We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newport's finest inn.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Francis Malbone House Inn
Ranked #1 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Newport's finest inn.”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

We have been staying at the Francis Malbone House for years, and have never been disappointed. The staff are professional yet warm and friendly. We are always made to feel welcome and the service is top notch. Each of the rooms are nicely decorated and most have working fireplaces. There is an afternoon tea which includes many snacks, cakes and other treats. In addition, the breakfast options are quite good. They usually offer two choices, such as eggs florentine or banana nut pancakes. Breakfast can get busy and you may find yourself having to share a table with another couple. This is a romantic inn not suitable for families with young children. If it is your fist time visiting you should note that the exterior doors will be locked. You have to ring the doorbell to gain access to the building until you get your keys. The location is ideal. For a taste of where the locals go you should visit some of the restaurants on upper Thames Street (take a left when exiting the inn) or go over to Broadway. The proprietor,Will, makes excellent suggestions for activities and dining.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityorcountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Innkeeper02840, Owner at Francis Malbone House Inn, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words. My team and I work so hard to make you want to come back time and time again-which you have!! I am so glad you had a wonderful time and look forward to seeing you next year.
Regards,

Will Dewey
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,079
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
104
769
19
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quaker Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

The room was nice and cozy, the service all around was wonderful and the breakfast was top notch!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We've been to the Malbone House 4 times and still can't wait to get back. Every room we've stayed in has been stunning and elegant while extremely comfortable. Our visits have always been in winter and we enjoy the relaxed atmosphere and love sitting in front of the cozy fire with a glass of wine. The afternoon tea and pastries are fantastic and the breakfasts are delicious!

Room Tip: The Couting House was our favorite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nomi_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quaker Hill, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed midweek during the winter off-season. It was quiet, luxurious,romantic, and restorative. Just what we needed in our first night away without the baby. They had tasty treats available for guests in the common areas, a cozy fireplace everywhere you turned, and the breakfast was delicious (wonderful omelets, and flaky, buttery croissants.)

We asked for a dinner recommendation and we weren't disappointed. Mama Luisa's was awesome (though pricey - like all restaurants in the area.)

I am already dreaming about our next visit!

Room Tip: Check the pictures online. Though they are all beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington new york
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2012

Found it to be a great place to stay,the staff was great,food,was wonderful , the room was great,had a very good time there

Room Tip: Go on line to see the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elliot S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

There are very few times in life that an experience exceeds your high expectations, and this Inn did just that. We just arrived home from spending two nights at this gracious Inn, and we are already planning a return visit! From the warm and gracious hospitality to the beautifully appointed guest rooms and public areas, no detail was overlooked. We enjoyed the delicious full breakfast by the fireplace, served by Sue, who was both warm and attentive. The afternoons spent cozy by the fire in the drawing room and the afternoon tea were just what we needed to unwind. Thank you to Will and staff for making us feel so at home. This is truly a gem no matter the season.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RF279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Amazing location,staff,rooms,food. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaimedeehayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,973 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.4 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
599 reviews
0.4 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
563 reviews
0.2 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#4 of 21 in Newport
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Malbone House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Malbone House Inn

Property: Francis Malbone House Inn
Address: 392 Thames St, Newport, RI 02840-6604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Francis Malbone House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Colonial Mansion in the heart of downtown Newport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Francis Malbone House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Francis Malbone House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing