We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #15 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

First time to Hawaii and loved the location of this hotel. It is right on the beach. We had an ocean front room and it was well worth the extra money to see the ocean, hear the waves, and watch the sunsets all from our balcony. We were on floor #1, and as other reviewers have noted, the elevator situation was tough. The current renovations will fix this so no worries for future travelers.

-The housekeeping staff was excellent. They were timely and helpful. Great job!
-The room was large and although we requested a king bed, we ended up with 2 double beds. We told the check in staff it was our 25th anniversary and specifically requested king when we booked months ago, but were told the hotel was full. So no concessions for our anniversary, bummer.
-Beware that the concierge for this hotel, is not related to the hotel and actually works for Expedia. So you can book any side excursions on your own and not be pressured for the up sales. Also they would not do any pre-arrival requests.
-Breakfast at Hula Grill several days was one of our best meal experiences, food and staff.
-Duke's is always lively, live music and party atmosphere. This hotel has more of a party "have fun" type attitude. Hotels nearby seemed more refined, just depends what atmosphere you prefer.

Overall, you will definitely enjoy staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Go for an ocean front room if you can afford it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiloPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Aloha LiloPa,

Thank you for a nice review. We wish you a Happy 25th anniversary! We are sorry that we couldn't accommodate your request for a king bed during your stay. We guarantee the view but not the bedding type. We try to accommodate everyone's needs however sometimes due to unavailability we cannot. Our Ocean Front room's views are spectacular for any occasion. On your next visit please call the hotel and request the bedding and we will make an effort to honor the request. We thank you for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,511
    1,505
    400
    132
    58
See reviews for
1,430
2,034
107
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 8 nights this month and couldn't find any faults with the hotel or staff-absolutely wonderful stay!

We asked if it was possible to be placed on a higher floor and got a room on the top floor, 16! We loved the room, it had everything we needed and was a good size. Housekeeping was great, the room was always spic and span when we got back from a day out on the beach. The partial oceanview was beautiful to wake up to every morning!

We tried Hula Grill and Duke's and loved them both! The live entertainment at Duke's was very talented!!

We had a rental car and were contemplating parking at a lot that was less expensive but decided it would be safer to just use the valet at the hotel, great decision! They were extremely helpful and courteous every single time we came back or left the hotel. I would definitely recommend using the valet!

Overall we had a wonderful stay and would definitely recommend the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach to anyone thinking of staying here!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leticiateliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Outrigger in December of 2011 for our honeymoon. Neither of us have ever been to the Hawaiian islands before but , partly due to the fab hotel, we cannot WAIT to go back! Although obviously touristy, Waikiki was beautiful & the location of the hotel was just perfect. Its directly on Kalakaua Avenue where there are heaps of shops & restaurants & directly on the beach - you cannot ask for more! We could not get an upgrade at the hotel as they don't do them but the room we had could not have been better! It was huge!! The bed was gigantic & the living area was just a really good space. Having a balcony was brilliant & we had a view oneside towards the beach & the other towards the road & mountains in the distance.
From check in to arranging trips to the bell boys, the staff were lovely, warm helpful people. I don't know if that is just the way the people are over in Hawaii as everyone we met was really lovely. Martha on the Concierge desk helped us arrange trips to Pearl Harbour, the North Shore, a tour of Lost filming locations & a trip to an authentic Luau - she was super helpful & informative. Everytime we went to ask the front desk staff questions they were always happy to be of assistance.
Let's talk about the amenities in the hotel - starting with restaurants! We ate breakfast the first day in the Hula Grill - our waitress was so happy & everyone was so friendly! The macadamia & banana pancakes were AMAZING!! After that, we found the buffet breakfast at Duke's - the bar also in the hotel. This is A MUST for everyone! $14 approx each for a fresh, filling breakfast - it was sooooooo good! Sitting on the beach front as the sun rises, looking out over Diamond Head or the ocean before the day begins was so beautiful & very romantic. Staff were all fantastic here too & so friendly, which really makes the place. Try the POG juice (passion fruit, orange & guava) its delicious! There's also a convenience store in the hotel complex - which is ok, does what you would need it too. The pool was nice, but people get down there early to 'reserve' their sunbed so if you want one, be quick! The stretch of beach that the hotel is on is not massively wide, but just a short few steps either side will find you a nice spot to relax.
I have to recommend the Cheesecake Factory literally next door to the hotel - the food is great, restaurant is lovely, very big & the cheesecake is to die for!! I had peppermint bark which was a festive specialty of crushed candy canes in the vanilla cheesecake - sooooo tasty!! There is a big wait for tables at night though so opt for a lunch or early supper. Also have to mention the Yard House (on Lewers Street) after eating here once, I think we then proceeded to eat there at least once a day for the rest of our stay! The main reason being that they had a vast variety of freshly prepared vegetarian food for my husband - at least 10 different dishes that were not just a bean burger or pasta! the food is amazing, the amount of beer they have on tap is HUGE, the staff are friendly & knowledgeable, classic rock on the stereo there was nothing better. The manager remembered us every time we came in & we chatted - he even bought us a round at the bar!
Overall our trip to Oahu was the best holiday we have ever had - we would recommend the hotel to couples, families, business people & travellers who were alone it caters for everyone & is slap bang in the centre of everything that you could want for your stay in Waikiki. The buses are great - $2.50 to get you as far as you want. Things I would receommend (apart from those already mentioned!) are:
-Sunday flea market at the Aloha Stadium - just hop on the 44 bus
-Get the bus & then walk up to Diamond Head - the walk up is a bit hilly, but the view at the top makes it all worth it!
-Go to the Ala Moana Centre - it may just be another shopping mall to some of you but its open air! Its alot of fun. Again, just grab a pink line trolley - £2 & you are there!
-Trip to the USS Missouri, Arizona Memorial & Pearl Habour with Grayline Polynesian adventure Tours (our bus driver Michael was wonderful, funny & very very knowledgable)
-Lost & Movie Hummer adventure tour with Kos Tours - a MUST if you are a Lost fan. A five hour tour
-Visit the North Shore with The Surf Bus company
-if you are there in December take the Holiday Lights Tour in Honolulu!
Oh & I must not forget to mention that the Outrigger offers complimentary vow renewal ceremony for those who have been married for years or week (as we were!) This is such a sweet & romantic thing to do & we would again recommend it to all.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank laura g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Aloha laura g,

Wow what a great review. We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful time while you were with us. Thank you so much for sharing such wonderful tips and suggestions for our future guests. We are very excited as we are going to begin a renovation next month where will be renovating our pool, guest rooms and hallways. We are planning to make Outrigger the best place to be in. We would be happy to have you back as a return guest and look forward to your return.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

My husband and I have stayed at most of the major hotels on the beach in Waikiki. A few years ago we stayed at the Outrigger Waikiki and it has become the only place we stay when we're there two to three times a year. There are other hotels that are beautiful as well, but the combination of the sandy beach location, the beach activities center, Duke's restaurant downstairs (as well as the Hula Grill and Chuck's Steakhouse) make this the ideal hotel. The entire staff is friendly, helpful, and really demonstrates the spirit of aloha. For example, a year ago while we were there, I had a health emergency and needed to go to the hospital. One of their employees, Troy, who manages the parking, called me to follow up to make sure I was feeling better and to ask if there was anything he could do to help. We have also called on them to help us set up the perfect environment when our son surprised his girlfriend with an engagement ring at Duke's, including serenading them wth the Hawaiian wedding song. The access to the beach is much easier and closer than most of the nearby hotels. Their beach activities center is staffed by incredibly warm and friendly employees, including Joanie, who go out of their way to make sure that you have an enjoyable day on the sand and/or in the water. Although there are LOTS of choices of beautiful hotels in Waikiki, I would always choose the Outrigger Waikiki. It is not as massive as some of the other hotels, but for me that is definitely part of its charm. We always return to this hotel because of their staff and the special attention they give to their guests. NOTE: The hotel will be undergoing renovations beginning in March, 2012 and are expected to be completed by the end of summer. If you're planning your trip during this time I would check with the hotel and ask them about availability of the rooms, pool, patio, etc. I hope you enjoy the hotel as much as we do.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twila E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Aloha Twila E,

We are so happy to hear that you love our hotel and staff. We really appreciate you being a gracious and loyal guest. Our staff tries their best to ensure that everyone that comes to stay with us enjoys their time in Hawaii. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We've been to this hotel 3 times over the last 5 years and are planning to go back in December this year.

We love the fact that it is right on the beach and you can step from the pool area straight on to the sand. My wife loves lounging around the pool with a cocktail, while being able to watch me and our 2 teenage boys out in the surf.

The Hula Grill is one of our favourite places to eat, especially for happy hour, however we were disappointed on our last trip to find they no longer serve the coconut calamari. Come on guys put it back on the Pupus menu!!!!

We can never fault the service provided, particularly the housekeepers who always ensured we had plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, etc. In fact we are still using the shampoo and moisturising cream that we "borrowed" from our previous stays.The smell always reminds us of Hawaii and the great times we had.

Also I have to mention the little sandwich shop that is next to the outdoor laundry. They made the best sandwiches and smoothies and after a couple of days they new exactly what our order was and started making the strawberry smoothies that my boys would have every afternoon when they saw them approaching the counter.

We look forward to returning in December, enjoying happy hour and maybe some coconut calamari.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tigersRstiring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Aloha TigersRStiring,

We Can't wait to have you back! We are so excited as you will be able to experience our new pool and renovated guests rooms. There will be so much going on. We look forward to your return.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This was our second stay at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach. As with our first trip, sitting at the beach is a little stressful as there is too little sandy beach and way too many umbrellas.

Security is good. However, the card system leaves a lot to be desired. If you are located on a lower floor and are trying to take the elevator, there are times that the card does not get read and you wind up taking a ride in the elevator. There were also times it took a few tries to get the card to unlock the room as well.

Our room was very clean, so there were no issues in that regard.

Concierge and valet extremely helpful.

Great location. Convenient to most locales.

If you're a smoker, It is one thing to be harassed on the street by people asking for cigarettes, it is quite a different matter when you are at the hotel's designated smoking section and the kitchen help is always asking for cigarettes.

The good definitely outweighs the bad, as all of these situations can be corrected if brought to the hotel's attention. It would then get FIVE circles!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Aloha Sherry H,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate the time you took to let us know where we can improve. We are very excited about our upcoming renovation as we will be changing out all of guest room keys and replacing them with new key technology. These improvements should make your future stays more desired. We have brought your concerns regarding the smoking area to the Restaurants attention. We look forward to welcoming you back and look for those 5 circles.
Mahalo,
Todd
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at Outrigger Waikki on the Beach to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary in January. We have stayed at other hotels on Waikki in the past but decided to splurge for beach front location and so glad we did! We had an amazing corner suite with views of the ocean and Diamond Head. The room was nice and the maid service exceptional! We ate at Hula Grill (one of our favorites on Maui as well) several nights and each time had superior service. The only complaint I have is with the staff in mini mart located in the hotel. Very rude which was kind of shocking since everyone else in all other stores/restaurants were the exact opposite. Instead of patronizing that establishment after our first time, we made the short walk across the street to the ABC store where the staff was much more pleasant. Was worth it even with the long lines. We are looking forward to going back again next year!

Room Tip: If you can, splurge for the ocean front suite or at least an ocean front room. It is well worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bren1290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OutriggerWaikiki, Manager at Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Aloha Bren1290,

Congratulations on your 25th wedding anniversary. We are happy that you spent such a special occasion with us. We are so happy to hear about your plans for your return. We appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us. Thank you for sharing your experience at the convenience store as we will share them with the store manager. We hope to have you back for your 26th anniversary.

Mahalo
Todd
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,239 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#6 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#8 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,476 reviews
Waikiki
Moana Surfrider, A Westin Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2335 Kalakaua Avenue, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-2941
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Family Hotel in Honolulu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 525
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waikiki On The Beach Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Hotel Honolulu
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort Honolulu, Hawaii
Outrigger Honolulu
Honolulu Outrigger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing