We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“True Hawaiian Experience, loved it!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Ranked #16 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Buckley, Flintshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“True Hawaiian Experience, loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

We were travelling along way from the UK so getting the right hotel was key for us and we were so glad we stayed at The Royal Hawaiian. Our 3 night stay was amazing!! All the staff are so attentive and friendly. Upon check in we were given a lovely upgrade with a bottle of Champagne and our room offered amazing views of Waikiki Beach. We were based in the original historical wing and the room was really well themed and complemented the historical nature of the hotel. The hotel pool is small; however, with Waikiki beach on your doorstep this really didn't bother us. The concierge was very helpful and offered us some great advice on points of interest around the island, which made driving around so much easier and pleasurable. As the sun sets and the fire torches light up the grounds and the atmosphere are just great; we really can’t say enough about The Royal Hawaiian except it really did create a very memorable part to our Honeymoon!! Thanks to all the staff ;o)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMillington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 6 April 2012
Mahalo for joining us all the way from England and congratulations on your recent wedding. We are so delighted that you had such a wonderful time, found our staff to be so helpful, our concierge services so beneficial, and our honeymoon amenities to be so special. Thank you also for sharing that our historic guestrooms are so charming and that the atmosphere of our resort is so memorable. We are so pleased that you had such a lovely time and we hope to welcome you back for your first Anniversary. Best Regards and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,796
    768
    339
    158
    108
See reviews for
943
1,463
116
155
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (765)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed for one night at the Royal Hawaiian, our first night on Oahu. The room was beautiful and had a great view (picture below). The Mai Tai bar was a great place to hang out with nice rice cracker snacks and good drinks and another beautiful view, especially at sunset.

I can offer a couple of words of experience for those of you visiting for the first time. First, after a frustrating crawl through Friday afternoon traffic and getting lost on the way from the airport, I wandered all over the first floor looking and looking for the front desk. My husband was parking the car - we wanted to get checked in quickly to enjoy the rest of the day after losing time getting there. I could not find the front desk. Finally a concierge became free and I asked and she pointed vaguely across the room. I headed in that direction and walked all the way down the hallway and still didn't find the desk. I came back to check again and asked someone sitting at a large desk (such as you'd see in a bank). She said - you are here, this is where you check in! There were no signs or anything. Anyhow, they gave me a very good tea drink and a gorgeous purple lai and by the time my hubby had parked, I had the room keys.

The resort fee includes parking and for that reason alone I felt $20 was a decent deal. But when we were leaving we found that hubby had parked in the "Guest Parking" which he surmised was for hotel guests. No, this parking is for guests of hotel guests and the machine at the exit will not negotiate! We had to pay another $50 for parking because of this. Please don't make the same mistake!

The room was very well appointed and I love the ornately carved doors. The bathroom and all fixtures were new and well maintained and clean. And the windows open which allows breeze into the room - very well done!

Also, we ran/walked from the hotel and around the Diamond Head loop, and then did the hike to the top. What a great feature to explore at this destination. Routes attached below.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeekSiliconValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are so thrilled that you had such a lovely stay and also thank you for sharing that fantastic photograph. We have passed along your compliments about the Mai Tai Bar snacks to our Chef, who is delighted - mahalo.
We have also brought up your concerns regarding clearer parking and lobby signage and instructions and we first would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced and want to let you know that we greatly value your feedback and will be looking into this further.
We are glad to hear that as soon as your check-in experience began, everything turned out wonderfully and we are so happy to hear that you found our historic guestrooms to be so charming and well-maintained.
We so hope that next time you are able to stay a few more days with us. Until then, thanks again and best regards, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

We stayed here 5 nights after spending 3 nights at the FS Hualalai.Both have pluses and minuses. FS gives you a map because it is a resort, not a hotel. There is no ocean swimming. A Ketel One Martini is $21. You dodge golf carts everywhere you go. A round of golf, plus rental of clubs & shoes, and balls - $400.But yes, they have world class employees and service. Right now the RH and all of Waikiki is laboring with the beach reconstruction and Outrigger pool renovation. There is real noise at the RH. We were told the worst is over now. The restricted RH only beach area was never full on any day we were there. We had no problems getting places by the pool or on the sand and we had no problems at all with service. The Tower rooms all face the ocean and Diamond Head for substantially less than you would pay at any FS. This is a one of a kind experience with a superb location from which to enjoy the natural beauty and visit fine properties nearby. The mai-tais have never been better!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MangoChetney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Mahalo for visiting us on O'ahu, we are so pleased to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our Royal guest beach and found our service to be so fantastic. We are also thrilled that you found our Royal Beach Tower guestrooms to be such value for money with their stunning ocean and Diamond Head views, and we couldn't be happier to hear that you feel we provide a one of a kind experience in the heart of Waikiki.
We can't wait for you to return to share many more Royal moments and Mai Tai's with us. Thank you so much and aloha until next time, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

After 3 stays in 12 months, I’ve finally come to appreciate what the word luxury in “Luxury Collection” really means at the Pink Palace. It means the luxury of a location that as soon as you step into the driveway or the inner garden via the mall, you are greeted with this aura of tranquility. (You can actually hear birds sing!!). That is a luxury that none of the other properties that we looked at has. This level of serenity is an extreme premium in what is otherwise chaotic, cacophonic & carnival-like Waikiki area. Where that luxury is also evident is in the private beach area. The public area can get incredibly crowded to the extent that you can literally touch the body lying down next to you (and that body is a stranger!).

Readers should not get me wrong however. This is a 5-star hotel & for the most part, it delivers on this standard particularly in the tower rooms which are appointed with amenities of the like (including a fancy bidet :) ). Readers should also note that the location is in tight, over-developed Waikiki area so do not expect the roominess & living area generosity as you would in Maui or the Big Island with a comparable hotel rating.

And if you appreciate history, the historic building is an eye opener including the jaw-dropping details on the room doors.

As in our past visits, staff at the entrance & front desks are super friendly. Most of the restaurant staff are “seasoned” servers. The problem is some of them might be too “seasoned” as enthusiasm seemed to have faded away from their personalities.

Overall, if you like a party-like atmosphere in Waikiki with an ability to step out of it & into a quiet surrounding, the Pink Palace will provide this.

Room Tip: High tower rooms have excellent views & amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Itchyfeet024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 4 April 2012
Aloha and thank you for your wonderful descriptions of our unique luxury accommodations at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoy our location, garden oasis, serenity and exclusivity and we thank you for your loyalty to our resort.
We are also delighted that you find our Royal Beach Tower Guestrooms to be so well appointed and comfortable. Thank you for sharing our appreciation of history and culture and for sharing that our front desk and valet staff embody true Hawaiian aloha-spirit. We are grateful for your feedback on our restaurant servers and we have addressed this with management.
Thank you again for taking the time to write about our resort and we look so forward to your 4th visit. Until then, best regards and aloha from all of us at The Royal Hawaiian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomington, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

From the moment we arrived, everything and everyone was perfect. Check-in was prompt and efficient, our bags were delivered to our room before we even got there! We had a perfect ocean front room in the historic wing. The room was spotless and beautifully decorated. The view was spectacular. We enjoyed pink sparkling wine and banana muffins while watching the Luau right outside our window. All of the staff were pleasant and willing to help with any request. This is a very relaxing oasis in the busy Waikiki Beach area, our room was soundproof and we did not hear any street noise at night. We would definitely stay here again while in Waikiki, it is the finest hotel on the Island. It was a truly luxurious stay and all of the employees were warm and welcoming. Obviously the manager does a great job with the staff. We can't wait to visit again!

Room Tip: The Historic Wing rooms are full of charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank farawayMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
Mahalo nui loa FarawayMN for taking the time to share such wonderful words about your recent stay with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We could not be happier to hear that you found absolutely everything to be perfect, from check-in, to housekeeping, to our luxury amenities, and our glamorous guestrooms.
We take such pride in delivering an exceptional experience and sharing the aloha-spirit of our islands, and we are so delighted that you had such a lovely time with us. We can't wait for you to visit us again either! Thank you and aloha until next time, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

My stay at the RH was a definitely disappointing. I will begin with the fact that the hotel grounds are beautiful and the check in process was very nice. However this negative review is more based on the quality and service for the money spent. I had stayed at the Four Seasons Maui prior to my arrival at the Royal Hawaiian. Basically they are in two separate worlds in terms of service and luxury. Interestingly they are actually in similar worlds in terms of pricing. The garden view room at the RH was only $70.00 less a night. Oh and the charge you a resort fee, necessary? (Well they have an explanation of how this covers parking and other things). Amazingly at the Four Seasons they manage to provide all this an ALOT more for no resort fee. Lets begin with the room. The doors are very cool, hand carved. Don't get me wrong I love the historic nature of the rooms. However, either the price point shouldn't be where it is or the rooms should be bigger. The room was quite awkward because there is no entry walkway where normally the bathroom is to your left or right. Instead the door is flush on the wall. The room is (honestly not exaggerating) very similar to the size of the bathroom at the Four Seasons. Which leads to the next issue. Because really I could have gotten over the size of the bedroom because it had a nice bed and really did sufice. But, the bathroom did not. It was not even close to reasonably sized. It is very nice looking with brown granite and a small window. But it is ridiculous, I had read reviews that it was small but I could not believe it was the size of a coat closet. Once again at this price point. Moving on to the service. This may be the biggest issue. Though the interesting thing is it is not because I had any bad experiences with the staff. It is simply just the lack of service. I missed the Four Seasons where the moment you got to a chair or cabana ( which are free there or $175.00 a day at the RH) a staff member would put a cover and a towel on the chair. Then place a glass of ice water on the chair. The water also was always topped off. Then, throughout the day fruit, brownies, smoothies were passed out complimentary. However no staff ever approached me in any regard at the RH. This is a very small thing but just the way in which the staff carry themselves says a lot about the hotel. Here the guys by the pool with untucked shirt walked around and flung the used towels into pile with a frown on their faces and shuffled their feet around. Whereas the well trained staff at the FS smiled were dressed nicely, atleast looked like they wanted to be there, and always called you by your name, cool. The guys at RH could have cared less. At the RH you go and check out towels at a stand. Oh and the pool is like a big hot tub, It is almost funny. I would definitely try the Haleklulani next time!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Traveler22222181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Mahalo for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are always listening and greatly appreciate your comments. We thank you also for sharing that our resort grounds are so beautiful and we are pleased that you enjoyed our sit down arrival experience.
It is very disappointing to hear that you left feeling that you did not receive value for your money and it is most definitely not what we wish for our guests to leave us feeling.
While we have found that most guests find the resort charge inclusions to be most beneficial, and although we cannot change the historic nature of our resort guestrooms, which is the reason for their smaller nature, we have brought your comments up to Management who will be addressing your service concerns. We take feedback very seriously and you will be pleased to know that effective April 1, we will have a beach chaise lounge reservation system in place that will eliminate the previous frustrations and elevate the service level on our exclusive Royal beach.
We hope that you would consider staying with us again in the future so that we may provide you with the true luxury service which we are known for. We would also be happy to discuss your comments further. Should you wish to contact one of our Guest Service Managers, please reach us at 808.923.7311. Mahalo for you excellent feedback and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rrandall_47408
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

This was our first trip to Hawaii and The Royal Hawaiian was our first stop on a two island trip. When we arrived it was pouring down rain and after a long nine hour flight the last thing we needed was to fight through the Honolulu traffic, but we eventually made it to the hotel. A big thank you to the concierge crew that answered my email question about the parking garages because they made it much easier to find the correct self-parking garage and avoid unwanted frustration and fees. Upon check-in we were given cool pink drinks and hot towels. We were also lucky enough to be invited to the manager's reception. My wife was hesitant about going to the reception but let me tell you if you are lucky enough to get invited, go. The free appetizers and alcoholic drinks were amazing. Our room was a garden view room in the old part of the hotel, but it was newly remodeled and spacious. It was also very quiet which made for some good night sleeps up on the fifth floor. All of the cleaning and turn down ladies were very friendly and always took the time to say hello and ask if we needed anything.

The best things about the RH are the location and it's size. It is close to everything and wasn't so big that you felt you could get lost. We also were amazed that we never had to wait for an elevator. Think this is the first hotel that I remember never having to wait once. I liked that the resort fee made things simple as well. Instead of having to pay for parking and internet separately it was all wrapped into one $25 a day fee. Another plus was having the reserved beach area with chairs and umbrellas. We never had a problem getting two chairs together and getting someone to set up an umbrella was not a hassle. This service was no extra charge.

The only bad part of the stay was the construction at the hotel next door. While trying to relax at the beach it is not fun to hear the noise next door, but at least it wasn't going on at night. The other complaint was the weather but unfortunately nobody can control that.

If I ever get back to Honolulu I will not hesitate to stay at the RH again. I felt pleased with every aspect of our trip and the hotel staff made the first part of our three year wedding anniversary a real treat.

Room Tip: High floor rooms in the old part of the hotel are very quiet and make for a good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rrandall_47408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHCoordinator, Sales/On-line Marketing Coordinator at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, responded to this review, 23 March 2012
Thank you for sharing such lovely feedback with us. Our concierge is always happy to help and we are glad to hear that their assistance was so beneficial. We are also pleased to hear how much you enjoyed our arrival amenities, our spacious guestrooms, and our General Manager's Cocktail Reception. We thank you also for your kind words about our friendly Housekeepers; we have passed your comments along to their Manager to share with them - mahalo nui loa.
We are so sorry about the noise coming from next door; we really weren't aware of the extent that the noise would be, and we do hope to welcome you back on your fourth anniversary for a much more tranquil stay. With best regards and aloha, The Royal Hawaiian Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,349 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort

Property: The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort
Address: 2259 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2515
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#7 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 528
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Hawaiian, a Waikiki Beach Hotel, has Abhasa Spa, renowned restaurants, and a pool with a waterslide and cabanas. We have gorgeous indoor and outdoor event space for weddings and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Hotel Honolulu
Royal Hawaiian Honolulu
The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing