We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Parker
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Everything was perfect for us, great views from the 24th floor. Nice to have a place to eat "in house" and discounted for those staying at the hotel. Pool was refreshing and the hot tub too.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Out_In_The_Woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    980
    1,205
    360
    77
    36
See reviews for
816
948
140
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The Holiday Inn Waikiki was a last minute choice when a private rental on the North Shore turned out to be a dump. So it was a rushed reservation via my cell phone. Booked an economy room and confirmed it with HI central via phone but when we got to the Holiday Inn Waikiki desk they said they were full. I showed the nice lady at the desk the confirmation email on my phone and after about fifteen minutes and a visit with the Manager we were in a 11th floor suite with a balcony facing the ocean and a great view of Waikiki as well as the abundant nightlife along Kalakaua Ave. for 7 nights at our booked economy rate.
Was nice having Jimmy Buffet's as the house resturaunt and bar as well as the little Surf Museum bar. Nice room with a great view, pool is tiny but we came for the Pacific. Just across the street was Duke's and we became regulars.

Room Tip: The higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jrprich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Aloha jrprich9 and thank you for your kind words! Our team works hard everyday to take care of our many guests, and we're certainly delighted that you found us here in Waikiki. We hope to welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber again one day! Mahalo, Dean Nakasone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here January 16-20 2012. It's a pretty standard hotel but has everything you need at a reasonable price. To get to the beach you cross the street in front of the hotel, go to the left a little bit and then there is a path on the right just past the Cheesecake factory. You get towels for the beach by the hotel pool (which is tiny). The International Marketplace is next door, lots of tacky souvenirs but the food is fantastic! The front desk staff were helpful and friendly and there is an Expedia concierge desk where they will make dinner reservations for you or they can sign you up for an excursion. We went on a sea kayaking excursion and it was fantastic!

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank cndinusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponce Inlet, Florida
Level Contributor
193 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

The Beachcomber is in the heart of the shopping district and next to the International Marketplace. Our room was "partial waterview" with a balcony which overlooked the "Pink Lady" hotel. The pool and hot tub were nice, and the bar was convenient (although expensive) for drinks. Front desk staff was attentive and professional. Our room seemed to be in nearly brand new condition. No complaints about the room. $30p/day for parking seems steep - but we paid so that we had convenience of in and out service night and day. In my next trip to the islands I have no plans to visit Waikiki or Honolulu. I live in a concrete jungle - I dont want to go to a tropical paradise to sit in one - and that is exactly what Waikiki is... a concrete jungle. If you need Cheesecake Factories and Coach stores to make you happy on vacation - than you will do just fine here. On another note, be cautious if you walk in the early morning hours (we were out at 4:30am - thanks to coming from the east coast and the time change). Just one block off of the main strip we saw seedy clientelle including hookers. Overall, no complaints about the hotel... just Waikiki in general.

Room Tip: Dont forget to give them your Priority Club number in advance (if you have one). We were greeted to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlotteBuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel from 26 Feb - 8 March 2012. I chose this hotel based on its central location and proximity to the beach. 6 months ago I stayed in the rainbow tower at the Hilton Hawaiian Village which ... Beautiful resort but they treat you like another number there as it is a huge resort. The Holiday Inn is much smaller and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The pool is very small (and oddly very cold) but the beach is a short stroll away so that didn't bother us.
The international marketplace is next door, the cheesecake factory directly across the road, so is Forever 21 and the royal Hawaiian shopping center. Victoria's Secret is close by too!
Probably wouldn't stay here again after a few check-in dramas / billing issues but overall it was a pretty decent hotel value for money and location wise.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miss76wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Aloha miss76wa and thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our hotel. Overall, we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit, but if you can find time in your busy schedule, I'd like to hear more about your check-in and billing issues. Please contact me so I can better understand what transpired and I'll do my best to make sure that the situation does not recur in the future. Mahalo, Dean Nakasone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Great hotel for a base in the heart of Waikiki , standard room, not fancy, reasonable price and clean. Friendly helpful staff. Loved the Jimmy Buffet bar, nice small pool area for a freshing dip after shopping or out and about ... Relaxing near pool with cocktail watching the world go past was fun, perfect spot for the big parade...and getting to the beach was a quick walk.
So kid friendly our 11mth old son was welcomed everywhere including the bar!
Macys and Markets right next door, Royal Hawaiian across the street...ticked the boxes for us.
Can hear some street noise but that's the nature of a city hotel.
Would definately stay there again if in town for a short time.

Room Tip: The higher up the better view but partial means exactly that no matter how small the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mobogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dean N, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Aloha mobogo and thank you for your kind comments about our hotel! Great Waikiki Base sums it up well - we're often told that our central Waikiki location is second to none. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you return in the not-too-distant future. Mahalo, Dean Nakasone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hotel is in a great location in the heart of Waikiki. Shopping, restaurants and is located above Macy's. Opposite the cheesecake factory and Dukes. Close to the beach. Pink line free trolley stops close by. close to international market place. Good value hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Julief61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#60 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#39 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Pagoda Hotel
#66 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber

Property: Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Address: 2300 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-5049 (Formerly Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#12 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#13 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber 3.5*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber is a 496-room hotel conveniently located in the heart of Waikiki, just 300 steps to world famous Waikiki Beach. Next door to the International Marketplace and home of the new Maui Brewing Co. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Waikiki Beachcomber Hotel Honolulu
Ohana Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu
Waikiki Beachcomber
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber Honolulu, Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing