We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,329)
Filter reviews
4,329 results
Traveller rating
2,470
1,015
462
209
173
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,470
1,015
462
209
173
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the mai tai bar the pink palace mailani tower banana bread surf lanai azure restaurant pink lady historic section sheraton pool waikiki beach garden view beach boys historic rooms original building iconic hotel beach staff beach chairs
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 4,329 reviews
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

Having waited many many years to visit here we were completely disappointed.

It is not a 5 star hotel. We have travelled extensively in Europe and Asia and this definitely does not provide a service or facilities anything like a 5 star hotel elsewhere.

We were told several times we had a beautiful room. Not so. Our room 1502 was small and although it had a balcony it was small. Also the bathtub was very shallow and had a curtain around it for the shower. We can’t remember the last time we stayed anywhere without a glass screen.

The check in area is shabby. The floor coverings are dated and threadbare. And always a queue for the reception as only ever 2 persons on duty. No manager in sight.

We spent 15 mins at reception trying to connect to wi-if + another 15 mins waiting to resolve the connection problem in our room. The staff member dealing with this was abrupt with us and we were told it was our system. The IT was outsourced and he had to ring us and manually enter our details. We’ve never had a problem accessing wi-fi in a hotel before. We were given a fruit platter as an apology but it was ridiculous the amount of time it took.

No bathrobe. Only found a sticker saying we could buy one after packing up. A 5 star hotel should provide all amenities without question.

Towels were small and very thin. We did have large bath sheets for one day but they were replaced the next day, even though we had hung them up to signify we wanted to keep them.

Room was unclean. A blue bottle top was down the back of the tv unit and stayed there. It wasn’t ours so no idea how long it had been there.

When booking we were unable to just extend our reservation by 1 day so we had 2 reservations. This caused confusion. We were asked by housekeeping the morning before we were due to leave if we were checking out that day. Said no. Check out was the next day. Later that same day around 10pm we were rung by the night manager to see when we were checking out. Told them it would be the following morning as per our reservation.

Resort fee - only useful item was free wi-fi. Rest is a rip off. Had to pay extra for loungers and umbrellas on the beach.

Pool is too small for a hotel that size but no-one told us we could use the Sheraton pool at check-in.

Luau - whilst it was good it was expensive for what we got. Not a lot of hula dancing and drumming. Saw a better one in Kona for $100 less.

On checking out our bill was charged with an extra dollar. Didn’t notice it as the staff member checking us out was quite feisty. As soon as we asked for an explanation of costs there was no explanation given just that it was charged as per booking.

So sad we booked here. What a waste of money. We stayed in the Outrigger down the road for 1 night on our way home. It was $200 a night less and much better service and bigger rooms.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Learoyds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodWaikiki2, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2018

Aloha Learoyds,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort. We truly appreciate your honest feedback, and regret to learn that your overall stay with us was disappointing in numerous areas, starting from the check-in experience to the overall size and comfort of your Mailani Tower guestroom to the housekeeping service.

These short falls you encountered should not have occurred and we will address them with our teams in order to elevate our guest experience. We will be sure that Housekeeping is aware of the robes that were missing from your room, along with the cleanliness issues throughout your room.

We thank you again for your thoughtful feedback, and hope that if you choose to stay with us again, you will have a much more positive experience.

Mahalo,
Ayaka H.
The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018

I was here for my honeymoon and I loved this hotel.. originally we were booked at another hotel which i did not like and when we walked into the royal hawaiian to just check it out I knew we must stay there it was soo beautiful. Everything about the hotel was just fabulous.. the grounds were immaculate and tropical. The pool was great not extremely large but very relaxing and peaceful.. you can also use the pool next door at sheraton if u want more action since guests are allowed to use both resorts pools. Our room was great very clean and they even upgraded us to a suite for our honeymoon. The whole place has a very elegant vibe with a small private beach with cute pink umbrellas .. i can't wait to come back here ..

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Principessa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StarwoodWaikiki2, Guest Experience Team at The Royal Hawaiian, a Luxury Collection Resort, Waikiki, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2018

Aloha Principessa S,

Thank you for choosing our property to celebrate your very special honeymoon. We are so thrilled to hear that you had a memorable stay with us, and look forward to making your next stay with us an even more memorable one.

Mahalo,
Ayaka H.
The Royal Hawaiian, Guest Experience Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 18, 2018 via mobile

If your looking at hotels pick this one... This place is great it's by all the shops and you can walk to everything and u don't need a cab. Compared to the Disney resort hotel u don't have the annoying people around the resort asking u to show ur key all the time or if your a guest in the hotel lol that's a pluse in its self lol hate to travel and go to. Hotels where they ask u ever sec u leave the room if ur a guest on not lol ur on vacation right

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank AUSAGUY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 17, 2018 via mobile

I have stayed several times over the years at this wonderful old world hotel- both in the older original rooms and lately in the beach front separated newer addition. They both have their charms but I think I prefer being able to sit out on the lanai overlooking Waikiki and run down early in the morning to take a swim before breakfast. There was a room at the bottom where you could get a glass of champagne and some pupus before dinner that was very nice.
The only unfortunate problem the last time I was there was a couple next to me was partying continuously with a lot of drugs and borderline abusive behavior going on - not the hotel’s fault- I considered reporting it but by the time I did they were gone- a big regret on my part. But it definitely dampened my stay as you could hear everything going on in the next room and the lanais are not that private.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
Thank Elizabeth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

Wow, what a fantastic hotel. Rooms were wonderful, well appointed and the views were spectacular overlooking Waikiki Bay. Staff was exceptionally welcoming and friendly and full of helpful advice.

Best Mai Tais around (of course when the bar is named the Mai Tai Bar....).

Wife and I had a romantic dinner at Azure — excellent food perfectly prepared and multiple courses were brought at the right time by a wait staff that understands the art of unobtrusive service.

The beach is everything you would expect and the waves were welcoming. I took surfing lessons with my girls right out front on Waikiki beach — what a total blast. Ask for Iza (pronounced Eye-za) — totally cool dude with patience and friendly island demeanor.

All in All, wonderful stay, best location on Oahu. The shopping district behind the hotel is extensive and offers all levels of shopping and dining, but once you enter the doors of the Royal Hawaiian you are literally transported to a different time and place.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank TX_MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews