We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel”
Review of Hotel Viking

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Viking
Ranked #6 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 26 April 2012

What a lovely hotel! The Viking is a historic hotel so yes, it's old, but really charming in my opinion. The room we stayed in was not huge, but very comfortable nonetheless. The bathroom is a bit quirky, but because it's an older hotel, they really did make good use of room space. They could improve on the lighting, though. Just a tad too subdued. We enjoyed the restaurant/bar area. The service wasn't great, but the food/drinks were. The hotel has a lot to offer. The location is great- within walking distance to the downtown/waterfront area. We utilized the hotel's car service to a restaurant one evening...very convenient. My kids used the gym and said it was more than adequate. All in all, we had a great stay and wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
PS- our hallway did have an odor, but having stayed in older inns before, we chalked it off to age.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2012

We loved your description of the Hotel Viking. You made it come to life with your comments. It is one of the historic hotels here in Newport and is has the quirky qualities of a boutique type of hotel. Your comments also help us to evaluate our strengths and weaknesses and we do address each and every one to improve and correct whatever needs to be done. Thank you and we appreciate your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,833 - 1,839 of 2,102 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2012

Anniversary long weekend getaway. Central locations to take in Newport attractions. Small room was beautifully furnished, bathroom needed updating. We had a view of the hotel air conditioning units and parking lot. Air conditioner in the room was very noisy. Bed was comfortable and the room was spotless! Because we arrived along with a convention, the public areas were crowded and the lounge/restaurant was noisy and unappealing. Staff was efficient, friendly and helpful. We were welcomed with "happy anniversary" at check in and two cupcakes were delivered to our room. Be warned, parking costs $30 per night whether valet or self-park. I will definitely return, but would never want to be a twosome with such a huge group.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

We appreciate your comments about your anniversary weekend. There were many positives about your visit, however, it appears the noise levels were troublesome for you especially in the lounge and restaurant area. Please plan your next getaway when you are able to enjoy each other as well as all the Hotel Viking does have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were pleasantly surprised with our recent stay at the Viking. Several years ago, it was in need of major repairs, but it was wonderful to see this grand place be lovingly restored. The staff was wonderful and very helpful. The only comment to be made, is when you are booking a room, be sure, be very sure, that you ask for a decent size bathroom. Our room was lovely and overlooked the courtyard. The bathroom was split, with one very small area for the toilet and the tub. On the other side, across from this area, was the sink and the only closet in the room. To complicate matters, there was no door for privacy. Very strange arrangement, and not at all comfortable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank repeiii72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin. Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Since 2006 the Hotel Viking has undergone some wonderful major facelifts and renovations. The capital improvements were extensive and covered a great deal of the upkeep needs. Being a historic boutique hotel our designers worked very hard to make use of all the space available keeping the charming feel of the original hotel’s legendary history. Our associates are always at the ready to respond to each and every guest needs. We do appreciate your comments and helpful hints to other travelers. And, we certainly hope you plan to come again to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I were at The Viking for our Service Organizations District Conference. It's a beautiful Hotel and the staff really was exceptional considering the numbers of us they had to deal with. Our room was very nice with two queen size beds and all the amenities BUT if a nice roomy bathroom is important to you, well you're going to be disappointed. I understand they have to do the best they can with what they have to work with but this was strange. The shower and "john" in one small room and to wash your hands you had to leave that room and take two steps across the entryway to enter the small room with the sink and only closet. I got up before my wife to get first crack at the sink and noticed there was no door to close so I when the light when on, she was up too. If I'm "scrubbing a tooth" I'd have to move out of the room so she could access the clothes in the closet. Overall, we had a great experience but as I said, this was the most bizarre bath, sink, closet arrangement we have seen in all of our travels.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REPE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec. Admin Asst. at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2012

Thank you for your compliments about your recent visit with your group. We also are pleased you liked your room and the amenities. Your disappointment with our bathrooms is upsetting because our designers had to make the best use of the space they had to work with. Anyway we are glad you enjoyed your overall stay,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Our family stayed for two nights and we enjoyed our stay very much. The hotel staff was friendly and helped us plan our time while in Newport. The room we stayed in was very spacious with a lovely bathroom and oversized tub. The bed was very comfortable and the room was decorated nicely.

We ate at the hotel a couple times and recieved 'ok' service. It wasn't busy so this surprised us a bit.

We would return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2012

It is really nice when a family can enjoy time away from home together. We are so pleased you chose the Hotel Viking for your two night stay and that everything was to your liking. The only drawback was the okay food service. We are appreciative of your comments and have looked into the details as to what happened. We do look forward to your next family getaway.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

Arrived mid afternoon to a great room, friendly staff and good food. Our room was in the older section-we asked for a quiet spot away from elevators and noise. Very nice! Staff was extremely friendly. Good value on room price but parking fees were outrageous. Easy to walk to town. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: ASk for a room away from elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAPEMAY737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec, Admin Assistant at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

We are pleased we were able to give you a quiet room per your request. Walking around Newport is fairly accessible from our location so we are happy you were able to do so. Our parking fee is within the range of competitive hotels in the area. Valet or self- parking does provide a safe and secure place for your vehicle. We do look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Viking with my husband over a holiday weekend, for 2 nights. We had such a wonderful getaway from Boston. It was everything we wanted - a luxurious, beautifully decorated hotel to relax in, great food very friendly and prompt service all while we enjoyed Newport in the sunshine. Great location too - near the historic and not to be missed Bellevue Mansions and Cliff Walk. Would highly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. If I had one small complaint it would be some footfall noise from the room above ours. Didn't bother us too much but was surprised at how sound really traveled from people walking upstairs. Had a great weekend here and would go back. Next time I might request a room on the top floor, if possible.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GotTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mmalloy, Exec Admin Asst at Hotel Viking, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

: We absolutely love and appreciate your review. It is over and above what we always hope to achieve for our guests and that fact that you and your husband found it to be idyllic is even better. Thank you and we hope you take another getaway weekend vacation soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.6 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.7 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
705 reviews
1.5 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
614 reviews
0.3 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
415 reviews
0.2 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Viking? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Viking

Address: 1 Bellevue Ave., Newport, RI 02840-3205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Newport
#3 Spa Hotel in Newport
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newport
#5 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Family Hotel in Newport
#6 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price Range: $158 - $552 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Viking 4*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining our iconic Newport landmark with local focused events and exceptional service, a new era of hospitality awaits you at the Hotel Viking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Viking reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viking Hotel Newport Ri
Hotel Viking Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing