We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great staff and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

I stayed at the Viking Hotel for one night while in Newport for an event. The hotel is centraly located, I was able to walk to the restaurant that had the party. Many shops and restaurants in neighborhood. The staff was professional and friendly. It was great to drive up leave the car with the valet and they were quick to get the car for me when I checked out. he room was nicely decorated and the bed was very comfortable, the bathroom, while small (as expected in older hotels) was nicley updated and clean. If I was sharing the room, I may have upgraded the room since the bathroom could not be shared easily. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bostonguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Thank you. We hope you can stay longer when you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    971
    545
    222
    107
    42
See reviews for
390
918
45
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (456)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanson, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Stayed one night in February. On the plus side - the location is great! Within walking distance of the water and great restaurants. Front desk staff were extremely helpful on suggestions for restaurants. Parking is a problem as the hotel charges $15 whether you valet or self park in their lot. We did find plenty of spots available on the side streets. Unfortunately the hotel automatically charges you the $15 fee. I had to have it removed from my bill - good thing I checked before we left the hotel! I felt this was very deceptive. Also the rooms have coffee machines, coffee pods and snacks set up in the rooms - but they do charge for each item. The coffee pods were $3 each! I wish I had known - I would have brought my own from home! For the price I don't think we would stay here again. We had stayed in a B&B in November in Newport for the same price and they offered free parking and a great breakfast each morning. We also inquired about discount tickets to the mansions - but the Viking does not offer any. Funny..........the B&B offered us discount tickets! Also the breakfast buffet was $20 pp and there was also the option of purchasing breakfast in their restaurant.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1979Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
It is always such a disappointment to all of us at the Hotel Viking when our guests are not happy with their stay. We do agree that we have a great location and our Front Desk Associates are at the top of their game. We are extremely dismayed, however, to read about your dissatisfaction with our charges. Although these charges are in keeping with our competitors’ fees for services, we certainly do not charge automatically for parking. We are sorry you may not want to stay again at the hotel when you return to Newport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prospect, Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

We have stayed at the Viking several times in the past for post-holiday recharge getaways but we haven’t been in a couple years. When we arrived this trip we were very happy to see that all that was good and wonderful about this hotel has stayed the same; the friendliness, the excellent food, remarkable spa services, and the luxury feel without being stuffy.

Any changes we saw have been for the better. More renovated rooms and grounds, a lovely gift shop with local artisan’s wares for sale, work on the gym, spa and pool area. There have been changes to the menu as well that has kept the wonderful classics like the fresh made potato chips but focuses more now on local and regional New England seafood. By the way, we really enjoyed the drink menu with its fun cocktails, classics with a modern twist, and local beer. The old TV and worn couches and chairs in the bar area have now been replaced with large flat screens TVs and inviting tables and chairs perfect for socializing with friends or watching the big game.

The spa has also been reorganized. There is now a wonderful relaxing waiting room to sip a tea or nibble a snack before your treatment. Yay! That’s something we have been wanting since we started coming here! No more having to uncomfortably wait in the spa lobby area in a bathrobe while people come in and out or walk by on their way to banquet rooms or pool and workout area. Splendid improvement.

The only negative we experienced was with food service. This was true for the bar as well as the dining room. Maybe 65% of the time the wait staff was unfriendly and inattentive. Emptied water glasses were not refilled unless we hunted them down and asked; special requests of the kitchen like no cheese were not remembered. This was made up for the rest of the time by some individuals on the wait staff who were outstanding. (In all fairness our stay seemed to come on a very busy weekend during the off-season and possibly these may have been new employees.)

Room Tip: The rooms to the front of the hotel can be a bit noisy. You can hear the comings and going of all, t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank metalmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Your review was not only uplifting but a wonderful description of what all of us hoped to accomplish. The renovations are always a boost to the overall warmth and ambience of the hotel and we are pleased you pointed out the many improvements we made and will continue to make. When a guest shares their thoughts we take this all to heart and are able to use the constructive criticism to better serve our guests. In mentioning our One Bellevue service we have addressed and made the necessary corrections. There is no room in our mission for less than 100+ percent given by each and every associate. Again, we are most appreciative of your review and have shared this with everyone here at the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, CT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

We took advantage of their winter special and stayed overnight at the Viking during a beautiful January weekend. We were immediately welcomed by the valets and the front desk staff. The hotel is beautifully decorated and classy. Our room, although small, was extremely well-decorated and there was definitely enough room to move around. The comfy king-sized bed was luxurious. The bathroom had a pedestal sink and shelves for our cosmetics and was quite modern. We ate breakfast in the hotel restaurant where we sat near a window with the sun streaming in. Food and service were excellent. This hotel is near the downtown area and in a great area for walking. It was nice to escape the motel feel of many of the other larger places in Newport.

Room Tip: Hint: If you appreciate peace and quiet in the evening, try not to get a room facing Bellevue Avenu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phylmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Thank you for your nice descriptive review of your January special getaway weekend at the Hotel Viking. We are so delighted you enjoyed your visit and especially appreciated the room décor. With the sun shining in the windows in One Bellevue it does create a warm welcoming atmosphere and again we are pleased you enjoyed it. One thing we wish to comment on is that there is traffic that goes by the front of the hotel that faces Bellevue Avenue, so there is a bit of noise generated and this may cause some guests to not book those few rooms. We hope you can come to visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

A friend and I went for a "girls getaway". The hotel has a spa.pool.restaurant.valet parking and is a short walk to shopping and restaurants. The staff was very attentive from the moment we pulled up to the door. We were not there long enough to use the spa and do everything else we wanted to do. The hotel is old world and beautifully appointed throughout. It was busy and there were a fair number of families because of the indoor pool. The room was gorgeous and clean and the beds and linens comfortable and luxuries. If there was any downside the sink was across the hall from the toilet and shower in our room and the sink did mot drain properly. As others have noted the walls are a bit thin and you can hear. People in other rooms.I have to web at other hotels where it is much worse. We ate at the bar and the club sandwich was excellent bit skip the risotto winter veg appetizer. All in all a great stay and I will return and have already recommended.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neh57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 6 February 2012
Isn’t it great to be able to enjoy a “girls getaway”! We are always glad to provide that little extra special touch for our guests to enjoy. We are sorry though you were not able to pamper yourselves at Spa Terre’ – and hopefully on your next visit will be able to schedule this. At least you were able to go to the pool. It is unfortunate the sink didn’t drain properly. Our maintenance crew is always at the ready to resolve any of these issues that arise. Thank you for your honest and forthright review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

I am beyond impressed with the Spa Terre ! Especially Rose and Arron the 2 massage therapists my wife and I had for a bali style massage. We received this as a wedding gift from a friend and I must say they were EXCELLENT. All the services were great we enjoyed the steam room, pool, jacuzzi and sauna area after our hour long massage. I would highly recommend this spa to my RI and Mass friends and my wife and I plan to return every year. The girl at the front desk Penny was over the top nice and helped us with our lockers and provides us water and snacks . She was beyond excellent as well. Be sure to ask for ROSE and ARRON when you book a massage at this fab spa inside a beautiful historic hotel. And they are "LGBT" friendly which is #1 in our book! Thanks again- Catrina & Angela Austin :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Your review is great! We are so pleased that our Spa Terre’ therapists provided you and your wife with an excellent experience. Your friend “picked” the right wedding gift for you both. It is always appreciated by all of us at the hotel to know we are able to provide our guests with outstanding service and yet we always know we can do better. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Recently stayed here with my boyfriend. We usually stay at the Newport Marriott but we wanted to give the Viking a try. The room was quite nice as was the pool area. However we were somewhat disappointed with the bar. The atmosphere there does not seem to match
with the overall atmosphere of the rest of the Viking. There were 3 big TV's tuned to sports channels which to us seemed totally out of place. Seems like nice backgound music would be much better in that setting than sports on TV!
Overall we enjoyed our stay but feel the location and the view from the room does not come close to the Newport Marriott. Better location, nicer rooms, nicer bar area, water views at the Marriott.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailor221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Executive Administrative Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 2 February 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your visit. We are sorry you did not enjoy our bar in One Bellevue. We realize that each and every guest has their personal preferences and in this case we fell short of your expectations. At least you were able to enjoy the pool and the room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing