We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Newport”
Review of Black Duck Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Black Duck Inn
Ranked #19 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nashua, NH
1 review
“Great place to stay in Newport”
Reviewed 22 October 2007

We stayed at the Black Duck Inn for part of our Newport honeymoon. We had wanted it for the entire stay but it was booked over the weekend.

We stayed in one of the jacuzzi/fireplace rooms and we really loved it.

Mary was extremely kind and made our stay thoroughly enjoyable. On our next trip down, we plan to stay with Mary again.

  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sweetie192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    39
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
9
102
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Howell, NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2007

We enjoyed our weekend at the Black Duck Inn. You cannot beat the location - less than one block away from Bannisters Wharf (a very happening area) yet very quiet. Quaint, though small room with spacious bath - perfect for a short stay. Impeccably clean. Generous Continental b'fast (assorted muffins, breads, croissants, fruit, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juices) along with one hot dish pepared each day (delicious egg souffle one day and decadent cinnamon bun/banana casserole the next). Cookies and iced tea left out for guest to enjoy during the day. Innkeeper was also very generous in allowing us to keep our car at the inn's convenient parking lot for the entire afternoon after check-out (may not be possible if fully booked, but we were among only a handful of people that weekend). Overall a very good value.

  • Liked — Fantastic location
  • Disliked — Room was small
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EBluvs2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
229 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2006

The Black Duck Inn is quite cute, although on the small side. You will feel as though you are in the midst of a family home, for better or for worse. The owner, Mary, is a lovely person, very warm and sincere as are the rest of the staff. The rooms are small, cheerful and spotless. Same with the baths. The real draw here is the location. Just a block up from Thames street, close enough to be part of all the action, but not noisy. The walls inside are a bit thin, and you will hear other guests' TVs and showers. I think we had a little friendly ghost activity with unusual clock and light activity, my husband disagrees. My only quibble is that it over looks a parking lot and the street, and there is no front porch to enjoy. Oh well, there is a park within a block with plenty of grass. Enjoy the great location, this is reasonably priced by Newport standards.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank leafpeeper98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Park, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2006

A charming bed and breakfast in Newport, centrally located, with central air. Extremely clean, great breakfast, with excellent hospitality and service. Mary is a consummate hostess, and has her recipes for her delicious breakfasts printed, ready for those requesting them! She leaves fresh baked cookies and lemonade daily, and is responsive to your every need. Decor on the "too cute" side! But it was so comfy and lovely to be there. Parking is right there, so that you can walk to all of the wharf area, and downtown Newport.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank bredflame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC/Newport ,RI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2006

Relatives of ours stayed here last summer. It was a great deal. This Inn is in a prime location in Newport. Pelham St runs between Spring and Thames St. It is walking distance to anything... Mansions, restaurants, shops, parks, etc..The rooms are nice, a few with jacuzzi and fireplace, with Laura Ashley decor. There is a sitting room and breakfast room as well as parking, TV and other usual ammenities. It is not overly fancy or romantic but definitely nicer than average. I would highly recommend it for those looking for a cenral location.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank katerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.4 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#5 of 21 in Newport
1,972 reviews
0.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
597 reviews
0.2 km away
Grace Vanderbilt
Grace Vanderbilt
#7 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#28 of 95 in Newport
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Duck Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Duck Inn

Property: Black Duck Inn
Address: 29 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3018
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Black Duck Inn is a unique and modern inn with updated amenities. This charming inn provides the luxuries of a hotel while maintaining the quaintness of a bed and breakfast. Black Duck Inn is our closest inn the Thames Street! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing