We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Weekend Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Inn Bliss Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #77 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 August 2010

Where do I start? The Architect Inn Bed and Breakfast was perfect for our girl's trip weekend getaway. We were warmly welcomed by owner Nick and staff member David whom gave us a tour of the house and helped us plan out our short visit. The bed and breakfast was clean, quiet and felt like home. We were even encouraged by the staff members to treat the living space as if it were our home.

Breakfast by Brian was not only delicious but gormet. The marscapone and strawberry stuffed french toast to the butterscotch muffins were to die for. When we thought it couldn't get any better, we learned Brian bakes fresh cookies and brownies in the late afternoon for a snack.

I honestly cannot say enough about this fine establishment. My husband and I plan on organizing a couples trip to go back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda3182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (53)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 53 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2009

My girlfriend and I wanted to book at trip to Newport for three nights and a quick internet search led us to the Inn Bliss Bed & Breakfast. Booking a reservation was very easy and the website ([--]) was easy to navigate and contained a plethora of information about activities to do in Newport.

I called the Inn Bliss first, and I was on the phone with Nick, one of the innkeepers for a good 20 minutes or so. Nick was more than happy to answer my questions about the weather, restaurants, things to do, and ghosts. Part of the reason why we wanted to stay in the Inn Bliss was because it was haunted.

We arrived in Newport after a 7-hour bus ride (we didn't have a car). The Inn Bliss was about 1 mile away from the Newport Visitor Center and the walk wasn't bad at all (up Marlborough and down Broadway).

Nick will call you the day of your arrival to confirm what time you will arrive at the inn (it's best to keep your cell phone on). We arrive at the inn, and Nick shortly arrived, greeting us and giving us a brief tour of the house. He gave us maps and was full of recommendations of restaurants and things to do in Newport. On our bed there was also a binder filled with information of the history of Newport, the inn, short bios of the innkeepers, and a long list of recommendations for restaurants and sights (it was our "Bible").

My girlfriend and I stayed in the Nellie Suite, which is actually up in the attic of the house. The room was very romantic and nicely decorated. The king-sized bed was very comfy with lots of pillows. There was a separate sitting room, which also was connected to the bathroom, which was actually split between a small room with a toilet and another room with a sink and shower. Tall people might have trouble using the bathroom because of the low ceilings, but otherwise the Nellie Suite is quaint and very comfortable. My girlfriend felt that the room was very private and enjoyed having the whole top floor to ourselves.

We were the only couple that decided to have breakfast at Inn Bliss (other guests were having breakfast at Nick and Brian's other inn, The Architect's Inn). We stayed for three nights, the first morning breakfast was French toast with whipped cream and berries. During the second morning we had delicious strawberry soufflé with banana butterscotch muffins and for the third morning we had garden omelettes with corn muffins that actually had little bits of corn in them. Everything was delicious! Since it was just my girlfriend, myself, and Nick in the dining room, it seemed very personal. Conversation was great, we got recommendations for mansions, talked and joked about everything from cardboard-cutout seals (teasing my girlfriend), Broadway shows, to leper colonies...all great fun.

Other features of the home are that there is a piano in the living room, and a great bubbly hot tub on the back porch. There is also WiFi throughout the house (however, I didn't have my computer with me to try it out). Freshly baked cookies and brownies would always be offered and left out for guests.

I can't really think of many negatives of this inn. During out stay on Sunday our bed wasn't made, but maybe it was because it was a Sunday. Unfortunately we didn't get to meet Brian during our stay (he was in Zen gardening mode).

Nick always went well above and beyond to make us feel comfortable. When he had access to the car, he even gave us a ride to Belcourt Castle since he was going out in the car anyway.

Overall, we had an amazing stay at the Inn Bliss and we really appreciate Nick and Brian for their kindness and hospitality while allowing us to stay in their home.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrJulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2008

We had planned our wedding on the beach in Newport during a 12 dat trip through New England and stayed at Inn Bliss Oct 13-15/08. It could not have been a better choice! Nick is fantastic and not only helped us with mansion tours etc, but also got us a private room just for the two of us at a great restaurant(Tucker's Bistro) for our wedding night. The meal was excellent and a group of strangers that happened to be having dinner there also saw us earlier in the day on the beach when we got married. They sent us over some champagne to help celebrate. Thank you!
Nick is a wealth of knowledge on the Newport area and was great to talk to about things to do. He's also an unbelievable chef and made us fantastic breakfasts every morning. From sitting in the hot tub on the back deck after our wedding dinner to sipping wine on the front porch in the afternoon every minute of our stay at Inn Bliss was perfect. We highly recommend this B&B. We'll be going back again for sure, maybe for our 5th anniversary.

Doug & Lise
Winnipeg Canada

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smirk69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

We picked Inn Bliis based on the reviews here on tripadvisor.com and the inn's website. It was all just as we imagined, and then some. Nick was there when we arrived and spent at least a half an hour helping us with restaurant advice, mansion selections, running loops, entertaining pieces of Newport history and general do's and no-need-to do's in Newport. He was available throughout our stay and always had time for more advice and stories. His marvelous laugh is unforgettable, We did not meet Brian, who was away at a seminar, but we did meet handyman extrordinnaire John. We found the third floor Nellie's Suite to be very spacious, comfortable and private. The breakfasts were truly great and plentiful. We also enjoyed the time spent over at their sister property, the Architect's Inn. The Inn Bliss is a little bit out of the downtown loop, but is just a 5 minute drive or 15 minute walk to Thames St., the beaches or the Cliff Walk start. Everything went very well for us, and we would certainly highly reccomend the Inn Bliss to anyone planning a trip to Newport.

Dave & Joan

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davejoan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We were lucky enough to find this place on the Internet and had excellent booking service from Nick. Not only did he book our room, he also made recommendations and reservations for dining as well.

On arrival we were shown into the Lucretia Suite, which was nice and spacious. We had a comfortable bed, large closet and good bathroom with soak tub.

Once we had checked in our host made excellent recommendations on which mansions to see in the limited time we had. And he was spot on! We really enjoyed our time in Newport and a lot of it was due to the good recommendations of our host. We also had some excellent conversations with Nick while we were there.

The B & B is located on a quiet street in a quaint house. It is well decorated with lots of character.

The food is excellent! Breakfasts were real homemade treats, elegantly presented and very tasty.

If you are looking for a romantic spot with excellent hosts, Inn Bliss is a great choice.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluegoldhighlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We met friends in Newport for our annual summer get-together and stayed at Inn Bliss for three nights. It was terrific in every way. The rooms were great and the location pretty convenient. Nick and Brian were tremendous hosts, assisting us with planning of daily events, giving us restaurant recommendations (important because of food allergy issues - read on), and filling us in on Newport history. We had the Inn to ourselves because there were two couples, and that made for a great experience. We used the kitchen and hot tub without concern about bothering other guests, camped out in the living room at night, and felt totally at home, but very pampered.

We had chosen Inn Bliss because of their advertising about accommodating food allergies. Nick and Brian's ability to do so could not have been better. We were a tough group - lots of different food issues - needing lactose-free, gluten-free, soy-free, and more. They prepared delicious food that accommodated us all. It was truly an incredible experience and we are tough to make totally happy. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Concord_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

We happened upon Inn Bliss searching through multitudes of B&Bs in the Newport area. We wanted to stay somewhere small and friendly, rather than at a large impersonal hotel.

Nick and Brian provided a great atmosphere. Nick was there to greet us and spent a good bit of time with us making us feel welcome and finding out what we wanted to do on our short stay in Newport. He helped us pick out the best mansions to visit, shared some of the local gossip, and got us dinner reservations immediately. The rooms (Lucretia and Isaac) were not huge, but were very comforable for 1 or 2 people and beautifully furnished with antiques. We happened to be there on a rather warm summer weekend, but window AC in the guest rooms kept it nice and cool - the only downside was that it stayed pretty warm in the common areas of the house.

Parking for Inn Bliss is on the street and is somewhat limited, but we still had no more than a 10 to 20 yard walk from the car to the door even when the street was pretty full. Also, be aware that there are several steps leading up to the house and to the guest rooms - if you tend to overpack like I do, this is just something you might want to consider!

Nick cooked us lovely breakfasts each morning and spent plenty of time with us to make sure we had what we needed without hovering or being too "in your face". Inn Bliss was just the right balance of comfort, hospitality and privacy. We had a great time, and we really have no complaints!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kns0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.7 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
589 reviews
1.5 km away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 96 in Newport
499 reviews
0.6 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,128 reviews
1.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Bliss Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Bliss Bed & Breakfast

Address: 10 Bliss Rd, Newport, RI 02840-1837
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: $63 - $544 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn Bliss Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn Bliss Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Bliss Bed And Breakfast
Inn Bliss Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing