We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, elegant atmosphere, sadly a Masons convention was held crowded and loud!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff, elegant atmosphere, sadly a Masons convention was held crowded and loud!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012 via mobile

Anniversary long weekend getaway. Central locations to take in Newport attractions. Small room was beautifully furnished, bathroom needed updating. We had a view of the hotel air conditioning units and parking lot. Air conditioner in the room was very noisy. Bed was comfortable and the room was spotless! Because we arrived along with a convention, the public areas were crowded and the lounge/restaurant was noisy and unappealing. Staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with "happy anniversary" at check in and two cupcakes were delivered to our room. Be warned, parking costs $30 per night whether valet or self-park. I will definitely return, but would never want to be a twosome with such a huge group.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
We appreciate your comments about your anniversary weekend. There were many positives about your visit, however, it appears the noise levels were troublesome for you especially in the lounge and restaurant area. Please plan your next getaway when you are able to enjoy each other as well as all the Hotel Viking does have to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    510
    209
    99
    38
See reviews for
365
848
41
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our recent stay at the Viking. Several years ago, it was in need of major repairs, but it was wonderful to see this grand place be lovingly restored. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The only comment to be made, is when you are booking a room, be sure, be very sure, that you ask for a decent size bathroom. Our room was lovely and overlooked the courtyard. The bathroom was split, with one very small area for the toilet and the tub. On the other side, across from this area, was the sink and the only closet in the room. To complicate matters, there was no door for privacy. Very strange arrangement, and not at all comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank repeiii72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Since 2006 the Hotel Viking has undergone some wonderful major facelifts and renovations. The capital improvements were extensive and covered a great deal of the upkeep needs. Being a historic boutique hotel our designers worked very hard to make use of all the space available keeping the charming feel of the original hotel’s legendary history. Our associates are always at the ready to respond to each and every guest needs. We do appreciate your comments and helpful hints to other travelers. And, we certainly hope you plan to come again to visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Ct.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I were at The Viking for our Service Organizations District Conference. It's a beautiful Hotel and the staff really was exceptional considering the numbers of us they had to deal with. Our room was very nice with two queen size beds and all the amenities BUT if a nice roomy bathroom is important to you, well you're going to be disappointed. I understand they have to do the best they can with what they have to work with but this was strange. The shower and "john" in one small room and to wash your hands you had to leave that room and take two steps across the entryway to enter the small room with the sink and only closet. I got up before my wife to get first crack at the sink and noticed there was no door to close so I when the light when on, she was up too. If I'm "scrubbing a tooth" I'd have to move out of the room so she could access the clothes in the closet. Overall, we had a great experience but as I said, this was the most bizarre bath, sink, closet arrangement we have seen in all of our travels.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank REPE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 2 May 2012
Thank you for your compliments about your recent visit with your group. We also are pleased you liked your room and the amenities. Your disappointment with our bathrooms is upsetting because our designers had to make the best use of the space they had to work with. Anyway we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hudson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family stayed for two nights and we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel staff was friendly and helped us plan our time while in Newport. The room we stayed in was very spacious with a lovely bathroom and oversized tub. The bed was very comfortable and the room was decorated nicely.

We ate at the hotel a couple times and recieved 'ok' service. It wasn't busy so this surprised us a bit.

We would return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 30 April 2012
It is really nice when a family can enjoy time away from home together. We are so pleased you chose the Hotel Viking for your two night stay and that everything was to your liking. The only drawback was the okay food service. We are appreciative of your comments and have looked into the details as to what happened. We do look forward to your next family getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape May, NJ
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

Arrived mid afternoon to a great room, friendly staff and good food. Our room was in the older section-we asked for a quiet spot away from elevators and noise. Very nice! Staff was extremely friendly. Good value on room price but parking fees were outrageous. Easy to walk to town. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: ASk for a room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPEMAY737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec, Admin Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We are pleased we were able to give you a quiet room per your request. Walking around Newport is fairly accessible from our location so we are happy you were able to do so. Our parking fee is within the range of competitive hotels in the area. Valet or self- parking does provide a safe and secure place for your vehicle. We do look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Viking with my husband over a holiday weekend, for 2 nights. We had such a wonderful getaway from Boston. It was everything we wanted - a luxurious, beautifully decorated hotel to relax in, great food very friendly and prompt service all while we enjoyed Newport in the sunshine. Great location too - near the historic and not to be missed Bellevue Mansions and Cliff Walk. Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. If I had one small complaint it would be some footfall noise from the room above ours. Didn't bother us too much but was surprised at how sound really traveled from people walking upstairs. Had a great weekend here and would go back. Next time I might request a room on the top floor, if possible.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
: We absolutely love and appreciate your review. It is over and above what we always hope to achieve for our guests and that fact that you and your husband found it to be idyllic is even better. Thank you and we hope you take another getaway weekend vacation soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

My boyfriend and I wanted a quick weekend away in Newport. All the hotels in the area were either booked or extremely pricey for the weekend. I saw mixed reviews on this hotel and decided to give it a try. We were not impressed. Upon arrival there wasn't any around to assist us with our bags. We had to pull our luggage up the steps in order to check in. We were also not offered assistance with our bags to our room, which was on the complete opposite side of the hotel (and down some steps). Once getting to the hallway where the rooms were located there was a bad smell. It smelled like a mix of urine and old must. Luckily our room didn't smell as bad, but it certainly did not smell good. The room itself was nice. It had been updated so that was a plus. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean... It was just the smell that wasn't so great.

We did order room service one night from the hotel restaurant and it was delicious! Definitely give that restaurant a try.

Before we checked out, we called ahead to have our car pulled around by the valet. It was waiting in the front of the hotel for us. Upon checkout once again, we were not offered any help with our luggage.

Overall, this was not the hotel experience we were looking for. We will definitely go back to Newport, but we would never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank technogal22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Assrt at Hotel Viking, responded to this review, 19 April 2012
We are so sorry that your weekend in Newport and at the Hotel Viking was not great! We do apologize that you were not given the first class treatment that we wish to give to all of our guests. In a historic 80+ year old hotel, it is always a huge task to maintain the property at its best level. Unfortunately, there was an issue with plumbing, which has since been fixed, during your stay and the hallway was definitely affected by this odor. Anyway, we are truly sorry you will not return and stay at the Hotel Viking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Newport
Hyatt Regency Newport
#10 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
1.0 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#9 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Property: Hotel Viking
Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Newport
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#4 Spa Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing