We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel one block from the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #34 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Two nights here after two nights at the Sheraton was really a treat. One block away from the beach and surrounded by plenty of upscale restaurants on the front/beach side as well as lots of local cheaper options to the rear. Hotel is older, but they all are in Waikiki, so a lot of the renovations aren't up to 2012 standards (ie elevators). Has a nice little pool area on the 4th floor to look down at the action on Kalakua Ave.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nbmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,767)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,703 - 1,709 of 2,768 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2012

Close to the beaches, dynamite shopping and wonderful restaurants. My suggestion is to reserve a room in the '10' tier, ie 610 - 710 - and so forth. It has a double size lanai on the Kalakaua Street side, overlooking the rather small pool and deck serviced by Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville Restaurant.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dimitri_fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

A very good hotel overall. The beds are only doubles and the view is decent. The hotel is very clean and is typical of the Holiday Inn chain. The restaurant (Jimmy Buffet Margeritaville) offers discounts for hotel residents and offers a good value buffet breakfast. The pool is not heated. Although it is set back from Waikiki beach itself, the beach is relatively accessible. Overall s very good hotel and you will earn Priority Club points.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jets97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

I booked the trip through hotline .com Got a tremendous rate especially during this peak season. Needed a handicapped room for my mother and was in touch with a young lady named Ashley Agustin. She not only secured the room but made sure that a wheelchair was awaiting when I arrived at the hotel. She connected me with the wheelchair provider (Bill) and also gave me his number. I gave her a flower on valentine's day for her kindness and hospitality.

Jimmy Buffet's is the best place!! Great service and wonderful people. It made the hotel stay even more enjoyable with Macy's connected and a short walk to the International Market. Great deals at the market that supercede the prices at all of the designer stores at great bargain prices. Got gifts for everyone!!! Once you buy in the market you have made friends for life. Access to all of the entertainment you want to do and all of it right there at the Holiday Inn beachcomber.

Took Mom to the Top of Waikiki, only steps away from the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Waikiki. You are only acros the street from the beach and you have a balcony that will allow you to see the sun set into the ocean.

Have I said enough!!??? What a wonderful stay for the week we spent at the Holiday Inn Beachcomber Waikiki.

Room Tip: Every room is a good room. Met people ther from all over the world.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank BishopEugeneWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Aloha BishopEugeneWW! Thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your wonderful Waikiki experience! I appreciate your kind words about our staff, Jimmy Buffett's, Macy's and all of the many attractions in the immediate area surrounding the hotel. Yes, we're very popular with folks that want a central, convenient Waikiki location just steps from the beach. Mahalo and we look forward to your return. /Dean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

What a great hotel, super friendly staff, incredibly clean rooms, great lanai to sit on and watch the sunset. My husband and I spent time in Oahu and what a lovely stay. We were on the 9th floor with partial ocean view, it was great to be able to see beyond the other hotels to the ocean. The hotel is close to great restaurants and walking along Kalakaua is a must, close to beach, stores, etc.

Room Tip: I asked if they had any special rates, but due to the busy time of year, there weren't any, but...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jfactor79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

stayed Beachcomber for 2 nights - great location and good price for the last minute extension of vacation. Rooms are clean/comfortable !! Front desk staff not overly friendly or helpful but rest of employees very nice!!! Pool experience good - fun way to spend a few hours with other hotel guests!! Location of the hotel makes very easy access to Waikiki anywhere with a very short walk !!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AtravelJunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

This hotel is the Jam! I meet up with a big group of friends (approx) 20 once a year. We have stayed at other hotels, and have found this to be the nicest. They are reasonably priced for the value you get. Rooms are clean, maid service is great, comfy beds, pretty nice view, hotel staff is super friendly (which you don't always get with our big group.) The location is superb. It is centrally located to everything we like. Shopping, food, bars, across the street from Duke's, and the beach. Jimmy Buffet bar is attached to this hotel, and they have an awesome band that plays there (very fun). The best part of this hotel for me is the amazing pool/hot tub. Perfect for those days you don't want to go to the beach, but still want to lounge. They even have a poolside bar with daytime Happy Hour! Weeeee. If you go in there, make sure to play the hook game. Last but not least, the coordinator Sheryl got our group rooms on the same floor. It is so much easier on us to have closer rooms. Other hotels have not done this. I truly love this hotel. Alec I hope you've put us in for next year :)

Room Tip: Try to get the side of the hotel that faces Diamond-head. This side has a much better view of the be...
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dixie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Hilton Garden Inn Waikiki Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,524 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,874 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $259 - $400 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing