our best to match its brilliance with unmatched service for our guests. A Relais & Chateaux member and recipient of Forbes Travel Guide Four Star Award. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hill Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hill Hotel Newport
Castle Hill Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing