We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,222)
Filter reviews
1,222 results
Traveller rating
1,180
32
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,180
32
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite the cliff fire pit french press coffee beatrice room atlantic suite wine hour grosvenor suite my husband and i window seat other guests french pressed sun room pressed coffee beatrice turner cookies carriage house
Filter
Updating list...
1,035 - 1,040 of 1,222 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2012

Cliffside was a total delight in all respects. Of particular delight were Nancy and Bill's eagerness to be helpful and to dialogue .
And, the community of people at the breakfast table was just another pleasant addition.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ellen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

It was great having you both here and I'm so glad you enjoyed the Grosvenor Suite. We try very hard to foster conversation among guests (when they are interested in that) as we feel it is the best way for people to discover interesting things about Newport. We are thrilled you were able to do that and share with the the other guests. There are so many more things to discover here and we hope you will be back soon.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2012

My daughter was recently married at the Cliffside Inn in a small private ceremony on the lawn at the Cliffside Inn. All the wedding guests stay on the property and the entire experience was about as good as it gets. The property is lovely and our weather was perfect, but the attention paid to us by our hosts and staff truly made the marriage of my daughter more memorable by their care.
I HIGHLY recommend this property to anyone looking for a spot in Newport for a weekend or a week.

Room Tip: Just go to their site and look at each unique room. They are all beautiful and all completely different.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

It was such an honor having you all here. It was such a beautiful wedding and it was great for us to get to know all of you. We were very happy that you could spend a few extra days with us and get to know Newport. I'm glad that sailing worked out and that we were able to steer you to some other interesting spots (drinks at SP, etc.). We want to thank you also for how great you were to the staff - meeting them all and getting to know them. Michigan is pretty far away, but your friends at the Cliffside hope that you'll be back to see us soon.

All the best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Not only was the Inn absolutely beautiful and spotless, but the surroundings were also just grand. The food, of course, was delicious and plentiful. We spent two nights at the Inn, and the Innkeepers, Nancy and Bill, were two of the nicest and accommodating people we have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Hats off also to Alexa, an exceptional employee of the Inn, as well as Nicole and a fellow whose name we did not get. All of this, and the Cliff Walk only steps away! We are thankful that we had the opportunity to experience The Cliffside Inn. Thom and Rebecca, Brigantine, N.J.

Room Tip: The Victorian Room has a great bathroom and no steps to climb
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

Tommy and Rebecca,

What a fun time we had with all of you! I don't think I can say any guests have made me laugh quite so much. Maybe it is just the Jersey bonding. The postcard you sent was gorgeous (although Newport might be slightly prettier) and we really appreciate you mentioning the staff! They work very hard and appreciate the acknowledgment. The chats at the firepit are remembered fondly as well. I do hope you make it up to Newport to visit us again.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Bill and Nancy welcomed us with open arms, including our Schnoodle Charly. The inn is beautiful and situated perfectly on a quiet street just steps from the fabulous Cliff Walk. We stayed in the cottage (dog friendly) and had a very comfortable suite (slightly disappointed that it was below street level). The Cliffside Inn is the epitome of what a great B&B should be. Warm, friendly innkeepers, beautiful setting, great breakfasts (to say nothing of the wonderful treats in the afternoon/evening). We would definitely return. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hwms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

We are so glad you found us last minute for a stay. Charlie is adorable and we are thrilled you had a good stay. While the Seaview Suite may appear to be below street level, it is actually at street level (since you go up and then down stairs). It is a bit more private and many guests like that, but please consider the Cliff or Atlantic Suites for your next visit, if Charlie comes along, or one of the great rooms in the Main House on one of the upper levels.

The recent storms have made for some great surf, so I hope you've been able to take advantage of that.

All the best,
Nancy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 30, 2012

The house was lovely with lots of victorian charm. The hosts, Nancy and Bill were most friendly and welcoming. Arrived on Derby Day and Bill served us mint juleps while we watched the race. The two restaurants recommended to us were outstanding. One offered the best salmon tacos ever and the other introduced me to lobster rolls - absolutely yummy! The inn was comfortable and very relaxing. Would definitely recommend it to all my friends and family and will definitely return for another getaway.

Room Tip: top floors are quieter
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2012

What fun having a girls weekend in Newport! Glad we were able to add to the good time with some Derby Day action (sorry your horse didn't do better). There are tons of other great places to explore so we hope you'll be back in Newport soon. Maybe Dark and Stormy's for the America's Cup trial races are in order?

Hope you are well,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews