We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay in Newport!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in Newport!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Beech Tree Inn was absolutely wonderful. The owners and staff were more than helpful and friendly. The rooms were very nice and clean and the bathrooms were much more updated than other inns that I have been to recently. The breakfasts were wonderful and you even had a choice of what you wanted (which is unusual for bed and breakfasts). My only issue was the location. It was a little bit further from town and I wouldn't feel comfortable walking into town. But, the price was right for Newport and I am sure a location closer to town would be much more expensive. I would definitely recommend this inn!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KarpediemTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    52
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
33
241
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed a couple of nights at the Beech Tree Inn in August, it was very pleasant because of the place (very clean and cozy), the great breakfast (French toast with cinnamon is awesome!) and the friendliness of the Inn keeper.
The Inn is located a 15/20 minutes walk from the center of Newport, so you may prefer go by car, but remember there is no free parking in Newport. Nevertheless, we enjoyed staying a bit off the center, it was very peaceful at night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandra_G73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

The owners are former military and solicit TDY/TAD business. The room was clean and very quiet. Jim understands the military starts at an early hour and makes breakfast to accommodate. It is an easy drive to the Navy base and the Inn has off-street parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kabulbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We've stayed in quite a few B&B's in Newport. While this one was clean and nice enough, there are so many in town that are sooo much nicer. IMHO, it's not on the right side of town. Although we were certainly close enough to walk to the waterfront, I didn't get the "safe" feeling in the neighborhood, so we drove everywhere. James, our host, couldn't have been nicer. Breakfast was delicious. I just didn't like the area...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moreenf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Our recent stay at the Beech Tree Inn in Newport RI was absolutely fantastic!

Jeff and Jim, members of the family who run the Inn, go out of their way to insure the Inn's atmosphere is extremely warm and comfortable. They really make you feel welcome.

Our suite was located on the second floor and included a master bath/jacuzzi, sitting room, master bedroom, and private deck. The suite was spotless and very nicely decorated. We also appreciated having HDTVs in each room and the wireless internet connectivity.

The Inn is also extremely pet friendly. They pamper your pet by providing a pet welcome kit and other amenities. We think our dog enjoyed her stay at the Beech Tree as much as we did.

The daily breakfast was outstanding and easily spoils you. We enjoyed our breakfast each morning on the outdoor patio where our dog was even able to join us.

Another advantage to staying at the Beech Tree Inn is it's location. It is within easy walking distance of the Cliff Walk, the Mansions, Broadway Ave, and Thames St.

We enjoyed our stay so much that we are already planning a return visit in the Fall.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murawcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmar, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The people and accomodations were wonderful. Have stayed at other B&B's and never had such a selection of breakfast food, all made to your specifications. All theNewport sites were wiithin a 15 minute walk. I will recommend this Inn to all my friends and will return myself in the near future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tillie047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peckville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

The owners and staff were very personable and it was obvious that they love what they do. They really made you feel welcomed in Rhode Island.

The B&B is located on a quiet street and is central to the beach/Cliff Walk and Masions and shopping on the Thames. It is probably a good 15+ minute walk to tourist destinations. The B&B provides cab numbers and such so for $5 you can ride. It seems that the taxi's get very busy around dinner time making for a 45 minute or so wait. Pack your walking shoes.

Breakfast is delicious; especially the french toast. It is served every morning. It was a great start to the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank colecole2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,922 reviews
1.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.2 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.1 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.7 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#6 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing