We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time and again a wonderful experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Newport
GreenLeadersBronze level
naples, florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“2nd Time and again a wonderful experience!!”
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Checked into the hotel 9/2 and was given a wonderful room, very clean and spacious. I stayed in this hotel in 1999 with my boyfriend and we thought we would try it again after being apart for 11 years. The 6th floor observation deck is incredible, very nice view of the Harbor and the 120' Campbell soup yacht was below us at 41N. There is a full size refrigerator, stove top, microwave and coffee maker in the room. I also like the fact the bathroom sink is separated from the toliet and shower. The lounge on the lower level had great music and we liked the fact it was 4 levels from our room. The hotel is located on Thames street and walking distance to everything.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sillywilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    51
    38
    12
    7
See reviews for
32
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merrimack, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2010

The location was perfect for us with 2 teen-aged girls, walking Thames St. & shopping. The room was nice, except the pull-out sofa was extremely uncomfortable for sleeping, so we had to put the mattress on the floor every night. Noise was not an issue from the bar on the ground floor since we were on the 3rd floor. However I would request a 5th or 6th floor room so you don't wake up at 6am to the noisy trucks in the alley. You would be lucky to get a room with a view of the harbor, ours was a roof. The staff was friendly and helpful, but no cleaning was done at mid-week, like we have at our "home" resort. The "Member's lounge" is a great feature for getting out of the small room. Parking is free, but very cramped. I loved having the roof to take in the beautiful view of the harbor.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beach_bum336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tayside
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We had not booked any accommodation and turned up in Newport looking for a hotel. We found this place, the price was very competitive. The rooms were 'funny' in terms of they were like little serviced apartments. The bedroom was separate from the lounge area. The air con in the bed room was not great. The room itself was clean enough, they were serviced daily. The location was great, the car parking was free. We travelled with two teenage boys who were in the room next door and they loved it.
There are plenty of nice restaurants nearby. Overall a pleasant and enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leannie73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2010

The room was perfect. It had everything we needed. We loved the view day and night. We parked for free. We ate in the down stairs restaurant that was on the water at the marina. It had an air conditioner and you could also open the screen door for fresh air. If you went to the roof you could sit and relax and take in the view. It was near everything. We could walk to most places, except the mansions. It was a great vacation.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cjklane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburyport MA
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

Ended up in the Inn on the Harbor by accident. Meant to book one of the other Wyndham's in town, there are a few. Great location across from the Red Parrot. Free parking was good. The one bedroom suite was better than an average hotel room, but, really wish it had more amenities. No bathtub, no pool, or hot tub, no view. At least they could give a pass to pool at Wyndham owned nearby property. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Islandkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2008

Had a great week with my husband at the Newport Inn on Thames Street. We had a one bedroom apartment with a beautiful view of the harbor. The best part was the view and the closeness to restaurants and shops. America's Cup avenue was just a 20 min walk away. That's where you'll find Annie's Restaurant, good breakfast place, and a CVS, a Natural food market and a Stop and Shop grocery store.
You can also take a trolley from there to the Mansions.
The kitchen of our place was tiny, think NY studio, but having lived in small spaces, I did not have a problem with it. It had a microwave, a fridge, toaster, blender & 2 burners. Staff was very helpful and after we said we would not go to the timeshare presentation, they did NOT continue to harass us. Place was very clean. They have maid service once a week and free use of the laundromat.

Helpful?
2 Thank miatraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

We had a great time in Newport, RI. Inn on the Harbor was newly remodeled as far as the rooms. They are small and not top of the line. We were not fortunate enough for a harbor view but we did have a wonderful view of the neighboring building's roof and the parking lot. Parking was quite ridiculous in my opinion. There isn't enough parking in Newport PERIOD! Parking at the Inn on the Harbor was 2 deep. So if your car is on the outside you must leave your keys for the staff to move your car so that the person parked in can get out. You get maid service one time - it is called a mid-week clean and tidy. There was a roof top deck that was nice for watching the sunset with a great view of the bridge. Also, there is a bar/restaurant in the bottom and you have to deal with drunken people on the weekend. We encountered a young couple upon arrival that was not acting appropriately in front of our children. If you aren't that worried about the room because all you are doing is showering and sleeping, then have no worries...but if you want extra accommodations such as a pool, well, they don't have one.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — parking, view
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Familyof4-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.5 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.1 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
573 reviews
0.7 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#9 of 21 in Newport
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on the Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on the Harbor

Property: Wyndham Inn on the Harbor
Address: 359 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6643 (Formerly Fairfield Newport at Inn on the Harbor)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Newport
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on the Harbor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Wyndham Inn on the Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On The Harbor Hotel Newport
Wyndham On The Harbor
Wyndham Hotel Newport
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing