We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sarah Kendall House
Ranked #8 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at the Sarah Kendall house two weekends ago from a friends recommendation. What a wonderful place, great location and host with lots of stories and personal touches that made our experience unforgetable!!!
Our breakfasts wete family style and impressive. We were able to talk to other travelers and enjoyed our interaction. Great experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PTTraveler101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2011

The Sarah Kendall House is off the beaten path of Thames Street. A five minute walk brings you to the center of Newport's harbor-front. We've stayed here three times and always enjoy going back. The owners have been in the hospitality business a long time and know everything you could want to know about Newport. If you like authentic antiques and traditional Victorian-style accommodations then you will really like the Sarah Kendall House.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkbout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

If you are looking for a place that has the feeling of home but the comforts of a vacation this is the B&B for you!!! Brian and Fran are sure to remind you if not of your grandparents then most definitively of your favorite aunt and uncle. Brian is a most gracious host concerned by whatever your needs maybe Fran is sure to find a place in your heart with her sassy personality and loved filled cooking, along with stories of the some of the most lovely artifacts the world has to offer. This well traveled couple emerse you in their story as if you yourself were accompanying them on the streets of Europe. The staff is efficient polite and welcoming. the rooms themselves range from cozy and quaint to spacious and roomy. the sun room is a great place to sit back and read a good book with a small sofa rocking and love seat you may also want to have a pleasant conversation with your traveling partner! the porch provides you an ammmmaaazing view of the bridge the boats and the water or if your like me and just like to people watch there is that option. the people in new port love to say hello! the gardens are just so beautiful you thank the gods above you are not the one maintaining them. Fran and Brian think of their guest so much that they leave cookies, nuts, bears, sodas and water out for them through out the day! New to new port dont sweat it brian can tell you anything from what there is to do through out the day ( vineyard tours the mansions cliff walk) to where to go to eat ( 22bowens black pearl or the cookhouse) he is a bundle of useful information. i could not have had a better time then the two times ive stayed at the Sarah Kendall House ( for 4th of july and labor day weekend) each time better than the last! I felt so welcomed as if i was part of the family. If you are looking for that homey feeling with the perks of not lifting a finger the Sarah Kendall House is the place for you!!!!!
***** five stars!!

Thanks so much Brian and Fran!!!
eve

Room Tip: Let brian know what kind of experience you are looking to have and he will do everything in his powe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princessbuttons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great property with view of Newport Harbor from lovely front porch. Home has historic authenticity. However, Inn bedding and pillows lack the plushness and comfortable luxury typically associated with this type of property. Mattresses were old and hard, and pillows equally flat.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaltwaterSociety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

We have precious few opportunities to do grown-up trips since we have two little ones under the age of three, so the pressure was on for this one to be fabulous. With the kids at their grandparents', we headed to Newport to take in the Folk Festival and stay overnight in a B&B. We have little experience with B&Bs, but we do know what we like! The innkeepers at the Sarah Kendall clearly know hospitality!

The location couldn't be better. The neighborhood is quiet and residential, and still close to everything we wanted to see and do. We walked 5 minutes to our water taxi to get to the concert at Fort Adams State Park, and we walked 15 minutes to a delicious dinner up Broadway later in the evening.

The property is gorgeous and well-cared for. The gardens are spectacular! If you're have the wonderful opportunity to stay here, allow for plenty of time relaxing on the front porch. The gentle sea breeze combined with the view of the Goat Island Lighthouse surrounded by sailboats is quintessential Newport. We stayed in a lovely, comfortable room. Though the sea breeze made for perfect temperatures in the room, we turned on the a/c to muffle any street noise and guarantee ourselves a rare full night's sleep. We needn't have bothered.

Breakfast at the Sarah Kendall is DELICIOUS! The homemade bagels, muffins and coffee cake was the perfect accompaniment to the excellent coffee. The hot breakfast of blueberry pancakes and bacon that Fran was cooking the morning we were there was better than anything we could have hoped to find in a Newport breakfast spot.

Forgive the rambling review...we loved our time at the Sarah Kendall and wish it could have lasted longer! Next year, we'll plan accordingly! Thank you, Babcock family!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IthacaMama369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

just what the doctor (or therapist) prdered. We needed a night away and went back to the Sarah Kendall House. Had a nice stay the last time and really enjoyed it, this was even better. Perhaps we were so deprived from alone time either way it was just what we needed, thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanandjennyban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I decided to take a last minute quick trip to Newport and stumbled across he Sarah Kendall House while looking for a place to stay. Boy were we pleased. While walking over town, we saw other highly rated bed and breakfasts, and were SO HAPPY we decided to stay at the Sarah Kendall House. Everything was absolutely perfect. The location was so perfect! Within walking distance to the downtown area, but nestled in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by other historic homes. The impecably clean house is gorgeously decorated inside and out, with a huge wrap-around porch over-looking the harbor, and beautiful gardens surrounding the house. The breakfast spread every morning was so huge, one didn't know what to eat first! Bryan was a wealth of knowledge about the area, and made himself available to answer our questions all weekend long. My husband especailly enjoyed the brandy and cookies that were left out for all of the guests to enjoy, while I particularly enjoyed the fresh apples left out. Bottom line... when we return to Newport, we will FOR SURE be staying at Sarah Kendall House again. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzanecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.7 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.3 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
686 reviews
1.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
2.1 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.0 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarah Kendall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarah Kendall House

Address: 47 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-8526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $245 - $387 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarah Kendall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast in historical neighborhood. Homes are colonial and Victorian some dating back to 1700. Very quiet area but a short walk to the center of town. On the harbor( see the Newport bridge beautifully lite at night) beautiful front porch with antique wicker furniture to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca and Hotels.com so you can book your Sarah Kendall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Kendall House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing