We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This B&B is one of New England's Finest Gems”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #41 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Bellingham, Massachusetts
1 review
“This B&B is one of New England's Finest Gems”
Reviewed 6 October 2011

I spent last week at the Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast in Newport and was so impressed with Ann and her facility. I spend a lot of time traveling in New England, spending time with innkeepers and have not met someone as dedicated to her clients as Ann. Not only is the Inn clean, warm, and friendy, but Ann does not overlook any details of her business; there is not a thing being missed. One thing that I was so impressed with was her breakfast, which also included a gluten-free menu and the ever-impressive baked items. I could tell she spent a lot of time putting love and attention into her business. If you looking for a five star B&B this is the place. Robert Nunez

Room Tip: Slater Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
33
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Extraordinary experience. Very clean and comfortable accommodations. Outstanding 3 course breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented with different, interesting china every day. Beautiful secret garden that provided bouquets throughout the inn. The highlight of all this enjoyment, though, was the delightful, knowledgeable, generous, kind, entertaining and warm friends we made in Ann and Derek, the hostess and host!

Room Tip: Bed and Breakfast Inn with 3 course gourmet breakfasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ibbi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We just had the pleasure of staying a Saturday night in the Victoria Skylar B&B and slept soundly in a very comfortable room. The B&B itself is a few minutes’ drive from the centre of town (or 9 blocks walk) and only a block from the sea. Hosts Ann and Pat will look after you extremely well including a fabulous breakfast. Highly recommended!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mic176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2010

I can't say enough about the comfort of this inn and the graciousness of its hosts. It's in a lovely old part of town, away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist traffic, but close enough to take a convenient walk to other places. We found the hosts to be very warm and accommodating, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There was enough interaction to be appreciated but not so much as to be intrusive. Over the years we've stayed in a variety of places in Newport (hotels and bed and breakfasts). This was truly one of the best stays and best values.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelwell_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawtucket
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2010

We found the Victoria Skylar B&B in a random search for a place to stay for a night after a wedding in Newport. We ended up staying for the whole weekend and having a great mini vacation. Our room was large and airy with handsome Victorian furniture . The bathroom was modern and spotlessly clean. The house was beautifully decorated with antiques and fresh flowers. Our hosts were pleasant and helpful but not hovering. Breakfast was fantastic --truly a gourmet experience with fresh baked goods; and a delicious complete breakfast.This B&B is located on a quiet , residential street in "The Point" which is the oldest section of Newport. The streets run down to the bay where there is a park and a beautiful view of the Newport bridge. Newport shopping, nightlife and beaches are minutes away. In a city where parking can be a problem , this B&B offered off street and safe, free on street parking.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawtucketBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
upstate,ny
1 review
Reviewed 11 January 2010

Great, beautifully decorated for the holidays. Breakfast to die for. Fresh baked breads. Great twist on french toast, fresh fruit and great coffee.More choices the second day. Rooms perfect, passed the white glove. Inn keepers very nice. free wifi.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheftravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dadshrabster
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2009

I was visiting Newport RI and spent the night at The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast. It's to the right just as you cross the bridge. I stayed in the 'Slater Room' and I don't believe I've ever had a more restful night sleep anywhere except at home. We walked downtown for dinner and shopping and left the next morning for a day in Boston. I think one night there is worth two nights rest anywhere else.

Thanks Joanne and Derrick!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dadshrabster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
0.7 km away
Sarah Kendall House
Sarah Kendall House
#8 of 95 in Newport
249 reviews
0.6 km away
Sanford-Covell Villa Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ocean Romance LLC
Ocean Romance LLC
#23 of 95 in Newport
67 reviews
1.6 km away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#4 of 95 in Newport
469 reviews
2.6 km away
Artful Lodger Inn
Artful Lodger Inn
#16 of 95 in Newport
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Victoria Skylar Bed and Breakfast
Address: 107 2nd St, Newport, RI 02840-1548
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant & romantic Victorian B&B located in the Historic Point District one block from harbor. Relax in one of the four beautifully decorated bedrooms all with private baths, Queen Beds with luxurious designer linens and Toiletries, fresh cut flowers, Godiva chocolates, Evian and San Pellegrino waters. Central air conditioning for your comfort, cable TV/DVD and free WI FI. Start your morning with a full gourmet breakfast served in a candlelit dining room. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing