We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (554)
Filter reviews
554 results
Traveller rating
456
68
7
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
456
68
7
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews turret room the cliff mansion district wrap around porch my husband and i other guests breakfast was delicious gas fireplace homemade granola bed and breakfast within walking distance whirlpool tub third floor newport mansions each morning bellevue avenue gilded age
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 554 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Stayed in Library Room on ground floor. It was lovely and spacious. Breakfasts very good. All public areas were fitted out to suit the Inn. Hosts gave great restaurant suggestions.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2011

It was an impromptu trip. I chose something fairly quickly and was nervous since I had never visited Newport. But I was SO pleasantly surprised by the location and especially where we stayed. The bed and breakfast was absolutely exquisite. The mansion is magnificently beautiful (you are not deceived by the pictures on their website -- looks exactly like that!). We were met by Daryl, the innkeeper, who was so very kind and helpful upon our arrival (in fact, was patient on the phone when we got lost on the way there and stayed with us on the line until he located a map and told us where to go). The room was finely decorated and quite large. The bathroom was my favorite part -- the jacuzzi is just amazing! Our room, the Van Alen Suite, which is located on the 2nd floor in the front of the house, has a small veranda which overlooks the residential street the mansion sits on (a quiet, beautiful street). We took a stroll the following morning in the area, and the area is peaceful and relaxing. Their breakfast was delicious. They had huevos rancheros that morning and they were made to order. The flavor was incredible and their coffee (I'm a huge coffee drinker and only drink the best) was just as good. My overall experience was terrific. No doubt we will be staying at the Ivy Lodge again real soon. Thank you Daryl and Darlene, for an unforgettable experience!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This was my wife and I's first day at a bed-and-breakfast. I had originally booked the place not knowing anything about Newport. On arrival we were given a tour by the owners of our room and the rest of the inn. We stayed in the library room, a little room tucked away under the staircase to our surprise. It was such a cozy little room with a bay window and fireplace. the bathroom had a Jacuzzi tub which was so relaxing. The breakfast each morning was phenomenal. During the weekend we discovered there is so much to do in Newport including a tour of the breakers, the cliff walk along the coast, and upon recommendation of the owners a scenic drive along the shoreline. I would highly recommend staying at the Ivy Lodge and hope we get a chance to do it again.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobslow21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed here for one night with another couple, and found this B & B to be very nice. Our rooms were fine, and the foyer, dining room and other public rooms were very elegant, with beautiful woodworking. It's located in a quiet, upscale residential area within walking distance to several of the Newport mansions, and only a short drive to the wharf area with its restaurants, shopping, etc. (park in the garage next to the visitor center and you get 30 minutes free if you go to the visitor center). The inn's location away from the crowded touristy areas near the town center is a real plus---gives the inn a more relaxing atmosphere than other Newport B & B's. Breakfast is served on a huge dining table, and was excellent. The proprietors were friendly and engaging. Parking is on site in a side lot, and even though the inn appeared to be full for our stay, parking was adequate. The room prices were reasonable for a luxury Newport B & B.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lchjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed at the Ivy Lodge for 2 nights , November 13 and 14th on the first floor Library room. Our stay was really nice. Place is lovely and extremely clean and well taken care of. Daryl and Darlene, the innkeepers are very friendly and accomodating. Breakfasts are yummy. Restaurants suggested by the innkeepers were also wonderful. Inn is near the town and the mansions Mansion tickets can be purchased at the place for a discounted rate. All and all it was a wonderful 2 nights. Tom and Rosaleen

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rose c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews