We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect way to experience Newport, past and...”
other travellers have booked this property
Anna Pell House, circa 1876, view from the Vanderbilt Grace Hotel across the street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Anna Pell House, circa 1876, view from the Vanderbilt Grace Hotel across the street
Large spacious Living/Dining room with sleeper sofa & fireplace Gourmet eat-in Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Anna Pell House, circa 1876, view from the Vanderbilt Grace Hotel across the street
Large spacious Living/Dining room with sleeper sofa & fireplace
Gourmet eat-in Kitchen
Master Bedroom with queen bed & ceiling fan
Living/Dining area fireplace view
Gourmet eat-in Kitchen
Second Bedroom with twin daybed & pull-out trundle bed & ceiling fan
Full Bath with washer/dryer and fully stocked linen closet
Anna Pell House, circa 1876, view from Mary Street
Award-winning Garden
Award-winning Garden
Award-winning Garden
Anna Pell House, circa 1876, view from Clarke Street
Trinity Church & Bowen's Wharf area - 2 blocks from the Anna Pell House
Fort Adams State Park during the Newport Jazz Festival - 2 blocks to water taxi from Anna Pell House
International Tennis Hall of Fame - 10 minute walk from the Anna Pell House
Jane Pickens Theater - 2 minute walk from the Anna Pell House
Washington Square & the Old Colony House - 1 block from the Anna Pell House
Newport Art Museum  - 8 minute walk from the Anna Pell House
Touro Synagogue - 2 minute walk from the Anna Pell House
Salve Regina University - 5 minute drive from the Anna Pell House
Newport Polo - 15 minute drive from the Anna Pell House
Narragansett Bay & Newport Bridge
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Newport, Rhode Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lee L
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Perfect way to experience Newport, past and present!”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Awesome location, literally 1 minute to shopping, food and the wharfs! Very clean, very private, very comfortable, with a very interesting history!. My wife and 4 kids loved it and had plenty of space. Katie and Nord are super chill and very accommodating. The main living room is HUGE and a great place to hang out with your kids/family/friends. We highly recommend staying at the Anna Pell house and we will definitely be staying there again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2016
Thanks so much for your fantastic review. We're so glad that you had a wonderful time and really appreciated all the details that make the Anna Pell House special. It was lovely meeting you and your family and we look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raleigh80
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect. Exactly What We Needed”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2015

It's been close to a year since I stayed there. But since I'm going back to Newport in two weeks I was thinking about my trip last year and how I forgot to rate it.

I go to the Newport Folk Festival every year and last year I went with my wife, two kids (3 and 5 at the time), another couple and their young son. The property was very nice and there was plenty of space. The proximity to everything (especially the water taxi for us) was super important since we had kids and everything you need to pack for them.

Katie and Nord were so accommodating . They didn't seem to mind the noise that three kids could make or us having to remove some of the decor to avoid anything being broken. They were there for anything we needed and were just a pleasure to talk to socially.

I'm going to Newport solo this year but next year when the wife and kids come with me again, I'm checking the availability of the Anna Pell House first.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for the review. We had such a nice time meeting you, your wife, children & friends. Enjoy the festival this year and we'll look forward to seeing you again at the Anna Pell House!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownsh...
2 reviews
“A beautiful, well located home with charming hosts”
Reviewed July 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This beautiful, well maintained home is located a block from the harbor. We parked our car on arrival and rarely used it again until we left. Above all, Nord and Katie could not have been more friendly or accommodating, and clearly wanted us to enjoy our stay; they even offered us an extra day for free at the end when it became available. If you are planning a visit to Newport with 3-4 friends, this is the place to stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2016
Thanks so much for your thoughtful and detailed review. We truly enjoyed meeting all of you and are looking forward to your next stay at the Anna Pell House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiLoHa
Granville, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Wonderful Stay and Hosts at Anna Pell House”
Reviewed October 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

My husband, 23 yo daughter, 19 yo son and I stayed at Anna Pell house this summer for a week. We had a wonderful stay and found the Anna Pell House to be a perfect fit for our needs. The location is ideal; just a short walk to the many shops and restaurants on Thames. The apartment is very clean, spacious and equipped with all necessities. There is a parking spot, if you bring a car, right next to your entry door. Katie and Nord were attentive, gracious and very helpful. They answered any questions we had and offered useful advice on how to enjoy the area. We took Nord's advice to visit the rooftop bar of the hotel across the street and enjoyed a drink and a wonderful view of the area. The only caution I would offer is the back staircase climb may be challenging for anyone with a disability or limited mobility. We highly recommend staying here and will look forward to a return visit when we are back in the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having hosts that live adjacent to the rental property who were attentive and helpful.
Liked least: It was a little climb up a back staircase to access our rental. However we looked at it as good exercise. It would not be a deterent for us to return.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2015
So glad that you all enjoyed your stay at the Anna Pell House and thanks so much for taking the time to write such a complete review. We really enjoyed meeting all of you and are looking forward to seeing you again the next time that you come to Newport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranH28...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Newport for work and leasure”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My business colleague and I stayed at Anna Pell House in mid September and we both felt at home straight away - the apartment was comfortable and quite and Katie and Nord (the owners) were incredible friendly and informative, providing two international travellers with lots of useful information on historical sites, local eating places, cafes etc.

As we were visiting Newport for work we also really appreciated the fast wifi and the off-street parking available at Anna Pell.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, location, location
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for your informative review highlighting the benefits for the business traveler. So glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Anna Pell House and look forward to seeing you the next time you have business in Newport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rmac4242
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptional Rental!”
Reviewed October 1, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

After scouring the internet for a place to stay in Newport for my sister's wedding, I came across this outstanding home right in the heart of Newport. Top to bottom, this was an A+ stay. The location was incredible, the house itself was magnificent, and most of all, the hosts (Katie and Nord) were phenomenal to stay with. I've stayed in several places in Newport before, and this is by far the best. I highly recommend this property and personally plan to stay there again on my next trip to Newport.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The giant open living room
Liked least: Limited parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for your fabulous comprehensive review. We really enjoyed having you and your family at the Anna Pell House and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Newport!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dottie B
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed August 26, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Our hosts were fantastic. They were very helpful and provided
a super nice place to stay.
The location is great and is within walking distance of down town and
water front Newport.

Veto & Dottie

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the comfort and locations
Liked least: parking was tight but adequate.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2015
Dottie & Veto, thanks so much for your wonderful review. We really enjoyed meeting you both and are so glad that you had such a lovely time in Newport. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you're in Newport.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing