We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful B&B beautiful Newport”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Victorian Ladies Inn
Ranked #23 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Delightful B&B beautiful Newport”
Reviewed 10 August 2011

A friend and I stayed here for two nights while on a road trip to see the historic Newport mansions. It is, as the name suggests, an old Victorian house with 3 floors of rooms. There is also an adjacent carriage house that you can stay in. The inn was spotlessly clean, and had all modern conveniences. The room was generously sized, and the bed was comfortable. We did feel it got a little warm at night, even when we used the provided fan.We never addressed this with the owners as it wasn't that big a problem - they may have been able to address it if we did. The breakfast was in two parts each day- first, a generous buffet, than a hot dish -our first day, crab cakes, our second stuffed French toast. The
portions were generous and the food delicious. Tea and cookies are served in the afternoon. There is a small parking lot and parking is free. You are within walking distance of the mansions and the cliff walk but we felt we needed a car to get into town.
All in all we were very pleased with our stay at the Victorian Ladies Inn and would definitely return.


There is a small parking lot, and parking is free. You can walk to the mansions and the cliff walk but we felt we needed the car to go into town.
Our room was generously sized and very comfortable. We felt it got a little warm at night

Room Tip: Try for a room on the lower floors -those stairs are steep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    62
    13
    5
    9
See reviews for
21
178
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed in this delightful inn for two nights in June this year. Charmingly furnished in the Victorian style, the inn is well located close to amenities and attractions and is peaceful and quiet. Our room was attractively furnished and the beds were comfortable. The delicious breakfast was served in the elegant dining room and the innkeepers were hospitable and friendly. A number of restaurants were nearby and the famous Bannister's and Bowen's wharves were a comfortable walk away. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosemaryMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

From the moment that we arrived until we departed, the owners and staff were very helpful and attentive. Cyndi helped us check in and spent a lot of time going over a map of Newport and showing us where to go and made some restaurant recommendations. The location was great for what we were wanting to do which was see the mansions and enjoy walking the Cliff Walk. The Cliff Walk is a short walk from the B&B. We even walked to the Harbor area once to avoid the busy weekend parking situation. We stayed in the Sophie room and it was comfortable and clean. It had everything that we needed. We did have a problem getting a wifi connection in the room but simply walked to the main house and it worked fine there. The gardens around the house were quiet and peaceful. Both mornings we were there, we chose to eat outside and the surrounding gardens made for a very pleasant dining experience. The breakfasts were wonderful. There was nice selection of pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt, and homemade granola to start with. Once we were finished with that, they brought a hot entree. The first morning was stuffed french toast and the second was a southwestern style egg casserole. Both were excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FM_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

I stayed here in July 2011 in the Augusta room on the 3rd floor of the main house for a few nights while in town for a conference. I found the staff to be attentive, warm and focused on making the visit memorable. The place is quiet, clean and very comfortable. it is about 3 blocks from First Beach and the Cliff Walk, a longer but manageable walk into the main part of town as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

My husband I stayed in the Pauline Room and couldn't have been happier. The staff was great and very personable. We were highly impressed with the layout of the inn, the outside grounds, and the cleanliness. The in-room fridge really came in handy for late night snacks. The breakfast was fabulous - yummy spinach quiche. The afternoon tea was also a nice touch. I was able to use their wi-fi for my tablet, which was a great amenity. We will definitely be back. Oh yeah - we also fell in love with Maddie - the resident pooch.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chichimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

We travel a lot & the Victorian Ladies Inn is up there with the best,
The staff & owners are very friendly & helpful & our 2 rooms (there were 4 of us) were beautiful & decorated to the nth degree. They were also spotlessly clean.
Lovely garden where we had a delicious frittata for breakfast.
Easy access to the Cliff Walk & the "summer cottages".
All up a most enjoyable stay & we use the coffee cups each day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

The Room: Bugs, bugs, bugs everywhere - in the bed, on the walls, on the floors, on the ceiling, behind the window curtains, in the bathroom, everywhere!! Tattered windown curtains. Shredded lamp shades. Pitted lamp bases. Dark and dingy room. Dirty window sills and floors. No water. No coffee maker. No pencil or paper. No cotton balls, No shower cap, No q-tips. Commeant: most people travel with those things. Hello ??? What kind of an answer is that.

The Breakfast: Bkfst runs from 8:0 to 10:00 A.M. Husband gets there at 9:30 Sat A.M. and there isn't one muffin, no baked goods, no bread. He asks. They do have an English muffin they can fix for him ?? What's up with this?

Complained about the bugs on Sat A.M. Comment: no one else ever said anything about them. Husband and I told them they can see the dead ones all over the floor, the smudged remains on the sheets, and in the bathroom. Sun. A.M. they asked if they were still there, we said yes but not as bad as the night before.

All this for $300.00 a night (Pauline Room). I had to be out of my mind to have even thought that one of the reviews on Trip Advisor was for real! Didn't even offer to compensate us for the 100 plus bugs we had to kill the first night there. A total disgrace. Would not recommend it even to my worst enemy!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jewelnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
1.1 km away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#15 of 95 in Newport
172 reviews
0.7 km away
Adele Turner Inn
Adele Turner Inn
#30 of 95 in Newport
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#16 of 95 in Newport
334 reviews
0.9 km away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
217 reviews
0.3 km away
Belle View Inn
Belle View Inn
#53 of 95 in Newport
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victorian Ladies Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victorian Ladies Inn

Property: Victorian Ladies Inn
Address: 63 Memorial Blvd, Newport, RI 02840-3629
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Victorian Ladies Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Victorian Ladies Inn, a traditional new England Bed and Breakfast is comprised of three buildings in a small compound, cojoined by gardens with bridges and ponds. We are members of the Diamond Collection and chosen among the best inns in New England. We are within walking distance of the sea, the cliff walk, the mansions, and downtown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Victorian Ladies Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Ladies Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing