We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,231)
Filter reviews
1,231 results
Traveller rating
1,189
32
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,189
32
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite the cliff fire pit french press coffee beatrice room atlantic suite wine hour grosvenor suite window seat my husband and i other guests sun room french pressed pressed coffee beatrice turner tower room cookies
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 1,231 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2017 via mobile

A+++++ will stay again hopefully when warmer bed comfie,Jacuzzi awesome, my fav was the heated floors...place is well kept book it...can't wait to go back the garden room does have spiral stairs fyi to get to bathroom

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank cvrkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at The Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

Kathleen and Charles,

Thank you for booking the Cliffside Inn for your birthday celebration. The Garden Suite is a fantastic room and we are so happy that you enjoyed it. Unfortunately, November can be all over the map with the weather, but we are happy that you were able to enjoy the weekend, even with the chilly weather.

We look forward to a future visit.

Warm regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 13, 2017

After reading reviews here regarding Cliffside Inn and studying their website, we decided this was the place to celebrate our big birthday year. All 6 of us were thrilled with the choice. November decided to act like November this particular weekend, but no matter. The Inn was warm and cozy. A wood burning fire burned in the main living/dining room during the morning and evening gathering times, and a gas fire burned in the study.The main house is an amazing place where you step back in time, but have all the modern amenities - hot tubs in our rooms, a strong free Internet connection (even in the cottage where we stayed), and the ease of using a gas fireplace. It is a beautiful space, decorated with period furniture as well as soft, cushioned sofas. My husband and I, along with another couple of friends, stayed in two of the suites in the separate cottage. It is only a few steps to the main house, walking through the beautiful lawn and garden. The cottage is described as pet friendly. You'd NEVER know if an animal had spent 5 minutes in either room, let alone was an overnight guest. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and well appointed. I am an early riser and welcomed the Keurig in the room. My only suggestion would be to move it from the (open to the bedroom) living room, to the den. This would allow the first person up to enjoy a cup of coffee without waking the other. Perhaps installing a battery operated light inside the cabinet would also be a solution, lighting the coffee area without the need to turn on a light in the entire room. Each evening when we returned to Cliff Suite, the bed was turned down, the electric candles lit in the double-sided fireplace (living room to bedroom), and the most delicious cookies left waiting for us. Cliff Suite is the largest in the cottage and was perfect for our group. The "den" had a gas fireplace and was the perfect place to gather after dinner. The large bed was most comfortable. Food at Cliffside Inn was delicious and plentiful. A full-serve breakfast each morning featured a "special" but if that did not appeal to you, eggs any way you wished was an option. Along with the main meal, a sideboard offered fresh baked mini-muffins and scones of the day (I could have eaten them all), fresh fruit salad, granola, and yogurt. Another sideboard offered pitchers of fruit infused water, orange and grapefruit juice. French pressed coffee was brought to your table while an assortment of tea was available for you to make on your own. Don't skip the late afternoon gathering in the main house to enjoy yummy savory treats and a glass or two of wine before heading out for your evening on the town. Staff and owners were friendly, attentive, and helpful. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

Room tip: The Cliff and Atlantic Suites provide lots of space to spread out. Quiet with partial views of the water.
Date of stay: November 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alaska4Ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at The Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2017

It was so wonderful to have all of you with us for the birthday celebration. It was really lovely getting to know all of you and we are thrilled that you enjoyed the weekend here.

Thank you very much for writing such a lovely review. The Keurig issue never occurred to us, but we will definitely consider moving it to an alternate location. It is very helpful feedback indeed.

Thank you again for staying with us.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 3, 2017

We took a mini vacation this Fall to Newport and wanted to give a bed and breakfast a try. What a wonderful decision. We stayed in the Loft. The accommodations are exactly as pictured on the website. Our room was cozy and the bathroom was lovely. Our hosts were all very accommodating and extremely friendly. Breakfasts were delicious and the Happy Hour was a pleasant surprise.

I can't think of anything that we didn't like. We will definitely return.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jo Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at The Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Jo Ann and Gary,

We are so glad you decided on the Cliffside Inn for your get-away. It was great to have you here with us. We do hope that you decide to return - it seemed like you really enjoyed Newport.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We appreciate it.

Best,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 2, 2017

We chose this inn because it was close to the Cliff Walk and looked charming online.
The Cliffside Inn far exceeded our expectations. The rooms and bathrooms have been tastefully and luxuriously updated while staying true to the Victorian era. The owners and staff are always there to help with advice on dining, sights to see and spend time getting to know each guest. Breakfast is delicious with a different special each morning served either in the elegant dining room or outside on the veranda. Coming "home" to wine and a most bountiful hors doeuvres spread at 5pm was delightful. We will be staying at the Cliffside Inn each time we return to Newport. Thank you, Nancy and Bill, Elizabeth and your entire staff.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank nntktr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at The Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the inn. It was wonderful to have you with us and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time here. The wine hour is one of our favorite times of the day too. What a great way for people to share their days.

We hope you will find your way back up north again soon to visit (although now it is too chilly to eat on the porch - what a difference a week or two makes).

Warmly,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 18, 2017

After visiting relatives in Providence, RI it was time to relax. We stayed in the Garden Suite. This suite is located off the front porch and has 2 floors. The lower floor accommodates the shower, Jacuzzi and bathroom area. Also on this same floor is a private outdoor area, that has a water fall and a bistro set. The second floor (entry floor), is where the bedroom resides. The Suite was exceptionally clean and inviting. Upon arrival we were shown our room and given a walk-thru of all the equipment. Bill and Nancy were very attentive to our needs. We could tell customer satisfaction is a priority. We also enjoyed a Sunday wine tasting from 5pm to 6pm. As well as, a bountiful breakfast. Don't forget to partake in a morning stroll on the Cliff Walk, less than a 100 feet from the Cliffside Inn. We will definitely return. If you want to pamper yourself, this is the place to do it.

Room tip: Garden Suite is apart from the other rooms
Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Giaconucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffsideinn, Owner at The Cliffside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Jim and Linda,

We are so glad you chose to stay at the Cliffside Inn for your 38th wedding anniversary. We are so happy you enjoyed your time here and in the Garden Suite. We'll have to shut down the waterfall soon, but it will reopen after the winter!

We look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for writing such a lovely review.

Best regards,
Nancy and Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews