We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place! Would come back again and again!”
Review of Ivy Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ivy Lodge
Ranked #12 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

It was our second time staying at Ivy Lodge and we just love it! The hosts are very friendly,very helpful with the directions, recommendations about restaurants and things to do. The rooms are very cozy and beautifully furnished. When we stayed both times the place was beautifully decorated for Christmas. It's a wonderful place for romantic getaway as well as family vacation.
The location is very convenient also. Not too far from downtown, close to the mansions and cliff walk.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

207 - 213 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed in Library Room on ground floor. It was lovely and spacious. Breakfasts very good. All public areas were fitted out to suit the Inn. Hosts gave great restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

It was an impromptu trip. I chose something fairly quickly and was nervous since I had never visited Newport. But I was SO pleasantly surprised by the location and especially where we stayed. The bed and breakfast was absolutely exquisite. The mansion is magnificently beautiful (you are not deceived by the pictures on their website -- looks exactly like that!). We were met by Daryl, the innkeeper, who was so very kind and helpful upon our arrival (in fact, was patient on the phone when we got lost on the way there and stayed with us on the line until he located a map and told us where to go). The room was finely decorated and quite large. The bathroom was my favorite part -- the jacuzzi is just amazing! Our room, the Van Alen Suite, which is located on the 2nd floor in the front of the house, has a small veranda which overlooks the residential street the mansion sits on (a quiet, beautiful street). We took a stroll the following morning in the area, and the area is peaceful and relaxing. Their breakfast was delicious. They had huevos rancheros that morning and they were made to order. The flavor was incredible and their coffee (I'm a huge coffee drinker and only drink the best) was just as good. My overall experience was terrific. No doubt we will be staying at the Ivy Lodge again real soon. Thank you Daryl and Darlene, for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This was my wife and I's first day at a bed-and-breakfast. I had originally booked the place not knowing anything about Newport. On arrival we were given a tour by the owners of our room and the rest of the inn. We stayed in the library room, a little room tucked away under the staircase to our surprise. It was such a cozy little room with a bay window and fireplace. the bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub which was so relaxing. The breakfast each morning was phenomenal. During the weekend we discovered there is so much to do in Newport including a tour of the breakers, the cliff walk along the coast, and upon recommendation of the owners a scenic drive along the shoreline. I would highly recommend staying at the Ivy Lodge and hope we get a chance to do it again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobslow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

We stayed here for one night with another couple, and found this B & B to be very nice. Our rooms were fine, and the foyer, dining room and other public rooms were very elegant, with beautiful woodworking. It's located in a quiet, upscale residential area within walking distance to several of the Newport mansions, and only a short drive to the wharf area with its restaurants, shopping, etc. (park in the garage next to the visitor center and you get 30 minutes free if you go to the visitor center). The inn's location away from the crowded touristy areas near the town center is a real plus---gives the inn a more relaxing atmosphere than other Newport B & B's. Breakfast is served on a huge dining table, and was excellent. The proprietors were friendly and engaging. Parking is on site in a side lot, and even though the inn appeared to be full for our stay, parking was adequate. The room prices were reasonable for a luxury Newport B & B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

We stayed at the Ivy Lodge for 2 nights , November 13 and 14th on the first floor Library room. Our stay was really nice. Place is lovely and extremely clean and well taken care of. Daryl and Darlene, the innkeepers are very friendly and accomodating. Breakfasts are yummy. Restaurants suggested by the innkeepers were also wonderful. Inn is near the town and the mansions Mansion tickets can be purchased at the place for a discounted rate. All and all it was a wonderful 2 nights. Tom and Rosaleen

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Ivy Lodge is a Stanford White designed Newport home with wonderful guest rooms, fabulous breakfasts, ample parking, and, best of all, traditional B&B charm. Located in the Mansion District, and a short drive to town, this B&B is a terrific respite for a Newport Vacation.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a spa tub! Fabulous!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denpqk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,125 reviews
0.9 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
418 reviews
0.9 km away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
1.5 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#10 of 96 in Newport
361 reviews
1.2 km away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 96 in Newport
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Lodge

Address: 12 Clay St, Newport, RI 02840-6902
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $229 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ivy Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Newport's enchanted Gilded Age at historic Ivy Lodge. Located in Newport, Rhode Island's mansion district off famed Bellevue Avenue, The Ivy Lodge is just a short stroll to the mansions, downtown Newport, The Cliff Walk and the beaches. Period antiques and victorian accents throughout its rooms complete the newly-renovated home and gardens. The richly-detailed oak walls and fireplace hearths provide the quintessential Newport backdrop for a memorable experience in the City by the Sea. Explore our inn and discover Newport the way it was meant to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Ivy Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing